Landlord - Tenant Questions

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Virginia on Feb 15, 2011

Paul A. Prados's answer
There is a presumption under the law that when a crime has been committed against you, that the person committing the crime, rather than the person who negligently provided the criminal an opportunity to commit the crime, will be held liable. This ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Virginia on Feb 8, 2011

Paul A. Prados's answer
You do not have a right to take another person's property and sell it without their permission, absent a contractual or judicial right. For example the right of a storage facility to sell the contents of a delinquent unit owner's unit is based ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Virginia on Jan 29, 2011

Paul A. Prados's answer
Your lease can be oral or in writing. Generally the terms of the lease will be considered to be continued from month to month. If late fees are authorized under the oral or written lease than late fees can be charged in a month to month lease.
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Virginia on Jan 21, 2011

Paul A. Prados's answer
Generally yes, if there was a late fee under the original lease. The original lease terms will generally be extended to the month to month lease.
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Virginia on Nov 9, 2010

Paul A. Prados's answer
Demand, threaten legal action, sue. There are no easy answers. Obtain a free initial consultation with an attorney to discuss the benefits and costs of every option. You can also ask questions about the difference of effectiveness with an ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Virginia on Nov 19, 2010

Paul A. Prados's answer
There is a standardized procedure for evictions in Virginia. There are too many pitfalls and exceptions to describe them in a reasonable reply. You should go to your local general district court and see if they have brochures or guides. Larger ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Virginia on Dec 3, 2010

Paul A. Prados's answer
It depends on what your lease says. Given the provision you have stated above it looks like you have to give intent to renew very early. Keep in mind the landlord does not have to sign an agreement with you that gives any right to renew.
 
 

2 Answers | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Delaware 22 days ago

Charles Snyderman's answer
You are not required to show proof that the security deposit was actually deposited. Here's what the statute says: Each security deposit shall be placed by the landlord in an escrow bank account in a federally-insured banking institution with an ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Delaware on Jan 21, 2014

Charles Snyderman's answer
Under your written lease, what does it say about the end of the term? For example, does it say that the lease automatically renews for another year if neither party terminates it? Does it say that it expires at the end of the term unless it is renewed? ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Delaware on Feb 12, 2014

Charles Snyderman's answer
You have not asked a question. Please do so, and I will try to answer it.
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Maryland on Jan 2, 2013

Cedulie Renee Laumann's answer
Generally at the end of any negotiated term (e.g., if a 1 year lease, every year; if a 1 month lease every month). Proper notice must of course be given and retroactive increases would be problematic. Infrequently a lease might be governed by rent ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Maryland on Sep 29, 2013

Cedulie Renee Laumann's answer
The question is not clear. A landlord can generally ask any kind of reasonable question related to his/her own property. The post does not give enough information to know where the harassment concern comes into play. Note that a tenant does have the ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Maryland on Nov 16, 2013

Cedulie Renee Laumann's answer
Commercial leases are generally left up to the parties' own negotiation. Utilities should definitely be a topic addressed by the lease. What does the lease say? Did you agree to a certain formula for determining electric usage? If the lease ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Maryland on Apr 19, 2013

Cedulie Renee Laumann's answer
If the lien is from a judgment, the only ways to remove short of discharging in bankruptcy involve either paying off the judgment or getting the court to invalidate it. The last option is rarely available and it is extremely difficult to toss an enrolled ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Oklahoma on Dec 31, 2013

Howard Berkson's answer
If your landlord sells the property you are renting, you are still bound by the lease and the new owner is responsible for the landlord's obligations on the lease. There are some details about required written notification. See Title 41, section ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Oklahoma on Jan 1, 2014

Howard Berkson's answer
Title 41, section 118(A)(2) of the Oklahoma statutes requires landlords to "Make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the tenant's dwelling unit and premises in a fit and habitable condition." Sub-paragraph (3) specifies ...
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Oklahoma on Dec 27, 2013

Howard Berkson's answer
What you propose is a complex matter. There is more than one way to accomplish your goal as I understand it. Consequently, there is no simple form to fill out or list of contract terms you should draft on your own. You should consult with an attorney.
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Oklahoma on Nov 10, 2010

Howard Berkson's answer
Ordinarily, the landlord must deliver physical possession at the beginning of the lease period and is liable for damages if he fails to do so.
 
 

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Oklahoma on Oct 10, 2011

Howard Berkson's answer
It depends on what was in your lease. Leases often specify certain non-refundable fees for tenant changeover, like painting or carpet cleaning.