What does sexual exploitation of a minor 2nd degree felony mean? What qualifies this as a charge?
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Utah on Mar 20, 2012.
Answered On Aug 16, 2012
In Utah, defendant commits sexual exploitation of a minor: when they: knowingly produce , possess, or possess with intent to distribute child pornography ; or intentionally distribute or view child pornography; or if the defendant is a minor’s parent or legal guardian and they knowingly consent to or permit the minor to be sexually exploited. Fine-2nd degree felony: A fine not to exceed $10,000 , plus a 90% surcharge. Restitution-The court may require the convicted person to pay restitution. Imprisonment-2nd degree felony: A term of imprisonment not less than 1 year nor more than 15 years. Sexual Offender Registration-Lifetime registration. DNA Specimen Analysis-A defendant convicted of a 2nd degree felony sexual exploitation of a minor must provide a DNA specimen. Firearms-May not posses, use or have control of a firearm or ammunition for life. Hope this helps.