Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Tennessee Criminal Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Civil Rights for Tennessee on
Q: What would be the charges on me if I am buying a car and I sell it for scrap before it's paid for

I sold a financed car to a junk yard what's my charges

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 26, 2021

Theft of Property or Hindering a Secured Creditor are definite possibilities. Do not publish criminal acts on public forums.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Federal Crimes for Tennessee on
Q: I never got arrested before and i recently got my first charge of “accessory after the fact” . Will i do jail time?

This is my first charge ever . Where do i hire an good lawyer ?

Cayley Turrin
Cayley Turrin answered on Oct 25, 2021

There is always a potential for jail time with any criminal charge. You can google attorneys or find them on this website.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: Criminal

If a person is incarcerated and another state days they got a hold on them but the fingerprints and dna and social security number don't match can that hold be lifted

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 25, 2021

You can argue the Fugitive From Justice Warrant is bogus, and not agree to Extradition. But usually you get transported to the requesting State and argue identification there. Hire a competent attorney in the State of incarceration first.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: Do I need to obtain an attorney for an indecent exposure charge? What happens if I just plead guilty?
Bryna Landers Grant
Bryna Landers Grant answered on Oct 21, 2021

You can always just plead guilty and the Judge can sentence you accordingly- Depending on how you are charged- It is a class B misdemeanor (6 months) or an A misdemeanor (11 months and 29 days) and the sentence could be full suspended, split confinement or a "to serve" sentence. If you... Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: If officers agree to release an offender on a drug sales case if the offender provides them with weapons and drugs

Would it be considered entrapment to charge that offender with the drugs and weapons

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 20, 2021

Probably not. Entrapment is an affirmative defense which rarely applies, especially where the other party is not a government agent. It also admits the criminal act.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: I'm being accused of a murder because my dna which was collected without knowing has been found on 'articles" of a vic

They then served me a warrant for dna directly and raided my home. Why would they need my dna twice?

Bryna Landers Grant
Bryna Landers Grant answered on Oct 20, 2021

Having a clean, known sample of your DNA with which to test their evidence against is standard procedure.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: What exactly is the title law 40 in Tn for first offense
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 18, 2021

Generally that deals with Sentencing, but includes hundreds of different Statutes.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Domestic Violence for Tennessee on
Q: can my cousin he's a lawyer defend a plaintiff in a case against me?
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 13, 2021

That is not a per se ethical conflict. But if he has provided legal advice to you, then you want to ask him to recuse himself (and all information about you). I would be most worried about him using information he knows about you to collect a Judgment. The lawyer is treading on dangerous... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: I want to know why I am the only one getting charged with aggravated burglary and I wasn't by myself in the crime
Cayley Turrin
Cayley Turrin answered on Oct 11, 2021

There could be numerous reasons why that is the case.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: My son was found in a vacant home that did have things in the home from my understanding it was uninhabited for several

U hibitated for several years he had no items on him at the time is this aggravated burglary

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 11, 2021

Hire a competent attorney. That may only be a Trespass as no Habitation involved. Felony Burglary is still possible though. He needs to prepare for a Preliminary Hearing.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: What exactly does 39-13-524 mean in a criminal matter?
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 6, 2021

That is a Sentence for a Sex Offender for Lifetime Supervision.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: If my son who is 30 texted a13 yr asking her to show him what her body looks like.what kind of charge is this

He was kidding around last night and he text my 13 yr old niece to show him what her body looks like.playing around. Now the cops are looking for him. What kind of charge is this

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 6, 2021

An extremely serious Felony. He needs to hire an attorney for advice and should not talk to the LEO's at all. Do not post anything else on a public forum.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Landlord - Tenant for Tennessee on
Q: How was I charged with vandalism at my former residence after moving, what was the purpose of my $1000 deposit?

Paid $800 deposit plus $200 for pet. The warrant said a broken window, already broken, missing shelves and closet rods, and damage to cabinets. There was only 1 closet rod when I moved in, and the drawer was taped in 1 cabinet because it kept falling apart. That being said, I'm confused as to... Read more »

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 6, 2021

You need an attorney to represent you to prove Restitution has already been made.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Personal Injury and Family Law for Tennessee on
Q: Can you miss circuit court due to the fact you are in drug rehab (voluntary) or will I be considered contempt of court?
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Oct 4, 2021

That will be a failure to appear. Get your lawyer to ask for a continuance on those grounds. Do something besides getting a mittimus or capias issued.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: I was pulled over by Brentwood tn police in nashville for my tint being to dark. Is that a good circumstance ...
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Sep 27, 2021

I do not know what a good circumstance is. But Tinted Glass can be a Rule of the Road violation, and is thus a legitimate reason for a stop.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Constitutional Law and Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: I was ride through Brentwood tn and a Brentwood police pulled me over in nashville tn. Is there possible?
Cayley Turrin
Cayley Turrin answered on Sep 27, 2021

Simple answer yes. It really does depend on the circumstances.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Civil Rights for Tennessee on
Q: Does accepting pretrial diversion preclude me from suing police in civil rights case

I was arrested for first time in my 61 yrs for assault of police, resisting arrest, and disorderly conduct. I had called 911 after being the victim of road rage and simply ask police to put on their masks due to COVID. I was injured in arrest and refused medical care. That evening after released... Read more »

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Sep 24, 2021

From your facts I do not see a §1983 cause of action. But Diversion is usually the best disposition. Prior to the plea you will want to talk to an experienced attorney who knows how to file a Government Tort Liability Action. Again I would not file the suit as it is not a perfect... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: does the state have to have the gun for it to be a possession?
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Sep 21, 2021

Do you have a question, as the State possesses many thousands of firearms.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Family Law for Tennessee on
Q: Is the charge of aggravated child abuse to a child 9-17. Expungable in the state of Tenn?
Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Sep 20, 2021

A Dismissable could be expunged. Conviction is permanent and no expungement.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on
Q: i am charged with possesion of marajuana with intent to resell and possesion of methampedamine withing 500ftof a school

first offense only about 3.5lbs of marajuana and 7.5 grams of meth..what am i facing

Anthony M. Avery
Anthony M. Avery answered on Sep 20, 2021

Probably 8 to 12 years. Maybe more.

View More Answers

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.