South Carolina Questions & Answers

Q: Does a 3rd offense driving under suspension, non-dui related, carry an automatic jail time?

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Answered on Apr 17, 2019
William James LaLima's answer
Yes. 90 days in jail (or house arrest) It is mandatory. I *have* persuaded the arresting officer to rewrite a DUS 3rd ticket to a DUS 2nd offense ... It saves the 90 days in jail, BUT the DOT will still punish you as if it is a DUS 3rd.

56-1-460(A)(2) ...

(c) for a third or subsequent offense, fined one thousand dollars, and imprisoned for up to ninety days or confined to a person's place of residence pursuant to the Home Detention Act for up to ninety days. No portion of a term...

Q: My mom passed away she had a will to sell the house and divide. One passed away who will receive her share!

1 Answer | Asked in Probate for South Carolina on
Answered on Apr 17, 2019
William James LaLima's answer
It really depends on the will. It also depends on when the other beneficiary died. Did they die before your mother or after? If the will does not specify, then usually the other beneficiary's heirs will inherit their share. But it 100% depends on the language used in the will.

Q: my husband has a mortgage in his name only in sc. Am i responsible for the mortgAGE if he defaults on the loan

1 Answer | Asked in Foreclosure and Real Estate Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Apr 16, 2019
D. Nathan Davis' answer
The real issue is whether you are on the note or guaranteed the loan. If you did agree to be liable for the debt, then, you would be liable. Usually, if a spouse is not on the mortgage they are not on the note or otherwise guaranteed the loan.

Of course, in any foreclosure, the lender will first have to sell the property and only if there is money still owing after the real property is sold will the issue of liability for any portion of the debt be established.

You need to...

Q: I need to get custody of my daughter back, and the man on the birth certificate is not the biological father.

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody and Family Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Apr 8, 2019
Cheryl Ann Truesdale's answer
You need to consult with a lawyer in your area to help you file either a contempt action of a modification action.

Q: If I'm an authorized signer on a corporate account, am I liable for any tax debt to the state or IRS?

1 Answer | Asked in Tax Law, Banking and Business Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Apr 4, 2019
Bruce Alexander Minnick's answer
Although it is impossible to predict what your future has in store for you, it is safe to say that merely being the bookkeeper and having signing authority on the company account--in and of itself--is not enough to tag you for some possible taxes due in the future. However, it is just as safe to say that if you are an active participant in any unlawful scheme to avoid state employment taxes or federal income taxes, you being a signatory on the corporation's bank accounts will make it difficult...

Q: only way for me to have access to taxes paid to my husband that should rightfully be split betus is to file for div?

1 Answer | Asked in Tax Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Apr 3, 2019
Bruce Alexander Minnick's answer
There probably are many good reasons for you to consider filing for divorce--but doing it just to try to get 50% of his tax refund is not one of them.

Q: I was injured 3x on dangerous property conditions on a lot I rent for a rv. Since I live here and not visiting, liabi

1 Answer | Asked in Personal Injury for South Carolina on
Answered on Apr 2, 2019
Carole Jean Hayes' answer
I do not think you finished your post! However, if you are aware of a negligent condition you will have a problem trying to sue if that is where you are going with this.....can't tell. I wish you well.

Q: Hi, I wanted to ask a question about foreclosure.

1 Answer | Asked in Foreclosure for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 25, 2019
D. Nathan Davis' answer
First, since your check never cleared it would appear that the check was not received. Simply putting a check in the mail is not enough when you are behind this much on your mortgage. You needed to call the lender and make sure that money was received. You also needed to make sure that you sent the correct amount.

You have been served with and Summons and Complaint. You need to answer the complaint within 30 days of when you received the complaint. If you fail to respond, you will...

Q: what kind of attorney would I need if my house & land go up for sell April 1st

2 Answers | Asked in Bankruptcy and Foreclosure for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 23, 2019
Timothy Denison's answer
A real estate/ mortgage defense attorney.

Q: Can a credit card company take your home if they file a judgment against you in the state of South Carolina

1 Answer | Asked in Consumer Law and Collections for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 18, 2019
D. Nathan Davis' answer
The answer is a little dificult because the answer can change based upon the facts. The creditor must first sue and obtain a judgment against you. Once the judgment is obtained, it becomes a lien against the property for 10 years. Most of the time the creditor is not going to do any more than this. Since the judgment is a lien against the property, you cannot sell or mortgage the property unless you resolve the judgment by obtaining a release of the property or paying off the judgment....

Q: How do you get a UCC lien from a shady company with a history of lost cases and tons of BBB complaints terminated?

1 Answer | Asked in Consumer Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 14, 2019
D. Nathan Davis' answer
The only way to get a UCC terminated is to get the company that put it on to terminate the UCC statement. If the company refuses to terminate it, you can sue the company and get a Court order to terminate the UCC. These are filed in the Office of the Secretary of State and this Office cannot do anything to terminate a UCC without the company filing a termination statement or a Court Order from a Judge.

Q: Is there a statute of limitations for animal cruelty in South Carolina?

1 Answer | Asked in Animal / Dog Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 13, 2019
Carole Jean Hayes' answer
Absolutely call the police and the humane society. There is no statute of limitations on doing either.

Q: I was stopped the other day by two local officers while leaving the pharmacy. Officer stated I was speeding and ran.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 11, 2019
John W. Molony's answer
Contact a South Carolina criminal defense lawyer as soon as you possibly can, so that they can thoroughly review this matter for you.

Q: Can a surviving spouse also claim their deceased spouse’s homestead exemption in SCarolina bankruptcy ?

1 Answer | Asked in Bankruptcy and Consumer Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 11, 2019
D. Nathan Davis' answer
The estate of a deceased spouse can now claim an exemption for a property used as a residence prior to the spouse's death. What is unclear is how long that exemption can be claimed and how much the exemption actually is worth. The statute that was passed used the original exemption amount. No one is sure if the amount would be the present amount for a person who is living.

You need to meet with an attorney who can advise you further in this regard. Creditors are likely not...

Q: Advised K1 visa has a 50/50 chance. age diff. 59-19 Advised using visa waiver & marry after day 61req change of status

1 Answer | Asked in Immigration Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 8, 2019
Deron Edward Smallcomb's answer
Large age differences increase the difficulty of any marriage based petition. The options you are considering should be discussed with an experienced immigration attorney.

Q: where do I go & how to get copies of bankruptcy discharge papers and proof bankruptcy is cleared.

2 Answers | Asked in Bankruptcy for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 5, 2019
Timothy Denison's answer
Go online to pacer.gov, create yourself an account, and then you will be able to download all of the documents you are seeking.

Q: Trying to work w/bank on lowering payments on motorhome so affordable. bank won't. letter cure default. what can bank do

1 Answer | Asked in Consumer Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 3, 2019
D. Nathan Davis' answer
The bank has no duty to lower payments. Once the time runs to cure the missed payments, the bank can then take action to foreclose on the lien. If there is a foreclosure, the bank will sell the motorhome and if it sells for less than the payoff, they may come after you for the deficiency.

Q: I live in horror county Sc. Sheriffs judgment $2,200 against me. From a personal loan

1 Answer | Asked in Consumer Law, Civil Litigation and Collections for South Carolina on
Answered on Mar 3, 2019
D. Nathan Davis' answer
A judgment is a finding by a court that you owe money to someone. If you have assets, the sheriff can levy against the assets to collect the judgment. Based on what you are saying about assets and income, you probably qualify for legal aid.

The sheriff will ask you to pay the judgment, however, you can tell the sheriff that you cannot pay the debt. You have exemptions under South Carolina law that probably protect all of your assets against a collection. Wages cannot be garnished...

Q: How can a person have the same charge 3 times?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for South Carolina on
Answered on Feb 19, 2019
Stephen Grooms' answer
From your description the charging agency appears to be alleging that on 3 separate occasions your friend distributed and or manufactured a controlled substance. This is often the case when they have been building a case over a period of time against a defendant. You friend should strongly consider hiring a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible

Q: What are my options for a 3rd surgery on the same shoulder when dr.said he don't after 2 surgeries

1 Answer | Asked in Workers' Compensation for South Carolina on
Answered on Feb 12, 2019
Ilene Stacey King's answer
I can only give you a very general answer as more information is needed to give you a specific answer. In general, the workers' comp carrier has to provide treatment that is recommended by the authorized treating physician. No one can force a doctor to do a surgery he/she does not want to do. If the authorized treating physician does not want to do another surgery, you could seek a second opinion with another specialist. You might be able to get the carrier to provide a second opinion, or...

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.