Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Tennessee Juvenile Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: I have a 16 year old that was caught shoplifting with a friend at Walmart. It was under $500. Is school notified?

She is on cheer squad and is afraid of getting kicked off and realizes how stupid it all was.

Should I hire a lawyer? She has never been in any kind of trouble before?

Cayley Turrin
Cayley Turrin answered on Jul 4, 2021

It is always best to hire a lawyer. They shouldn't notify the school but sometimes it does get out.

2 Answers | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: I’m 17 I live in the state of Tennessee. If I moved in with my boyfriend and go to school would I get in trouble or not?
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Jun 14, 2021

The boyfriend can be prosecuted for Statutory Rape.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: We were told we have to bring our 6yr old to court do we have to?

My 6yr old daughter has missed 18days and thier telling us we have to bring her with us to court shes scared and dont want to go what do we do?

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on May 12, 2021

Who told you to bring the child to Court? If it is not an Order from a Judge, then you do not have to. But it sounds like other interested parties want the Child there. Hire an attorney to represent you, and take the Child to Court. Apparently your continued custody is in peril.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: If my child is is being unruly and not going to school what are the steps I could take to fix this matter
Ross Matuszak
Ross Matuszak answered on Mar 24, 2021

Thank you for your question. In Tennessee T.C.A. 37-1-102 defines an Unruly Child as a child in need of treatment and rehabilitation who:

(i) Habitually and without justification is truant from school while subject to compulsory school attendance under § 49-6-3007; or

(ii)...
Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: I need to know what to do about a child that said he was being abused and then runaway came to my house
Ross Matuszak
Ross Matuszak answered on Mar 12, 2021

If you have no legal right to have this child at your house, it is probably in the child's and your best interest for you to contact your local Police and the Tennessee Department of Children's Services (DCS). You can explain to them what happened and they can decide what is best for the... Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: I’m 17 with my first ticket. 90 in a 70 what should I do?

I was on the interstate going 90 trying to get to gas station cause I was on Empty. A trooper pulled me over and gave me a ticket with a court date. What should I expect? Will I face and misdemeanours or anything?

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Dec 7, 2020

Go to Court and act respectful. Have cash available to pay costs, fines, that day. It might get Diverted or Dismissed. Traffic School might be an option. Upon Conviction, points will go on your MVR.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: Son & Gf has lived with me for 3yrs baby was born 19mths ago mother is with her 10hrs wk and wants to take her away

And live an hour away I can’t get the mother to get up with the baby and feed her unless it’s 20 mins before she goes to work at 1 in the afternoon Father is on disability .grandbaby is with me 90% of the time what can I or my son do they were never married . Baby response to me as her mother .

Paul E. Tennison
Paul E. Tennison answered on Oct 20, 2020

You and your son may want to consider consulting with an attorney. The default rule in TN is that a child born out of wedlock belongs to the Mother until the Father or other relative petitions the Court for Paternity/custody. TN courts have a fifteen factor best interest of the child analysis that... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Cannabis & Marijuana Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: Can a officer give a 16yr a citation and then come back and tare that one up and give you a new one.

My son who s 16 was given a citation from a police officer for illegal weapon on the back of the citation it says you have been charged with a municipal offence and do you do not have to appear in court and the officer marked 1 charge 100.00. When I went to pay it they said the officer is new he... Read more »

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 14, 2020

General Sessions is not a Court of Record, and the Citations or Warrants can be amended or dismissed at anytime with new Charges being instituted. You might want to hire an attorney so this will be as painless as possible.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Juvenile Law and Sexual Harassment for Tennessee on
Q: There is someone that hates because she can’t control me. She accused of being a pedafile. There has never been anything

Anything happen. The only I have ever done is give the child some gift or something for her birthday. Everything done in eye view. Never anything alone. She has spread rumors and accusations.

Paul E. Tennison
Paul E. Tennison answered on Aug 12, 2020

I recommend you immediately consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney. You may also want to consider consulting with an experienced defamation attorney, if there is no basis in fact for any of the allegations against you. Sexual crimes involving children have strict punishments and can... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Personal Injury, Civil Rights and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: My wife took my 11 y/o daughter to get a retainer today. My wife was not allowed to accompany her to the exam room.

When she attempted to enter the room she was told Covid-19 policies prevented her from accompanying my daughter, this was after my wife had paid the fee. My wife was told that there would be only females in the exam room. My obvious question would be, is this legal? Of note, my daughter suffers... Read more »

Mr. James Charles Wright
Mr. James Charles Wright answered on Jul 28, 2020

This is a different world we live in for now. Medical Providers are trying to find a way to provide a relatively covid safe treating environment. I wish this had been explained better before you got there- so that maybe some of the anxiety issues could have been dealt with. My guess is your... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: got charged for simple possession when I was 17 and now graduated and trying to go to school in a different state how

Can I get this over with? Or do charges get dropped when moved to different state?

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Jul 8, 2020

You need to complete the charge problem until it is dismissed or diverted. A conviction will hurt you forever. Talk to your lawyer or hire one that is competent. You will probably be drug tested.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: Is an unmarried minor automatically emancipated if she gets pregnant?

Not married, still living at home, 17 years old.

Johnny Quitman Rasberry
Johnny Quitman Rasberry answered on Jul 6, 2020

The simple answer is no.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: So basically vandalism accured egging and im only 17 but they may press chargers should i be worried?
Mr. Kent Thomas Jones Esq.
Mr. Kent Thomas Jones Esq. answered on Jul 3, 2020

Yes, anytime someone is pressing charges against you, you should be worried. It sounds like a juvenile court case, but you should hire local counsel to represent you.

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: Can a 17 year old leave home with an 18 year old and live together with the 18 year old helping to take care of them ?

This is a question with the laws of Tennessee because I frankly have no clue, and would love a more simple answer then a very long 5 page written answer preferably only a 2 page answer or shorter . Thank you ! And sorry .

Bob G Huddleston Jr.
Bob G Huddleston Jr. answered on Jun 11, 2020

If the parents of the 17 year old approve, then yes.

If the parents of the 17 year old do not approve, then maybe.

Maybe because . . . it exposes the 17 year old to a charge of juvenile "unruliness" and being placed in the protective custody of the Tennessee Department of...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: I will be 18 tomorrow and I want to move in with my girlfriend tomorrow and she's 17 and her parents are okay with it.

My parents are not okay with it and say I can't because I'm still in high school but I will be a senior and I'm in Tennessee but I don't know if I can move out help pleae.

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Jun 3, 2020

That is called Statutory Rape in Tennessee.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: can i legally leave home tonight if I am 16 years old (almost 17) and will i be sent to juvenile for it?
Brandon D. Fersten
Brandon D. Fersten answered on May 14, 2020

If you do not have your parents' permission to leave your house, I would advise against it. If you leave your home without your parents' consent and they call the police, you will be known as a runaway and the court can find that you are an "unruly child" in need of treatment... Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody, Civil Rights and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: Girlfriend doesnt want to go home but she is a minor. Can the boyfriend get into trouble?

My cousin is 18 and his girlfriend is a minor. She doesnt want to go home but instead stay with him. Can my cousin still get into trouble even tho it's her choice?

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Apr 29, 2020

Absolutely

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: 15 yes old being accused of theft but no prove? And now cop wants to charge him for pictures of girls on phone?
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Mar 11, 2020

He needs to quit talking to the LEO's and hire an attorney today.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: Now I8 can I get copies of my case and all records of my case. Being charged as a juvenile in juvenile court in Tennesse
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Jan 29, 2020

You have not stated what is going on with you. However it is certain you need to hire a competent attorney to represent you immediately. You are fortunate for the Juvenile Court to maintain jurisdiction of you, but you need a lawyer to keep it at a "delinquency" level, and non-criminal.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Q: Can I call the police if my 18 yr old ran away in Memphis,tn?
Bob G Huddleston Jr.
Bob G Huddleston Jr. answered on Jan 29, 2020

If your child is 18, then they wouldn't legally be considered a "runaway" as defined by Tennessee law dealing with delinquent or unruly children.

Of course you CAN call the police and file a missing persons report in order to try to find out if they are at least alive and safe.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.