Kiele Linroth Pace's answer I'm assuming the charge was Assault since this question is marked "domestic violence" and Assault is one where the level of the offense can be raised by a previous conviction. For example, the offense named "Assault Causing Bodily Injury - Family Violence" is a class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year in county jail or 2 years probation. However, if the defendant has a previous conviction it can be filed as a third degree felony, punishable by up to 10 years in the...
Grant St Julian III's answer Sexual contact between an 18 year old and a 15 year old is illegal. See Texas Penal Code Section 21.11 - Indecency with a Child, Section 22.011 - Sexual Assault, & Section 43.25 Performance by a Child.
Roy Lee Warren's answer Probably, you can be charged but the real issue is whether you can be convicted, I do not believe so based on the facts you have presented. If the medication was your bf and he was in the car...
Kiele Linroth Pace's answer You can't really force the police to do anything. If taking it to the prosecutors doesn't work, you could try the Constable's office. The county is split up into multiple precincts so look up the address where the violation occurred and contact the corresponding Constable. If you suspect crimes committed by an elected official or the police themselves then contact the Texas Rangers.
Kiele Linroth Pace's answer You can't really "take it back" but you can tell them you lied. Be aware that, in a domestic violence case, they are likely to believe that you are lying about lying and that your first statement was true. Still, if you lied you need to come clean. It is possible that you might be charged with a crime for making a false report but that is not as bad as letting someone else be punished for something they didn't do.
Kiele Linroth Pace's answer There is a concept called "constructive possession" that will blow your mind. Basically, it means that you an be in possession even when somebody else actually HAS the contraband and that multiple people can be "in possession" of the same contraband.
To get from Houston County to Smith County by car you are probably going to drive through Cherokee County or Anderson County and you would be committing the crime in those counties too. Also, having two or more people involved could be...
Kiele Linroth Pace's answer Most counties in Texas don't have a formal Public Defender's Office, but they should have SOME method for assigning Court Appointed Attorneys to indigent defendants. You may be required to fill out some sort of application listing income and expenses and they may not agree about how much you can (or can not) actually afford.
Grant St Julian III's answer What degree of offense are you charged with? There is no right to counsel on class c misdemeanors, so if you cannot afford an attorney regarding a citation, you must represent yourself. If you are charged with a higher level offense, you may request the court appoint an attorney to represent you.
Roy Lee Warren's answer Yes, you could go to jail because having sex with a minor is against the law. However when the participants ages are not greater than 3 years apart the is an affirmative defense (meaning you must assert the defense or it is waived) known as the "Romeo and Juliet" law that can be a defense for you. Good luck and I hope it all works out for you.
Roy Lee Warren's answer If your cases are in Louisiana you need to ask your question there because +your case is under state law an states can differ. But in Texas, yes, generally credit is given on both but only if you have been charged for the offense already. You do not get credit for time served on the second offense if you have not even been charged yet.
Grant St Julian III's answer A warrant is basically an order from a court instructing law enforcement to take a person into custody. A warrant for a ticket is the same as a warrant for murder, so yes, you can be arrested for the offenses listed if warrants are issued. Call an attorney in the county where the cases are pending. Good luck.
Grant St Julian III's answer The charging instrument for misdemeanor cases (the information/complaint) must be filed with the court within 2 years from the date of the alleged offense. Once the case is filed and is a warrant is subsequently issued, the case can remain pending indefinitely. Talk with an attorney in the county where the warrants are pending to see what can be done about posting a bond. Good luck.
Grant St Julian III's answer If you wish to file criminal charges, contact the police and file an incident report. If you wish to resolve the matter through your boyfriend's parents, you may do so, but I suggest you do not try to tie one avenue with the other.
There was not a crime named "Battery" in Texas 10 years ago. In Texas it would be named "Assault" and there are both misdemeanor and felony versions.
Federal law says you may not EVER possess a firearm or ammunition if the case involved domestic violence. You lose your second amendment rights upon conviction of any offense, even a misdemeanor, that "has, as an element, the use or attempted use of physical...
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.