Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Connecticut DUI / DWI Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: What kind of charges do you get for a second dui?
Salvatore Bonanno
Salvatore Bonanno answered on Nov 23, 2018

You’re still charged with a dui; however, if you have a prior dui conviction, then the 2nd dui exposes you to 120-day mandatory minimum jail sentence and a felony conviction for the 2nd dui.

Hire an experienced attorney to get the best chance to avoid jail.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: Is there a requirement for jail time if you are convicted of a second DUI?
Jonathan Sills
Jonathan Sills answered on Jul 9, 2018

If you are convicted as a second offender, then there is a minimum mandatory 120 day jail sentence that must be imposed. The maximum jail sentence is two years. It is possible to have two DUI convictions and not be sentenced to jail time if the state does not file a Part B information charging you... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: if My friend who drove while drunk gets charged a DWI, would she be able to get it wiped off her record if it’s her 1st?

She did not hurt anyone but she crashed her car and just got brought to the hospital. She was contacted by an investigator who she thinks will arrest her for her offense. I’m just curious as to what will happen to her if she does face a DUI if it’s her first offense?

Douglas D. Rudolph
Douglas D. Rudolph answered on Mar 6, 2018

If this is your friend's first DUI, she may be eligible for a pre-trial diversionary program, in particular, the Alcohol Education Program (AEP). If the court grants her admission into the AEP (alcohol education classes and a victim impact panel) and she successfully completes it, the DUI will be... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: My ex-partner just got a 2nd DUI. His 1st was dismissed b/c he completed an AEP in June.Will that factor in the new one?
William Head
William Head answered on Sep 5, 2017

Yes. The new one will be treated as a second DUI

CALL a local DUI specialist, in or near that city or county court.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: I was arrested for dui on10/31/09 I was just arrested again for dui 9/2/16 will this count as my second in ct?
Paul Stanko
Paul Stanko answered on Sep 23, 2016

I am not licensed in Connecticut, so I cannot answer your question directly, but most states have a "look back" period in which a prior DUI conviction could result in more serious charges. You mention only an arrest, not a conviction. My suggestion is to contact a DUI attorney who practices in the... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: Was arrested for DUI pleaded guilty

I come to find out my lawer knew at the time of plea that there was no evidence ,{urine test had been lost} but he didn't tell me and allowed me to ple guilty anyways is there anything I can do now?

Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

You can complain. the case is over, the appeal period has run. The statute of limitation is probably two years but may still be in effect for up to three years in some cases for a suit for malpractice by your lawyer. You must act quickly as in January 2014 the three years expire as well.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: I am a connecticut resident, recently arrested for dwi in new york state. How does the out-of-state status factor in?
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

Under the interstate compact you are nailed in both with DMV consequences to your license based upon the conviction in addition to the criminal penalties imposed by the court.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: What are some of the consequences of evading responsibility with a DUI arrest
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

for the evading you will be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than six months or both. The DMV will also suspend your license for 90 days. The DUI is worse and, because of the evading, the state's attorney and/or judge may deny you the alcohol education program, and... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: Can you get a breathlizer in your car after your 3rd dui?
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

It is called an gnition interlock device. With three DUI's you can look forward to a VERY long Suspension then they will most certainly insist.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: My 16yo son just got a 30-89. Do I need a lawyer?

He was with 2 other boys and he was not drinking. They were also caught with pot, but my son did not have pot on him. I do not think my son was drinking. Can we pleed not guilty?

Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

absolutely, plead not guilty if he WAS not guilty. Conviction of Possession of alcohol in violation of C.G.S. 30-89 means the DMV must suspend the driver's license and can result in Very stiff insurance costs thereafter that will affect your family. Get him a lawyer.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: How much time will you serve for Manslaughter in the second degree with a motor vehicle while intoxicated 53a-56b*
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

Up to ten years in jail (2-4 is typical perhaps even minimal), and suspend your license for one year and require an approved ignition interlock device, as defined in section 14-227j, for a period of two years more.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: What is the penalty for violating ct. law 14-230 failure to drive on the right side of the road during a DUI accident.
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

14-230 is an infraction - a fine is applied. A DUI can have very serious consequences including jail so that is the one he should worry about

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: CT; Does a prior DWI conviction make me ineligible for the AEP even if it was more than ten yrs before a subsequent DWI?

I am being told by the Bail Commissioner's office that any prior DWI conviction, no matter how long ago makes me ineligible for the Alcohol Education Program. 54-56g doesn't seem to say that. Can you help? Thank you.

Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-56g provides for an alcohol education system wherein the court file is sealed if the person swears:

For a violation of Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-227a, the person has not had such a system invoked on his behalf within the preceding ten years for a violation of section...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Connecticut on
Q: How can I tell if I've been charged with a DUI? Spoke to police in hospital, admitted drinking, but was given nothing.

I expected a call or a court summons in the mail, but a lot of time has passed and I've received nothing from them. Did I just get lucky?

Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq
Joseph Bronson Barnes Esq answered on Nov 25, 2013

yo can go online at the judicial website to see if charges are pending. Did they take blood? if so it can take weeks to be processed at the state lab. Otherwise, you got lucky. ;-)

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.