They don't have a specific time that they must report it. If they fail to do so within a certain period it could result in an issue with the statute of limitations. If the ticket was just a regular infraction they have one year to bring charges (submit the ticket, or have the prosecutor file...Read more »
I got a speeding ticket in Virginia, but I have a New Jersey License. I read a couple things that said the points will be transferred based on home state. So I was trying to figure out if it is just 2 points or the full 6 points that Virginia will give me.
I was close to my exit on the highway but i was on the left left lane so i sped up to pass because i couldnt get over. I was then pulled over because was going 102 on a 70. I am 19, this is basically my first ticket. What would the penalty or charge be? Do i need an attorney?
Yes Failure to observe a signal is a 2-point ticket. The points will go on your license unless you fight the ticket at court and win. Your best chance of eliminating these points is with a good lawyer representing you for the charge. Even if your guilty of the charge in most cases a good lawyer...Read more »
You can go to court or you can hire an attorney to go to court on your behalf. They will likely work out a resolution that day and then if you owe fines and costs they will be due on a later date usually 60 to 90 days after you plead guilty
I am 26 living in NC and I don't have a single traffic ticket or violation so far and clean on my criminal records. Today I got a speeding citation(GS 20-141(J1)) on highway for driving 20mph over the limit of 65mph and was given court date. I am worried if this will impact my career since as... Read more »
Most counties reduce speeding tickets to give people an incentive to go ahead and take care of them. Technically, speeding at a high enough speed is treated as a criminal charge and, if convicted, would show up on a background check. Getting it reduced would address this and is usually how traffic...Read more »
I am prepared to repair the damage but I really had no idea it made contact. I knew I was close but didn’t tell or hear any contact. My car had a light scratch only. The other has a plastic 1/4 panel that will need to be painted and dent removed. I have no criminal or traffic infractions on my... Read more »
Only a North Carolina attorney could advise here, but your question remains open for three weeks. If you haven't already done so at this point, you could reach out to local attorneys to discuss handling of the matter (while at the same time looking into arrangements to cover the property...Read more »
Traffic came to complete stop I had my truck in neutral and left about one car space in front off me so wen traffic started to roll I put it in second gear to take off as I let go off the clutch about 2-3 miles per houre I felt like I pushed something so I stoped from going forward I don’t know... Read more »
It depends on your carrier. Your insurance only covers "licensed drivers." Given that his license was revoked, your brother was NOT a licensed driver. Any carrier could use such an opportunity to legitimately deny a claim. That you were unaware is irrelevant unless he stole the car....Read more »
I then found out that my I insurance had lapsed. I had no clue my husband first all that. I had insurance the next day. I believe that both parties involved are at fault . I shouldn’t have assumed she was going to be going as fast as she was. It’s kinda a blur but I remember the light was... Read more »
A Utah attorney could advise best, but your question remains open for a week. I'm sorry about your accident. I hope everyone is okay here. You put a number of issues on the table. In terms of fault, a Utah attorney familiar with the state's vehicle and traffic law AND the signage/traffic...Read more »
Second the no insurance I wasn’t aware that my insurance company dropped me until the accident happened and that’s when I was informed my insurance was dropped two days prior to the accident but I wasn’t aware until that day
You are always better off if you hire an attorney. It really depends on how fast you were going. 26 mph over is the highest charge in Kentucky but you can actually be going for 30, 40 or mph over it would show up as the same charge
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.