Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Missouri Juvenile Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Hi my nephew lives in Colorado with his parents and he is 16 and wanting to leave and come live with me in Missouri.

Is he able to leave legally at the age of 16 with out having to go threw an emancipation?

Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Jun 13, 2018

No, he will have to be emancipated or have his parents' permission to live with you. If you believe his parents are unwilling or unable to care for him, you can seek a temporary guardianship over him, but that will have to be done in Colorado.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: If your 17 and a 15 year old wants to fight you, can you fight them?
Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on May 31, 2018

No, you can be charged as an adult. Try to resolve your conflict with words.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Can my son move out if I say no and he's 17? I'm in Missouri
Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on May 21, 2018

No, if he tries to move away without your permission, then you can call the police and have him brought home or detained in juvenile as a runaway.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: What is the runaway laws in Missouri for a 17 year old?

I am 17 years old and I don’t want to stay at home anymore. It’s not a healthy environment. I did research and I found that in some states you can’t be forced to come back home at 17 if you runaway. I’m also aware that I’m not the age of majority. I just can’t wait until 18. It’s a... Read more »

Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on May 21, 2018

Until you are 18, then you will be considered a runaway if you try to leave home; your mother can call the police and have you placed in juvenile detention. You will have to have your friend seek guardianship and quickly if you want to move out.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Is it illegal to hold a child in foster care if court ordered guardianship was given to a family member?

I just got court ordered guardianship for my niece and she is in foster care would if be illegal if i went to get her?

Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Apr 15, 2018

Once the juvenile court gets involved, the juvenile court has custody of a child regardless of your guardianship status. You will need to attend the court hearings and FST meetings to be granted custody and have the action dismissed by the juvenile court. Talk to an attorney who practices in the... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: My boyfriend has been in juvie three time cause of an exparte how long will he be there
Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Apr 2, 2018

How long he will be there depends on the conviction and the judge. Juvenile court can maintain jurisdiction over a person until they are 21.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: My 14 year wants to go to jail and is acting out because of this. What do we do
Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Mar 19, 2018

It sounds like there is a lot of background there, that needs to be addressed. Get your kid in counseling.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Domestic Violence and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Ex-husband punched son in the face while I was talking to my son on the phone. The call was recorded. Police did nothing

My son had a bruise/redness/scratch by left eye. He also slapped the right side of his face leaving handprint and bloodied his lip. The police officer didn't believe my son, even though I told them the incident had been recorded. No pics taken by officer, I took some inside the police... Read more »

Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Mar 19, 2018

If the officer did not call social services, then you should. Also contact an attorney local to you ASAP about seeking a child protection order for your son and possibly to modify you custody order so you son is not living with your ex.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: If I'm 15 and I move with my dad, but my mom has residential custody, can juvie take me away if she has called them?

The mom is an unfit mother, and I wan to stay home alone for one week, so my dad can work. I have food and the proper amount of needs to stay.

Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Feb 26, 2018

If the court has given residential custody to your mother, then you must abide by the parenting plan should she decide to enforce it. Talk to your dad and an attorney local to you about your dad seeking a Motion to Modify to have residential custody switched to your father.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: How long can my child be held in juvenile without being charged for a crime

My child's mother turned him trying to deflect attention from her daughter who got in trouble at school for touching a boy's private area. She claimed that my son touched her over a year ago but he has been living with me for almost 2 years now the courts will not release him to my... Read more »

Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Feb 11, 2018

The detention facility can hold a juvenile for 24 hours without a court order. With a court order, they can hold the juvenile until they are 21 or they become in compliance with the order. It sounds as though their are conditions already attached to his release, so I assume a court order is in... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: My daughter 17 moved ,wont tel me were she is,and she cut herself month ago what are my opinion to get her help?

Im in missouri she said it been a month sence she cut herself

Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Jan 31, 2018

You can report her as a runaway. She's not allowed to live on her own until she is 18.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody, Child Support and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: I'm 16 get I petition for a Paternity test if I think I know who my father is?

My mother was drunk when she got pregnant with me. My mom had been sleeping with a few guys at the time. We have had a paternity test on all of them except one. This one happens to be my Aunt Heather's (my mom's sister) ex husband, and my cousins father. We look almost Identical

Kristen Thurmond
Kristen Thurmond answered on Dec 6, 2017

Unless you're emancipated by a court, only your mother or legal guardian can file a petition to determine paternity on your behalf. Ultimately, an attorney will probably not work with you directly because you're not old enough to hire an attorney on your own.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: What rights does a 16 years old female have to leave home.... (17 next month)?
Nrupa Patel
Nrupa Patel answered on Jul 10, 2017

There are no rights...she is still a minor. If she leaves and parents don't know where she is, parents can call the police to make a runaway report an any law enforcement officer that comes across her would have to take her into custody and take her back home.

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Rights, Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Is what my mum says disowning?And if so, is it legal to leave the house after being disowned?

I am a trans guy transitioning from male to female. Recently I came out to my mum who says she'll never accept me. Is that technically disowning and if so, is it legal to leave the house after being disowned?

Kristen Thurmond
Kristen Thurmond answered on Apr 28, 2017

Disowning a child and abandoning a child are legally different. If she stops providing you food or kicks you out of your home, etc., then you need to call local child protection services or the police. You can even tell a teacher or someone else your close with that you need help. Talk with your... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: I live in Missouri, I am 18 in less than six months. I am currently in states custody.

If been in and out of facilities and residentails for teens since I first came into states custody which was when I was 14. I am currently a run away, I have a history of running away. I live in Missouri and am 18 in less than 6 months. Is there any chance I can get emancipated!?

Kristen Thurmond
Kristen Thurmond answered on Apr 28, 2017

The short answer is no. Emancipation is for anyone under the age of 18 who is able to hold a job, stay out of trouble, has no one else able to support them, and needs the status in order to secure a residence. You don't meet any of those since the state has custody of you, you are in trouble... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Medical Malpractice, Health Care Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Does a mature minor (not 18) have a right to withhold medical info from a legal guardian in Missouri? Please cite.
Peter N. Munsing
Peter N. Munsing answered on Jul 23, 2016

Depends on the age, whether the person is an emancipated minor. Bigger issue is how to handle it on a relational/person to person level. I'm assuming the guardian is appointed or a stepparent. Starting a war over information means you can win the war but the battlefield is a mess. I suggest... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Communications Law, Criminal Law, Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Can an adult male employee be charged for giving 10 yr old his facebook contact information

My 10 yr old was with my mom at a auto parts store. An adult male employee gave her a small piece of paper with his facebook and whispered add me and throw this away. We have filled a police report and contacted the store and corporate. The district manager thinks it is a misunderstanding. How do... Read more »

Robert Jason De Groot
Robert Jason De Groot answered on Sep 26, 2015

If this is important enough to you, which it should be, you will go see a local attorney about it to get the specifically tailored legal advice that you might need. When you do that, the attorney will be able to have a full discussion with you and will look for any possible causes of action that... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Do I pay the same child support sum until all of my children are of age? Or does it decrease when each become adults?

I pay on 4 children. Do I pay the amount I pay now until the youngest one no longer meets the requirements to receive support? Or can the amount I pay decrease as each one reaches adulthood?

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Aug 22, 2015

One would think that it should decrease every time one of the children reaches the age of majority, right? But possibly not; it depends upon the terms of the custody order and the specific law in Missouri.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.