Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Indiana Juvenile Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Personal Injury, Domestic Violence and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: If my mom let my brother n sister hit on me constantly and put me out her house and I'm only 17 can she get in trouble?

My brother is 22 and sister is 20

Peter N. Munsing
Peter N. Munsing answered on Oct 9, 2017

Yes.You would also have assault claims against your sibs.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Personal Injury and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: If a 15 year old fights someone younger, will they get in trouble?

Say a 12 year old is instigating a fight with someone 15 years old or more, and they fight. Would the older kid catch a charge?

William Hurst
William Hurst answered on Sep 1, 2017

This isn't really a personal injury question, but they may be charged. If the fight was instigated by the younger child, however, the older child has the right to self defense.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law, Appeals / Appellate Law, Civil Rights and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Can they arrest a 16 year old on three felonies without for sure knowing if she's guilty or not

My 16-year-old daughter and her 18 year old boyfriend A few other juveniles went to the park to go watch a fight with her boyfriend and a nother kid they started fighting and when fighting the other kids seen my daughter's boyfriend being stabbed my daughter jumped on them and punch them a... Read more »

William C. Head
William C. Head answered on Aug 16, 2017

To arrest, only probable cause to believe a crime was committed is sufficient. This is not even 50-50, but can be less than 50% likely. So, yes.

She needs to remain silent. Get a great criminal defense lawyer.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Can I change a verbal statement without incriminating myself?

My ex got arrested for criminal recklessness and when I gave my statement at the scene I told the officer he was dating an underage girl because of gossip I had heard, and because he was fighting with said minor at the time of the incident. They are now trying to charge him with sexual misconduct... Read more »

Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Jun 21, 2017

It is unlikely that the prosecutor is basing such charges on just your hearsay statements. You never should have given irrelevant statements at the scene to begin with, but that is all water under the bridge. To protect yourself, consult a criminal defense attorney to make sure you are not facing... Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Juvenile Law and Criminal Law for Indiana on
Q: I am a 16 year old female, If my 18 year old boyfriend gets me pregnant, can my parents put him in jail or sue him?
Alexander Florian Steciuch
Alexander Florian Steciuch answered on Apr 11, 2017

The age of consent in Indiana is age 16, so no, he could not be arrested for intercourse with you under statutory rape laws.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Probate, Juvenile Law and Securities Law for Indiana on
Q: My gpa passed away when I was 12 and left me a very large amount of money. Obviously I wasn't allowed to have it

Till I was 18. When I reached 18 she said I couldn't have it till 19. Well I'm 21 now and she has yet to tell me any information about my money. When I was around 16 she said that she didn't have it anymore that they had used it and she invested it in the stock market without my... Read more »

Alexander Florian Steciuch
Alexander Florian Steciuch answered on Mar 1, 2017

You are legally entitled to the money that was left to you as a minor. Your mother as your custodian had a duty to hold that money for you until you came of age. You need to consult with an attorney as soon as possible to discuss your options as there may be an issue with the statute of limitations... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody, Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Im 17 ill be 18 this year, If I runaway until I'm 18 can they still charge me?
Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Feb 26, 2017

Until you are 18, unless you are emancipated, you are still under your parents' care and control.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law and Criminal Law for Indiana on
Q: If my 17 year old brother attacks me and I'm 18 but I don't attack him back, can I press charges and not get in trouble?

It happened at home in the kitchen. He choked me and punched me in the face and I didn't hit him. I did pinch the back of his neck to get him to stop choking me. I have a mark on my back from this and witnesses that saw my face was red and swollen from where I was punched. Our mom decided not... Read more »

Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Feb 26, 2017

Are you sure you want to get the authorities involved? Once you call the police, the decision on whether charges are filed is entirely with the prosecutor. You will have to give a statement, and if the case goes to trial, you will have to testify. Of course you can go against your mom's... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: If my older sister hits me a 16 year old multiple times, and calls the police on me, can i plead assaulting a minor?

My sister and i got into a fight,she is 19 and im 16, she hit me multiple times and i told her to back off, in self defense i put her in a sleeper hold, the only thing i could think of doing at the time to incapacitate her, is that grounds for pressing charges against her?

Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Feb 15, 2017

The prosecutor will look at the facts and make that decision. Only prosecutors can file charges.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: If I will be 18 on march 15 can I my mother report me as a runaway?

She keeps telling me this even when I haven't tried to runaway and i don't know what I can do or if I can get out if her house

Brian Lehman
Brian Lehman answered on Jan 28, 2017

First, before doing anything drastic, I recommend reaching out to social services or an organization that might help you out. Any young person is at an increased risk for all sorts of bad things, and it's wise to ask people for help.

With that said, the law that applies in Indiana is...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Can a judges decsion to waive a juvenile into adult court be appealed?
Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Dec 31, 2016

That would require an interlocutory appeal. The judge's decision would only be overturned if it was contrary to law or an abuse of discretion.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: An adult hit my friend and my friend shoved him back (no wounds were made) Can my friend get in trouble for that?

The adult is his grandfather(he doesn't have custody of my friend)

The grandfather has been threatening to sue and beat them for years.

My friend has some recorded evidence of his grandfathers behavior.

My friend is 15 years old

Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Oct 1, 2016

In Indiana, battery does not require injury. A shoving can be charged as battery. If a delinquency petition is filed against your friend, he is entitled to legal counsel to assist in his defense.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Can I get in trouble by the law if i tell my parents where I am going, they just dont consent to it?
Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Sep 22, 2016

I am assuming you are under 18. Assuming no other reason for getting in trouble, merely disobeying your parents will not necessarily cause legal problems. Now if you run away from home or become involved in delinquent acts, that is another matter. If you are under 18, you should obey your... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: If I ranaway until I was 18 would all my charges get dropped ?

I'm 17 and will be 18 this year. I missed court for my possession charge, leaving home without permission, and out past curfew. Then I ranaway for a week . I got caught and they sent me to juvy for 34 days . When I got out they dropped my possession charge but I still have the other 2 charges... Read more »

Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Sep 11, 2016

Deal with your charges. Running away just adds to your delinquency.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Can a minor hit an adult first and what will the charges be on the minor??
Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Sep 11, 2016

A minor can be charged with a delinquent act that would have been Battery if committed by an adult.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Is it ok for a 34 year old to date a 16 year old with out going to jail

Can you go to jail for just dating and not having sex 34 and a 16 year old

Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Sep 11, 2016

16 is the age of consent. Unless there is something else going on, there should be no crime there. Don't take the underage person into bars, etc.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Can CPS or DCS tell you you're not allowed to see the person you are dating? Both girls one 16 and the other 25.
Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Sep 11, 2016

There must be more to it than that. The 25 year could potentially be contributing to the delinquency of the 16 year old, for example. Curfew, drinking, smoking, other delinquent conduct? If any of these are factors, then CPS could get involved.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: Is there any way I can see my kids when I want after child protective services, wrongfully, took my kids in indiana

I used marijuana, and quit during a pregnancy, other issues after baby was born, not during(drugs) finished treatment, baby's father almost done with treatment, but after 8 months had positive month swabs and missed 2 caseworker on vacation and unexpected was supposed to go to office to take,... Read more »

Robert Jason De Groot
Robert Jason De Groot answered on Oct 26, 2015

No, probably not.

2 Answers | Asked in Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Q: What Is the current age of majority in Indiana?

I believe it's 18, unless you are either still in school or were convicted of a certain type of crime before age 18, am I right?

Robert Jason De Groot
Robert Jason De Groot answered on Sep 26, 2015

This link might help. http://statelaws.findlaw.com/indiana-law/indiana-legal-ages-laws.html

View More Answers

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.