We have her insurance info and filed a claim. Our insurance paid our vehicle off and offered us an extra almost $4500 (This does not replace the vehicle). We are still waiting, 6 days now for police report. We have lost work time, scared kids, no vehicle, and anguish to know end. We want to go... Read more »
I am so sorry to hear of your recent crash which was caused by a drunk driver. DWI's continue to be a real problem in our state. You can bring a personal injury claim against the driver and insurance company for all injuries suffered by you and your family. Each of you have an individual...Read more »
My court is coming up February 2020, if convicted and have 48 hours mandatory jail time do I get credit for time served, or is there a way to not get jail time just probation,I have no criminal record and have started alcohol counseling
It will depend entirely on the nature of your detention and the facts of your case. Were the 24 hours that you "stayed" in jail in anticipation of your arraignment? In which court is your case set? (i.e. "Metro Court" in Albuquerque?). Have you contacted an attorney? These...Read more »
Under the speedy trial statute, a case needs to be brought to trial within two terms of court. There are disadvantage to filing a motion for speedy trial. For example, most courts will not entertain a plea agreement once you have filed a motion for speedy trial, which means you must have a trial in...Read more »
We were at a friends house and I was riding his dads bike. They had been encouraging me to ride all day and i had been saying no i just finally gave in to them and got on. Our friend that hit me had been drinking. He was playing horse shoes with my husband and in the middle of the game he stopped... Read more »
Yes you could go to jail if the judge does not believe your boyfriend's testimony. If the judge thinks you were the one drinking, and your boyfriend is trying to cover for you, the judge can find that you violated the terms of probation and sentence you to incarceration for the balance of your...Read more »
No. Despite what you see on TV, the failure to read your Miranda rights at a DUI arrest will have no impact on your case. Routine questions during a traffic stop to establish identity such as name, address, and your drivers license, proof of insurance and registration will not require a Miranda...Read more »
If Texas does not require you to install an interlock, most likely New Mexico will not either when you apply for a license here. But do not confuse that with the statute of limitations. There was a loophole in the past where people did not get an interlock, drove illegally and sparingly for a few...Read more »
A good question and one that reminds us that the driver arrested for DUI is facing a big and little shotgun barrel. The big barrel is the court system which could have subjected the driver to 364 days in jail for a DUI 3rd offense. Obviously taking a plea to DUI 1st offense is good for the driver,...Read more »
VA will not release the suspension even though i now live in NM without a payment and fulfillment of DUI requiremnts for VA. I do not want a VA license but do need a NM license. Do i still have to complete VA requirements even though i live in NM and have completed the AL DUI punishment... Read more »
Yes, you do. Your problem is that you cannot get a license in one state without having any holds or suspensions released by your previous home state. Contact a VA lawyer if you are confused about the VA suspension.
I use the notes of decision and the committee commentaries for each New Mexico statute and rules annotated to compare case laws already decided by the New Mexico courts to formulate and support my arguments however I can't find them online with the case laws that I search for please give me... Read more »
I am confused by your question. If you are a lawyer or paralegal, you would already know how to do legal research, and would not be asking the question. If you are a pro se litigant, you can find a great deal of information right here at Justia (and some other sites, as well). You mention...Read more »
You have 10 days from the date the officer serves the notice of revocation to request a hearing. If you do not mail in the request to the NM Taxation & revenue dept along with a $25.00 check then your drivers license is revoked.
If you met the 10 day request for hearing deadline and the...Read more »
In order for her to drive, ANY vehicle she chooses to drive must be equipped with an ignition interlock device. In addition, she must register the device, the vehicle, obtain an ignition interlock drivers license; as well as, other very specific requirements before she can drive legally.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.