Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
DUI / DWI Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Texas on
Q: I have a Texas driver's license and now live in Texas but going to court in Virginia where I used to live for a dwi they

I have a Texas driver's license and now live in Texas but going to court in Virginia where I used to live for a dwi they said my license may get suspended.. .. so my question is where i live in Texas now and have a Texas license can Virginia suspended my Texas license or just Virginia?

Penny Wymyczak-White
PREMIUM
Penny Wymyczak-White
answered on Jun 7, 2022

Your Texas license will be suspended if your Virginia license is suspended,

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Texas on
Q: I had a 2nd DWI In Texas. Officer got a warrant for blood after I refused both. Blood came back .173.

A security guard at a dealership called the police they came and I was asleep at a stop light car running, In gear, vomit on myself, and they noted my “bar bracelet”. I have researched everything upon everything for the matter as it is my 2nd mistake and I wanted to take it to trial but it... Read more »

Penny Wymyczak-White
PREMIUM
Penny Wymyczak-White
answered on Jun 3, 2022

You need never to take another drink and drive, If you drink do it at home and do not drive, The keys to the jail are in your hands,

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents and DUI / DWI for Kentucky on
Q: my car was in an accident, i was 2 miles down the road. no witnesses or anything and i was charged with dui,

can i beat this?

Timothy Denison
Timothy Denison
answered on Jun 1, 2022

Possibly. You need to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately.

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Texas on
Q: I was arrested for dwi in Texas while I was in parked in front of my off street apt. Police called for me playing music

Police were dispatched to my apt where I was cleaning my vehicle listening to music in front of my small apartment fir noise complaint.

This is a home that has been converted into three small apartments. To access my place one must turn down an entrance that is not easily accessible from... Read more »

Jose A. Ceja
PREMIUM
Jose A. Ceja
answered on May 31, 2022

"Operating" a motor vehicle is not a defined term in Texas so courts look at the "totality of the circumstances" to decide whether a person was really in control of a vehicle.

Sitting in your car and operating the radio is probably not operating. But most prosecutors...
Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and DUI / DWI for Washington on
Q: Can a judge grant a deferred prosecution for multiple unrelated charges that occurred on different days?

Criminal history.

Assault (M) reduced to Harassment 1. 2019

DUI 2020

Current charges.

2 counts assault (m)

DUI that occurred 7 days after the assault.

Driving without a license.

Driving without an IID.

Stan Glisson
Stan Glisson
answered on May 31, 2022

Talk to your lawyer to confirm, but with those facts it sounds like they can be included in a single deferred prosecution. "Separate offenses committed more than seven days apart may not be consolidated in a single program." RCW 10.05.010.

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for California on
Q: DUI Arrest 4/17/2022

Got arrested April 17,2022 for a DUI with a .08. No DMV hearing yet, court date August 9, 2022 I am a licensed Life and Health agent, and it Looks like one of my health insurance carriers that I write busines with says my CA resident license is not active and suspended. Can they do this?? is this... Read more »

Mr. Hudson Thomas Bair
Mr. Hudson Thomas Bair
answered on May 30, 2022

I am unfamiliar with the California Resident License, that being said, the issuing agency may have authority to withdraw or suspend the license when a licensee is arrested. You should contact the licensing agency and ask about the process to get reinstated.

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for California on
Q: help i live in california and in 2011 i got a dui while out of state.

completed alcohol classes there. now 11 years later CA has suspened my license for that 2011 dui, claiming its been suspended for 11 years! retro deated. Ive lived in other states and had licenses and moved back to CA in those 11 years and currenly have a valid CA license. i need help

Mr. Hudson Thomas Bair
Mr. Hudson Thomas Bair
answered on May 29, 2022

You probably received the DUI on your CA license in another state, that state finally reported the conviction to CA, CA updated it's records and has suspended you effective to the date when you were convicted. You probably do not have a valid license at this time, you will probably have to... Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Washington on
Q: Is it possible to change the date I’m supposed to get scram ankle monitor by?

Need to wait until next paycheck to afford first week, it’s most expensive

Jose A. Ceja
PREMIUM
Jose A. Ceja
answered on May 25, 2022

It is possible to get an extension but if the court gave you a deadline by which this was to be done, you must get it by the date or your bond could be revoked. A criminal defense attorney can ask your judge for an extension, or possibly get the court to waive the cost (which is sometimes done in... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI and Traffic Tickets for Florida on
Q: I've been made aware there is warrant out for me for flee elude and missing court. I'm not us citizen and don't live the

How do I deal with this if I don't live there? I won't be going to US anytime soon as currently working in Moscow.

Any information on how I can deal with this and close it down when not living in US would be appreciated.

Jonathan Blecher
Jonathan Blecher
answered on May 24, 2022

There are many jurisdictions in Florida where Zoom remote hearings are taking place. Speak with an attorney who can work out the logistics and have the warrant quashed. Otherwise you’ll never be able to enter our borders without an arrest.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Kentucky on
Q: A DUI arrest at home? In this case a neighbor reported my father to the police and they arrested him, sight unseen@home
Timothy Denison
Timothy Denison
answered on May 24, 2022

He needs a lawyer immediately. He may be able to win this case.

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Texas on
Q: I have a class a dwi first offense in Texas what is the shortest jail sentence I can serve for this
Jose A. Ceja
PREMIUM
Jose A. Ceja
answered on May 25, 2022

A time-served is essentially the judge sentencing you to the time you were *already* in jail as your sentence, with no further jail time required. Unlike a repeat DWI, this is an option for a first-time DWI. You should note that by law, a "time-served" carries a driver's license... Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and DUI / DWI for Indiana on
Q: How can someone be arrested for possession of narcotic and possession of meth f6 off one bag?

Bag was under 1g of powder and field test lightly as cocaine according to cops found in my mother's jeep after it was stolen and recovered but nothing ever searched in it so I drove it cause she let me and then cops find drugs in it. 2 f6 charges pending now

James A Hanson
James A Hanson
answered on May 22, 2022

You need to stay off of these websites and speak only with your attorney about these charges. From what you posted, there may be a defense in your case, but you could ruin your entire case by sharing details of your case publicly.

Talk with your attorney about the charges privately and work...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and DUI / DWI for Indiana on
Q: Can a probation officer release you early from probation, if you all your Fines and everything is completed?

Community service, fines, classes all finished. Low ranking to reoffend

James A Hanson
James A Hanson
answered on May 22, 2022

Technically, no.

Your probation officer is simply supervising your probation. The only entity that can release you from probation early is the Court that sentenced you.

You can discuss an early release with your probation officer. If your probation officer recommends early release...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Indiana on
Q: I got my first owi in porter county indiana, i was alone. Im a mom though. Will social services try to take my kids?

My BAC was above .15 . Went the wrong way down a one way, did not crash or hurt anyone.

Andrew L. Bennett
PREMIUM
Andrew L. Bennett
answered on May 21, 2022

If your children were not in vehicle with you, then DCS should not be involved.

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Kentucky on
Q: Hi I got a DUI first about 5 years ago n I went to inpatient rehab at Leestown VA for 45day would it count for classes

I was wondering if the VA rehab counts towards my DUI classes

Kristin Michelle Russell
PREMIUM
Kristin Michelle Russell
answered on May 17, 2022

No, the Kentucky Division of Driver Licensing will only accept completions from programs authorized for DUI treatment. See drive.ky.gov under Driver Services, DUI Laws in Kentucky. To see a list of treatment programs, visit the Program Directory. The driver should select Driving Under the... Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Texas on
Q: I was found guilty of my 2nd dwi. However my license still shows eligible on dps website. Am I still legal to drive?

Charge was in April 2021. My license was never taken. Conviction was Jan 2022. On my court papers it's says dic 17 and a 2 year time span beginning the day of the conviction. It's been 5 months now and im still showing eligible on Texas dps website.

Penny Wymyczak-White
PREMIUM
Penny Wymyczak-White
answered on May 14, 2022

It could be a clerks error. If it states you are eligible to drive you can drive but you need to check daily

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, DUI / DWI and Cannabis & Marijuana Law for Mississippi on
Q: I am facing trafficking charges possession of cocaine meth and marijuana dui and speeding
Arthur Calderon
PREMIUM
Arthur Calderon
answered on May 13, 2022

That's pretty rough, especially since the trafficking charge carries a mandatory minimum. Your best bet is going to be to get with an experienced criminal defense lawyer to discuss the facts of the case and see what can be done.

3 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and DUI / DWI for Texas on
Q: can i be charged with 3rd degree with only having 1 piece of evidence of me saying i threw out a cup of alcohol

i was pulled over for not making a complete stop at a stop sign and i told the officer that i tossed a cup of alcohol out of my window when i seen him turn on his lights. i was going down a underpass when i tossed it theres no dash cam footage or any other evidence that i did this except for me... Read more »

Kiele Linroth Pace
Kiele Linroth Pace
answered on May 9, 2022

Yes, a recorded confession can absolutely give the officer probable cause to justify an arrest. Ask your criminal defense attorney to watch the recording and give you an opinion on whether or not it is enough for the government to prove its case against you beyond a reasonable doubt.

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets, Criminal Law and DUI / DWI for Arizona on
Q: As passenger in a vehicle should I be held accountable for something that was found in the vehicle during a traffic stop

I was getting a ride from acquaintance . I was sitting front passenger seat of a mini van.

I just got into the vehicle not only two miles down the road the cop pulls him over for making an illegal turn. The vehicle ended up being searched and the cops found a bag carrying illegal... Read more »

Andrea Short
Andrea Short
answered on May 9, 2022

The simple answer to your question is to have a consultation with a lawyer and eventually hire a private defense firm to represent you.

This is very important because it is very common that situations like this happen and you are going to want private attention with a lawyer who is there...
Read more »

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Georgia on
Q: 1st DUI in Gwinett County blew .12 what will my sentence be.i
Morris  Margulis
Morris Margulis
answered on May 3, 2022

You're probably looking at something between 24 hours and 30 days in jail, plus classes, fines, and community service.

The amount of jail time will depend on various factors, including your driving record, your history with drugs/alcohol, whether you gave the police any attitude, and...
Read more »

View More Answers

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.