Ask a Lawyer

Add details
More Information:

Recent Questions & Answers

Q: My child's mother has sole custody. She has not even been residing with my child, what can I do to get custody?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Georgia on
Answered on Oct 24, 2016

If you have not already legitimated, you will have to file for legitimation and custody and file against both the mother and the person with whom your child is living.
View Details »

Q: If I have had my son for many years now, do I need to get him legitimized to place his mom on child support

1 Answer | Asked in Child Support for Georgia on
Answered on Oct 24, 2016

Yes, you will have to file for custody and legitimation in order to place her on child support. You can also ask for back child support.
View Details »

Q: What happens at truancy court?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law and Juvenile Law for New Jersey on
Answered on Oct 24, 2016

These matters are heard in the municipal courts. That you are there means that there are warnings that have gone unheeded. I believe the fine now goes up to $250 per day, so with 11 days, do the math. Jail time also is an option for the judge. That would be jail time for the parent.

You should retain counsel. You should also be prepared to get your son back in school. The judge will likely tell you the kid goes back to school --and the matter stays open to make sure he does--or...
View Details »

Q: Next move?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Colorado on
Answered on Oct 23, 2016

Assuming that all the claims made by your former employer are false, you have little to worry about.

First, a certified letter is nothing special (any one can mail you a certified letter with restricted service); the certified status has no legal impact beyond showing that you received the letter. Turning to the claims, handing material directly to the DA would be interesting because the DA does not investigate crimes (the police investigate crimes). The rare occurrence where the...
View Details »

Q: My friend ran over my very expensive bike in my driveway and wont pay for it. What should I do?

1 Answer | Asked in Small Claims for New York on
Answered on Oct 23, 2016

If you have already made a demand for the replacement cost, your next step could be to file a claim in small claims court. If your bike was valued at $5,000 or less, you can file a claim there. If you have any questions, it is a good idea to speak with a lawyer to ensure that your rights are protected.
View Details »

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.