Third violation of probation, by commission of Burglary will invite a motion to remand to county jail. But he is presumed not guilty. It may be possible to avoid going to jail until trial. But he will need an experienced attorney and their work is cut out for them. On just the burglary alone he...Read more »
Hello, Could you please help me? I am not from the US and I am not that familiar with the mail laws. I know I am not supposed to open other people's mail. I moved in to a new house on February and I have been getting a lot of mail from other people here, I threw away all of it without knowing... Read more »
Was told if the statue of limitations have run out with no charges filed..(3 yrs in tx) that the prosecutor could end up trying to make it a federal charge since the statue of limitations has run out for a state charge.
You might not want to tell the prosecutors yet, but the limitations period on aggravated assault and aggravated perjury is only TWO years. See article 12.03(d) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. I'm not aware of any federal assault statute, but they might have jurisdiction if the...Read more »
There are ample cases saying that there would be probable cause in such a situation. The legalization of hemp and medical marijuana might change these rulings over time. If there is pc to search the car, then the police can have passengers exit and they can be subjected to a protective search. The...Read more »
I was a passenger in a car I was helping transport back to Texas that I was legally borrowing to do repairs to. The driver (I just met) was hired by vehicle owner to help me make the trip, and unbeknownst to me in possession of meth and a R/X pill/s (of which we were both charged because it was... Read more »
A 17-year-old is old enough to consent for the purposes of Sexual Assault and Indecency but if the state was really aggressive the 21-year-old could still be charged and convicted for felony Sexual Performance of a Child under section 43.25 of the Texas Penal Code.
There was a police call made by someone where we were and It was a false report because of underlying family issues so when the police came they grabbed my boy friend and beat on him they also took my weapon because I say it on the ground just for my safety when they arrived my weapon is in my name... Read more »
First make a written demand to the Chief of Police or the Sheriff to return your weapon. Then you need to file suit for Conversion against the City/County and the Officer that took the firearm with a SOL of 3 years. All this costs money and time, and many firearms are not worth the trouble. There...Read more »
Got caught with residue of drugs but only used a meth tester on them n charged me with cocain heroin n meth charges out of know were n lied to make a deal to become a c.i but kept changen there anser when I ask about when I do the job for then what happens to me
1st degree) will I imediently be sentenced to jail (since I did assault someone), or will my lawyer and my prosecutors lawyer actualy argue and try to prove of disprove my selfdefense claim? And what if the prosecutor doesn't show up? Could I still go to jail?
No, it is not a crime of violence per 16-1-60. It is considered a non violent crime, and while it is classified as a misdemeanor it carries up to 3 years in prison. So any conviction, regardless of the imposes sentence could impact your federal rights to own and possess a firearm.
I did a motion to compel discovery and officers and district attorney faild to provide body cam footage which I believe would prove my innocence of felony charges due to the investigator failing to remember the firearms were in a locked safe with a pad lock on it which no one had a key to so... Read more »
I loaned my brother in law money to do yard work & he never showed up to do the work for months. I ran in to him a week ago and he told me to drop by his mothers house on saturday & he would be there to pay me. I stopped by and knocked on the door and he told me to go the f*** away. He then... Read more »
You should go take a criminal complaint against him for wanton endangerment fur trying to run you over. You. Can only be charged with criminal mischief at the most but I doubt it would stand up in the face of his wanton charge.
Read the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. You will find out why people hire attorneys to do that, drink lots of coffee first, they are a little dry. There is a TOC that should take you to the particular rule.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.