Ask a Question

Get free answers to your Cannabis & Marijuana Law legal questions from lawyers in your area.

Lawyers, increase your visibility by answering questions and getting points. Answer Questions
South Carolina Cannabis & Marijuana Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Cannabis & Marijuana Law for South Carolina on
Q: If I have completed Pti and paid for my expungement, can they still drug test me

I am currently waiting for the completion of my expungement letter to come in but I also have an over the phone appointment with my Pti counselor, so I was wondering if she could ask for a drug test to interfere with anything because I have already taken a delta dummy from the Vape shop and will... View More

Casey Brown
Casey Brown
answered on Dec 14, 2022

The typical process is that you complete PTI, then they send a letter to your prosecutor who then dismisses the case. Then you can apply (with a fee) for an expungement of the arrest from your record. Once PTI is completed you should not have any appointments. If PTI has not been completed they can... View More

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Cannabis & Marijuana Law, Civil Rights and Municipal Law for South Carolina on
Q: Is there a statue of limitations for simple possession in SC?

The cops came to my house on Wed. 11-17 with a search warrant looking to find a large amount of marijuana. They found a roach. My girlfriend said it was hers so they gave her a ticket for simple possession. They then told me I had to go to the police department Mon. 11-21 because they wanted to... View More

Jonathan Edmond Bennett Lewis
Jonathan Edmond Bennett Lewis
answered on Nov 21, 2021

Is there a statue of limitations for simple possession in SC?

No. There are no statutes of limitations on criminal offenses in South Carolina.

Can they really come back to the house and arrest me?

Yes. In South Carolina we have two types of possession, constructive and...
View More

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets and Cannabis & Marijuana Law for South Carolina on
Q: What does it mean when ticket amount says MAX?

Officer told me if i came to court he would drop the charges but I don't want to show up to court empty handed. Charge is simple possession of marijuana

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton
answered on Aug 12, 2020

For simple possession of marijuana the minimum fine after all required assessments is $407.50 and the maximum fine is $615.00. Don't forget that simple possession of marijuana 1st offense also carries jail time of up to 30 days along with the fine. I would highly recommend speaking to an... View More

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.