Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Utah Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Contracts and Employment Law for Utah on
Q: Do I have to repay a sign on bonus if I was never given a way to pay it back?

I received a letter stating I can make payments on repaying a sign on bonus back they gave me the information to put on the check but never told me where to send it or anything like that, I’ve reached out multiple times and received no response what actions do I need to take on either paying them... Read more »

Wesley Winsor
PREMIUM
Wesley Winsor
answered on Sep 23, 2022

If you are obilated to pay back the signing bonus, just go to their website or look up their business on the state business registration website https://secure.utah.gov/bes/index.html and send a certified check in the mail to their address.

Just because they haven't responded...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Litigation and Contracts for Utah on
Q: Can a used car dealership sell me a car with out emissions being done?

The check engine light came on just a few days after driving it home and the brakes were so bad it was scary to even drive. I'm also paying over $35,000 for a vehicle that isn't worth $11,000 at least not with the shape it's in.

Wesley Winsor
PREMIUM
Wesley Winsor
answered on Sep 20, 2022

Hello,

I am sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your car. I am unsure what you are asking when you say "emissions being done". Are you asking whether a dealership has a duty to make sure the emissions are compliant with state law prior to sale? Or are you saying something else?

Wes

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Divorce for Utah on
Q: In Utah: Dvrce pndng in MT, X tells my son has a Court Order to take a truck owned b4 we were married - criminal?

RECORDED claiming she has a Court Order (ridiculously false) to take a truck originally titled to my dad, changed to me b4 marriage, she knows I've put $thousands in it, just painted it and am I'm selling it - and makes this claim. Attempted theft by deception?? What about claiming a... Read more »

William Melton
William Melton
answered on Sep 16, 2022

You should report it to law enforcement. I suspect they will tell you it's a civil matter(it's not, but that's how they get out of dealing with it), but I would still make the police report.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Federal Crimes for Utah on
Q: my federal case was filed for motion of dismissal does that mean i’m done with court?
Anthony M. Avery
PREMIUM
Anthony M. Avery
answered on Sep 12, 2022

If this is a criminal charge against you, then it appears the Government is dismissing one or all charges against you. However Jeopardy probably does not apply, which means you might get charged later within the SOL. Talk to your attorney and stay out of trouble as you may be watched.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Utah on
Q: I am 14 and my partner is 17 will there be any legal trouble when they turn 18

My birthday is in oct 18 theirs is in Nov 2

Lance E. Bastian
Lance E. Bastian
answered on Sep 7, 2022

Assuming I'm understanding correctly with your relative ages, that you will turn 15 in October and your partner will turn 18 in November, the answer is yes. Right now, until you turn 15, consensual sexual activity between you and your partner would be considered unlawful adolescent sexual... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Contracts, Probate and Banking for Utah on
Q: If a child gets a cd in her name, she's the only beneficiary, her grandfather was the trustee, can anyone else get the $

The child and grand father are the only names on the acct. The grandfather opened it in her name when she was a baby after the childs father passed away. The grandfather passes and the only 2 names ever on the acct are the child and the grandfather. Can the grandmother pull out the money without... Read more »

Wesley Winsor
PREMIUM
Wesley Winsor
answered on Aug 31, 2022

This depends on the ownerhip of the account. If they owned the account as joint tenants with rights of survivorship, then the grandmother would only be able to access the account if she were claiming some spousal share of her husband, but she would first have to go through a court proceeding to get... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Estate Planning for Utah on
Q: My mother wants to block her husband from any inheritance. Can she sign a will giving me the house ?

The husband might even be willing to sign an Affidavit giving her son the inheritance?

Wesley Winsor
PREMIUM
Wesley Winsor
answered on Aug 12, 2022

Hello,

The best thing to do would be to talk with an attorney. By statute, you cannot disinherit your spouse without their permission. I would encourage your mother to get a post-nuptial agreement and then engage in estate planning. I would normally recommend that she set up a trust so...
Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Utah on
Q: Can a third degree felony of disarming a peace officers energy device be expunged?

Can a Class A misdemeanor of simple assault on a peace officer be expunged?

Aric M. Cramer
PREMIUM
Aric M. Cramer
answered on Aug 11, 2022

I believe it can.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Child Support for Utah on
Q: I have 2 children with a man that I haven't seen in 4 years or heard from in 3 years, can I get his rights taken away?

I have 2 children with a man I was with over 5 years ago (we were never married), since then I have had 2 more kids and gotten married. We have no contact with my 2 oldest children's father and he periodically will pay some child support but still owes us thousands of dollars in back child... Read more »

Mike Branum
Mike Branum
answered on Aug 8, 2022

You could incorporate a petition to terminate the father's rights with a petition to adopt the two children if that is what your husband desires and the children are on board (if they are old enough to have a say). If your husband is not planning to adopt the children, there really is not a... Read more »

3 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Utah on
Q: Can a judge grant you an early dismissal with a Plea and Abeyance?

Meaning if your Plea and Abeyance said 18 months can a judge dismiss your case and the charges after only 6 months if you have completed all other required terms?

Cliff Venable
Cliff Venable
answered on Aug 8, 2022

Yes.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents for Utah on
Q: Who is more at fault in a collision involving a car turning left vs. a car driving on a bike lane

Long story short, a family member is trying to turn left into an apartment complex on a 2 way street (and a shared divider). He waited in the divider to turn left as safely as possible and found that moment when the oncoming traffic had come to a complete stop and signaled him to go. He started... Read more »

Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar
answered on Jul 28, 2022

A Utah attorney could advise best, but your question remains open for three weeks. Until you're able to arrange a consult with a local attorney to analyze the matter under state-specific vehicle and traffic law, this would be a difficult case in most jurisdictions across the nation. Liability... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Domestic Violence for Utah on
Q: Can a plaintiff without representation request a plea in abeyance from an attorney? What would they need to provide?
William Melton
William Melton
answered on Jul 26, 2022

The plaintiff is the city/state that is prosecuting you. You would be the defendant. You can always represent yourself and contact the prosecutor to see if they will offer you a plea deal (a plea in abeyance is a type of plea deal).

1 Answer | Asked in Real Estate Law and Landlord - Tenant for Utah on
Q: What is the Utah code for renters/landlord on rights to terminate a month-to-month lease and time to vacate in utah?

I was given 30 days notice to vacate the premises and exactly 30 days to vacate as from last night (07/18/2022) and he is giving me until 08/16/2022 to do it. My understanding is that I had until the end of the following month of August. To say the least he has been a nusance. I would need a link... Read more »

Kenneth Prigmore
Kenneth Prigmore
answered on Jul 19, 2022

That is a lot of questions. Most attorneys will do a free consultation in their first appointment. I no longer accept clients on this type of law, but here is a great resource: do a google search for "Utahlegalservices" They help people that can't afford an attorney, and the website... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Real Estate Law for Utah on
Q: I solely own bare property in Kane co.UT, if i transfer it to my spouse can a utility company come after him/property?

I have no utilities on this property, the privately shareholder owned water company is transferring it to the county. This is how i found out there is an outstanding bill of 17 years for “membership” and late fees. These a bogus charges but i really don't want to pay an attorney to prove... Read more »

Kenneth Prigmore
Kenneth Prigmore
answered on Jul 18, 2022

From your description, I see at least two issues: 1) how to get the water company to stop grouping both of your properties in your name in the same box for charges for water services, and 2) avoiding a lawsuit attempting to attach and sell the property to pay a claimed debt.

Regarding the...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Real Estate Law for Utah on
Q: In Utah, does a deed have to be recorded in order to be effective?

If an executed deed is not recorded, the deed transfer is still effective, correct?

Kenneth Prigmore
Kenneth Prigmore
answered on Jul 18, 2022

When you pay money for a piece of property, then you do have a claim against the person that sold you the property. But, the intended effect of a deed is to transfer ownership on official records. Until the deed is recorded, the transfer has not occurred in the eyes of the county and the state.... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for Utah on
Q: I was got a speeding ticket in utah driving at 27mph over speed limit on a 65mph road. Can i get it dismissed?

The cops says he caught me on radar going 31mph over the limit. I was pretty sure I was going around 90 which is 25mph over the limit. There were no cars on the road & it was downhill.

William Melton
William Melton
answered on Jul 15, 2022

It is unlikely that your ticket will get dismissed. There is a huge push right now, especially by highway patrol, to catch and ticket high speed violators. Most troopers aren't cutting any sort of breaks. There are some ways to fight traffic tickets, but a lot of the time we are able to... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Real Estate Law, Agricultural Law and Landlord - Tenant for Utah on
Q: can I cancel my rental agreement when I sell my property or does the rental agreement continue on with the new owner

this is a rental agreement on farm ground

Kenneth Prigmore
Kenneth Prigmore
answered on Jul 12, 2022

The answer to your question will normally be found in your rental agreement. If you don't have anything in the agreement that specifically allows you to cancel if you sell, then you will normally be expected to fulfill the terms of the contract. As this is for farm ground, you don't have... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Adoption for Utah on
Q: My husband would like to adopt our daughter. Bio has no contact for 3+ yrs and is not on birth certificate. Do I have to

Do I have to contact him in order to go through with the adoption?

Jason F. Barnes
Jason F. Barnes
answered on Jul 8, 2022

Although your question may seem to be an easy one, there are many other questions that need to be asked in order to assess whether or not notice is necessary. If you would like to give us a call, we can certainly talk about the specific details of the case and answer your question. If you are not... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Utah on
Q: Charge is Possession of a credit card. It was found in my bosses vehicle and I was charged

I was taking a nap in the vehicle when a cop showed up . Keep in mind we’re at my work property, the cop knocks on the rear passenger window and says we got a call on a dog in the back of a vehicle.

William Melton
William Melton
answered on Jul 7, 2022

There isn't enough information here. What is your question? You should contact an attorney directly for assistance. If you have been charged with a crime and cannot afford an attorney the court will appoint one for you.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for Utah on
Q: If a cop is from another city and pulled you over, but did not get approval from the city where the stop happened

is it an automatic dismissal? 77-9-3 2a

William Melton
William Melton
answered on Jul 6, 2022

No, a cop has jurisdiction all over the state.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.