Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Louisiana Juvenile Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: I’m 17 years old, I’m 3 months from being 18. Am I allowed to move out without parents consent.

No additional information.

J. Heath Dillon
J. Heath Dillon answered on Dec 5, 2020

No, you are still considered a minor by law. You can jump out into the world and all of its accompanying responsibilities as an adult once you are 18. Until then, you could consult with a family law attorney to discuss emancipation, but that process would likely take you through your 18th... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: I’m 17 years old. I’m 3 months from being 18. Can I leave my house and move out without parental consent?
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Dec 4, 2020

You can move out without parental consent in 3 months. In the mean time, try to graduate from high school so you can get a job that pays more than minimum wage.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: im 16 in louisiana my mom is emotionally and verbally abusive what wil happen if i run away?

she says things like she wish i was never born accuses me of being with older men and right now she is trying to send me to a mental hospital so they can give me medicine and so i can be out the house, i wanna run away to my grandmas house we already have a case against her

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Nov 28, 2020

Your Grandmother can hire a lawyer and file for custody. If you run away, you can be picked up and put in Florida Parishes.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: My daughter is 17 and Moved out

H

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Nov 23, 2020

The Sheriff will not make a 17 year old go home.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law and Sexual Harassment for Louisiana on
Q: A 19 year old guy out of state is messaging my minor daughter for nudes, can I press charges?
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Nov 22, 2020

Tes if your daughter is under 17. Additionally, you need to talk to your daughter about something called revenge porn

1 Answer | Asked in Adoption and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: If my roghts have been terminated in louisiana is there anything I can do to get them back?
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Nov 10, 2020

Hire a Juvenile Court lawyer and review the facts and pleadings

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: 4 yr old found wandering by law enforcement can parent be charged with improper supervision of a juvenile?

My 4 yr old grandson was placed in my custody after his mother was charged with child endangerment after the child wandered alone into the store next to their home. A week after being placed in my custody he unlocked the front door and wandered down the road while I was sleeping. I was charged with... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Nov 8, 2020

You need to hire a juvenile court attorney and put a bell on the 4 yr old.

1 Answer | Asked in Divorce, Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: Can my grandmother gain custody of me in court even though I'm 17?

My mom has been very neglectful towards me and not my sisters so I'm wondering if my grandmother on my dad's side of the family can get custody of me in court

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Oct 20, 2020

You are a minor. Yes your grandmother can seek custody of you.

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody, Child Support and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: Okay, So im 16 I'll be 17 on the 19th of January and Am Wondering if in the State of Louisiana.

I can Leave Home After my Birthday? - Gabrielle

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Oct 18, 2020

No, you are a minor until you turn 18.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: I'm 16 about to turn 17. My mom is emotionally abusive and won't let me receive help.

She has repeatedly refused to allow me treatment for depression, anxiety, and multiple trauma related disorders. Can I do anything about my situation without going to court?

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Oct 9, 2020

Talk to your school counselor

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: My girlfriend is 17, mom having custody, but she lives with grandparents. Can she up and move out ? What are laws on th

My girlfriend is 17. Her mother has legal custody of her but she lives with her grandparents. Is there any way she could move in with me? I had ran away whenever I was 17 a few years ago and the cops said they could only bring me back home one time, after that it was on my own because I was a legal... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Oct 8, 2020

No, a 17 year old is minor and cannot leave home without consent until age 18.

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Rights and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: Can a 17 y/o that’s within 6 months of being 18 move out without fear of the law and w/o parental consent?
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Sep 26, 2020

No, a 17 year old is a minor until age 18.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Adoption, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: I have a granddaughter i been taking care of SHE IS 2 YRS AND I HAVE HAD HER SINCE SHE WAS 9 MONTHS.

My daughter was so bad on drugs. Her oldest two boys her first HUSBAND has them and she is not aloud to be with them alone at all. I have daughter since she was 9 months. She is 2. heHER boyfriend had a 12 yr old let her live with me for a year,paid for everything for those 2 kId. She moved back... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Sep 17, 2020

Hire a juvenile court lawyer to get her back

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: can i move out and live with a close family member at 16 without parental consent?
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Sep 4, 2020

No at 16 you are a minor and must obtain parental consent.

2 Answers | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: Can a minor age 14 get emancipated from one parent in Louisiana?

A minor who is 14 yrs old, can they get emancipated from one parent when they have the other parents consent? This is in Louisiana.

Mr. James Zitzmann
Mr. James Zitzmann answered on Aug 20, 2020

No, 16 is typically the minimum age now.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: In the state of Louisiana is illegally supplying a felon with a firearm a felony
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Aug 5, 2020

your question seems to answer your own question

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: Can I leave home without parents approval at 17

My twin sister and I turn 18 in a couple days and put up with our toxic mothers actions for too long and are ready to start our own lives without being emotionally and physically controlled by her opinions She constantly kicks us out but won’t let us leave. Is it legal for us to leave home and... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Jun 1, 2020

Wait a couple days until you turn 18 so that you don't cause trouble for anyone else.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: What legal action I can take on my male neighbor took my 12 year old daughters into his bedroom and questioned them.

The questions were about if I beat them and my wife and how our marriage is. The neighbor is over 50 and we did not consent to him bringing our kids into his house. Just in case you are wondering no I have never laid hands on my wife or kids. We have been warned to keep our kids away from him... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on May 6, 2020

You can file a Petition for a Restraining Order to keep him away from your whole family.

2 Answers | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: What is the Louisiana law as to the youngest a child can be to babysit?
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Apr 24, 2020

10 to be left alone. 14 to babysit.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Louisiana on
Q: I have a 17 year old sister in Louisiana who feels unsafe at home ,has tried to commit suicide twice. can she move .

her dad don't want her to move and she has been wanting to move with me to Texas I fear for her safety.

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Mar 22, 2020

She can't move until she is 18 or you can be criminally charged. Call 911 if she is in danger.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.