Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Michigan DUI / DWI Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: I had 2 dui 6 months apart 11 years ago what do i need to do to get my license back in michigan

I did jail time and paid fines

Frank B. Ford
PREMIUM
Frank B. Ford
answered on Feb 16, 2018

To get your license back you will have to go through a demanding process. You must have long term abstinence from alcohol, and a commitment to lifetime abstinence. That means no drinking or illicit drugs, whatsoever. You must have letters of support from your friends and family that must include... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: My son is doing a 8 month stint in st clair county Jail for a DUI conviction the Judge agreed to allow him work release

to keep his job. Is there a way to get a temporary license to allow him to be able to go to and from his employment?

Frank B. Ford
PREMIUM
Frank B. Ford
answered on Feb 6, 2018

It depends on his driving record. If his license is revoked, which would be the case if he has had two convictions for drinking and driving in a seven year period, then his only options are: (1) to be in a sobriety court program, which it sounds like is out of the question, since he's been... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: I've been on drug court for 18 months had one slip-up was wondering can I get off early?

I've been sober from alcohol for 18 months and had one slip up with drugs six months ago she technically extended it another 6 months

Frank B. Ford
PREMIUM
Frank B. Ford
answered on Feb 2, 2018

Although it is possible that you might be released early, it is highly unlikely. Given the fact that you had a violation, they will probably want to keep you on the program to make sure you continue to progress. Sincerely, Frank B. Ford

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: When will I get a court date for my DWI?

Almost 2 months ago I got a DWI and was in jail overnight. My license was taken and I was given a paper permit I guess. It has my BAC level, the city i was in etc. but when I went to get a state ID I was told I would have to give up my license which I obviously no longer had. But instead I got a... Read more »

Adam Alexander
Adam Alexander
answered on Jan 4, 2018

What jurisdiction/court are you in? Some courts are slow to process tickets and charges. This appears to be the case here, but I suggest you contact a criminal defense attorney immediately to review your situation. A lawyer will get an update for you without adversely impacting the potential... Read more »

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: I've heard the expression dry reckless - what does that mean?
Brent T. Geers
Brent T. Geers
answered on Dec 29, 2017

In a nutshell, you can be charged with reckless driving without drinking.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: What kind of jail time is my husband looking at for a third time DUI?

It was several years between the second and the third.

Frank B. Ford
PREMIUM
Frank B. Ford
answered on Dec 1, 2017

If the case is charged as a felony, which it probably is if it's his third offense, and if that is what he is convicted of, then the minimum jail time is 30 days, and the maximum is 5 years in prison. There are Sentencing Guidelines that the court looks at in determining what is an... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: What does it take to get your license back in Michigan from a dui received over 10 years ago? Lawyer recommendation?

One that will work with me to get the job done and not charge $300 an hour, and Bill me for $7,000 for phone calls and research....but no license. Thank you.

Frank B. Ford
PREMIUM
Frank B. Ford
answered on Nov 17, 2017

To get your license back you will have to go through a demanding process. You must have long term abstinence from alcohol, and a commitment to lifetime abstinence. That means no drinking or illicit drugs, whatsoever. You must have letters of support from your friends and family that must include... Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: 4th DUI & driving on a suspended. Last DUI was 13yrs ago. What could I be looking at for jail time?

This happened in Gladwin county Michigan.

Adam Alexander
Adam Alexander
answered on Oct 25, 2017

The answer depends on many factors, including the BAC, prior driving record within the last 5 years, the propensities of the judge and prosecutor, and how good your lawyer is. I urge you to seek an experienced criminal defense lawyer who knows the courts in Gladwin County.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: I got a DUI charge for hitting a fire hydrant after taking cough syrup I didn't realize had codeine in it. I thought DUI

was for drunk drivers. Can I fight this?

Adam Alexander
Adam Alexander
answered on Oct 18, 2017

Codeine is a "controlled substance" under Michigan's statute. You need a good lawyer - this is a complex case. I urge you to contact a Michigan lawyer and provide ALL information and details about this incident. If you do not have a prior DUI or related charge, you will likely be... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: Someone I know got a DUI in Sarnia, Ontario, CAN but is a US citizen in Michigan. Any law advice for them?

The cop who booked him said if he has no intentions on ever coming back to Canada, he could just not show up to court for his hearing. With Ontario and Michigan having a reciprocity law, would the warrant there show up here? They impounded his car and took his license but was able to have someone... Read more »

Neil Colman
Neil Colman
answered on Oct 16, 2017

Have him hire a Canadian attorney right away. Don’t play games, as it can come back to haunt you. Your Michigan license and driving privileges will be affected.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: How long do DUI trials usually last in the Detroit metro area?
Brent T. Geers
Brent T. Geers
answered on Oct 1, 2017

Trials can run anywhere from 30 minutes to over the course of several days, depending on the evidence and testimony presented.

In a DUI matter, it could take just 30 minutes for police and Datamaster operator to come in a testify that you were driving with a BAC over 0.08, and that the...
Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: Can I claim I didn't know the law if I'm a resident of another state and am pulled over with a blood-alcohol level

that's above the legal limit in Michigan but which would've been legal in my own state?

Neil Colman
Neil Colman
answered on Sep 7, 2017

Absolutely not

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: Yes I'm going for sentcing for driving on dwls 2 and I cought another ticket and will the courts know about it at senten
Brent T. Geers
Brent T. Geers
answered on Aug 21, 2017

The court will know about it. It could mean that any plea deal you have goes out the window, allowing the judge to sentence you to whatever he or she wishes within the law. Obviously, you'll have this new charge to contend with as well.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: If I am not advised of my Miranda warning by the officer, can my case be dismissed?
William C. Head
PREMIUM
William C. Head
answered on Aug 17, 2017

Unless a State Legislature mandates that a Miranda warning be given, OWI-DUI-DWI cases do not require it. Two reasons: (1) until cuffed for drunk driving, the person is NOT under arrest. Therefore, all of that is the "investigation" stage. A person should DO NO FIELD TESTS, and REMAIN... Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: I recently pled guilty to impaired driving (in MI).

I've already been sentenced, and part of my probation is one AA or equivalent meeting a month, but I also have to get an alcohol assessment done at a local rehab center. Since I've already been sentenced, can the judge impose additional conditions of my probation? Say, if I... Read more »

William C. Head
PREMIUM
William C. Head
answered on Aug 14, 2017

Such a sentencing provision usually adds that you must follow any recommended treatment plan.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: Are there different degrees of severity in DUI crimes? If you hit someone with your car, that's a worse offense than

merely being caught driving under the influence, correct?

Adam Alexander
Adam Alexander
answered on Apr 28, 2017

The short answer is "YES". There are different degrees of severity. Some activity is worse statutorily (by law) and some activity is worse perception-wise, but may be just as damaging. Your activity during the entire event is important, as is the investigation by police. Michigan DUI... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: Trying to contact my sister-in-law

She was arrested Thursday in Traverse City for suspicion of drunk driving. She backed her car into a window at a Shell Gas station. No injuries. Her sisters are trying to contact her from different regions in the US, but with no luck. They have tried to cal the County Jail but there is a... Read more »

Paul Stanko
PREMIUM
Paul Stanko
answered on Sep 11, 2016

Contact a local attorney. The attorney will know who to contact.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: If my daughter starts DUI classes before sentencing will they count after sentencing? If they tell her to take them.

First offense. Her court appointed attorney said she should get in a class prior to sentencing. If she does this and after sentencing they assign a DUI classes will the classes prior to sentencing count? Thanks for your time

Jonathan Jones
PREMIUM
Jonathan Jones
answered on Oct 12, 2015

Yes, usually if the Judge has asked you to do this they will give you credit for doing so.

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: I got a dwi Have 2 prior in 2002,2004 why is suspension less this time
Tracy Torni Gaudenzi
Tracy Torni Gaudenzi
answered on Feb 18, 2014

It is unclear what your question is--what were your prior suspensions and/or charges?

1 Answer | Asked in DUI / DWI for Michigan on
Q: How much will a lawyer cost for a DUI?
Robert Keyes
Robert Keyes
answered on Dec 10, 2011

How much would you charge me to paint my house? I'd have to know a lot about your house. In the same way there is no answer to your question without knowing something about the specifics of a particular case. Having said that, attorney fees can range for less that $2,000 on up to $5,000 or $10,000.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.