ccused for shoplifting $40 tagged item in Bergen County,NJ. LP took my license, DOB, name and age and weight. Police we’re not involved but I was given a paper for $150, I refused and was then told to contact LP department within 72 if case made. They said I should receive a letter within a week... Read more »
Yes a chance exist for the next year that the store at anytime May file criminal charges against you. Whether they will do this is anyone's guess but arguing over the Civil demand may not be wise. Of course you would be best served by speaking with an attorney to see what your best options...Read more »
The Answer pretty much depends on the facts of your case and if you have any priors. That being said you're pretty much looking at some jail time which is called juvenile defense. In general the better the lawyer you have the less time you will do.
Sex offenders are required to register with their local authorities with their names, addresses, and places of employment after they have finished their sentences. That is a portion of the punishment they face upon their release from prison. Due to Section 170101(d) of the Violent Crime Control...Read more »
Should I try to emanipate the child is not in school and works full time wont be 19 until 2019 can I get this emancipated and be over with it or will I still have to pay child support even through the child isnt in school and works full time she dropped out of school in 2016
You do not need to wait until the child is 19. There are many factors the court will consider when emancipating a child, including whether the child is pursuing an education and their ability to be self-supportive. I would need more details from you than are here. You should consult with an...Read more »
If you're a minor in New Jersey you must have moved "beyond the sphere of influence" of both parents. This means the court must first find that you're responsible, independent, able-bodied, not attending school, not on public assistance, not in need of financial support, no...Read more »
As a minor, what New Jersey laws protect my online privacy and to what extent can school search my online history/see? Are they allowed to see what I did and possibly use it against me to hurt me etc? Can they keep my info? Or does it vary school by school. I need to know for my project Thanks a... Read more »
Several factors can apply but most information posted on the web is public and you have no right to privacy for most public information. If you need more specific information you will need to take an appointment with a lawyer which most will charge you for.
At 18 your cousin is not a child. Your aunt has no right to do anything legally to the other guy. Even though this may not end well. Your cousin has some serious "Daddy" issues. At 18, like it or not your cousin can date who she wants. She may however, get a hard lesson, but let's...Read more »
She will be 17 in a few months has tried to leave by having DYFS called on us but the cases are always closed. She thought she could be adopted by a rich family. Anyway we've tried counseling with no luck. If I try to ground her or take away her phone for taking to an 18 year old boy she gets... Read more »
Mother committed suicide, parents divorced but father has supported kids $$, family wants to take custody of 11 & 15 (grandparents or aunt) Father wants to move kids out of country but kids want to stay in NJ.
You really need to retain an experienced matrimonial attorney to handle this matter. Your situation cannot be given a meaningful answer without an in person consultation. Do not let geographic restrictions get in the way of retaining the best attorney. Pick the best attorney you can find and...Read more »
What can I do if at 11 pm or even 2 am he is still with the parties upstairs? Police won't do anything and the kid is a 17 year old minor home alone 20 hours out of the day? Btw, he doesn't listen to mom.or stepdad.
You would need to post the violation numbers and degrees of each time for a lawyer to advise you of the time your facing. However, you should not talk about a crime online. I suggest you setup an in office consultation with a skilled criminal lawyer. Most of us criminal lawyers offer a free in...Read more »
Your looking at 3 to 5 years on the 3rd degree charge and 18 months on each of the 4th degree charges. I suggest you hire a good lawyer as I am sure most of this time can be worked down for you. (assuming you don't have prior arrests) Most of us criminal lawyers offer a free in office...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.