Hire a competent attorney now. TN has always held if you are capable of driving, whether you physically are or not, then DUI can be charged. If you had any intoxicants in your system, then what you did was a crime. But the State still has to prove it and without a chemical test, it will be a...Read more »
To my knowledge a DUI Conviction does not affect such employment. If you have some sort of License, and there is a complaint, you might have to deal with that Regulatory Agency.. Tennessee is a Terminate At Will State anyway.
It is a Class E Felony and at least 150 days in jail, with a $ 3K Fine. Hire a competent attorney. You may not have much to lose by trying it. Reducing it to a non felony 3rd offense might be the best solution.
The mandatory minimum is 45 days in jail. You did not state the Sentence, but sometimes a lengthier Sentence can include in house rehabilitation, and possibly other things. Going home is not an option however. He should have thought about the Sentence when the Judge was considering it.
You get the Paid In Full Receipts from the Court Clerk wherever you were convicted of DUI. It help[s to go there in person with your Docket Numbers. Call the Court Clerk first to make sure you have the right Court. Older Convictions can take longer than recent ones.
I have been incarcerated for 24 years, and noticed the DOS states they wanted me to pay $240 reinstatement fees and go to DUI school. Just paid the $240, but I am told I may not need to go to DUI school since it was so long ago.
Second question: Why do I have a Tennessee DL/ ID Number if I've never lived in that state?
I received my conviction there however, this doesn't make any sense. I have paid the courts and completed all requirements for my conviction. I also paid a reinstatement fee to the state... Read more »
I am not sure of your problem. But you will have to take this up with the Department of Safety, which you apparently have just touched the surface of. Hire a competent attorney to look into this. It does not appear you will be able to do this without counsel, all needed documents and whatever...Read more »
If you were convicted of DUI, usually the only way to get a TNDL until the entire Sentence is completed and paid, is to apply for the Interlock Device. If you do not have an attorney, then you might ask the Court Clerk to assist you in applying for the Judge's Order. Then you have to...Read more »
Heroin in his system.Came to our home and arrested him on. Feb 18 for a drug charge. Why did they rearrest him? He had no drugs in car or on his person on dui arrest. Can they file a warrant for what was in his blood?
No they cannot arrest him for a drug charge because he had drugs in his system. He had to be in possession of them. There must be more to it. I recommend you call the clerk's office and get a copy of the affidavit of complaint and see what it says. I also recommend you hire an attorney to...Read more »
Hopefully it was reported to DOS that you completed all sentencing requirements. However the DOS will probably want at least a driver's test and a reinstatement fee. If proof of the sentencing completion is required, you will have to go the Court in which you were convicted to get...Read more »
He got scared changed his mind he was off his mental meds cop tlkd2 him ask wat doing he was tryn2tellem when was told hands behind his back4a patdown4 thier safety cop cuffs him then 3-4all was assultin him@same time he's cuffed then in the garage it's on video slammed his face/head n2a... Read more »
Yes, it happens alot. The LEO needs some evidence that the suspect was driving the vehicle earlier. Then he puts together his proof of intoxication, and he gets a Warrant for DUI. Your Friend needs a competent attorney to prepare for a thorough Preliminary Hearing.
We had a handshake agreement for buyer(long-time friend) to pay for a commercial van. 2009 Chevy, agreement was $3500, 500/month, never paid. He was supposed to transfer plates and insurance to his name but didn't, so it is still on our commercial insurance. We do not have contact with him or... Read more »
You should be able to get DOS to issue a new title certificate in the purchaser's name. Ask your County Clerk first, then call Nashville. Once issued send a copy to your agent, and try to deliver the title to the owner. Also that is probably a lease with option to purchase transaction,...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.