New Jersey Traffic Tickets Questions & Answers

Q: Does running a red light in NJ (first offense) stay on your record? Will your insurance go up (Geico)?

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Jan 18, 2019
Leon Matchin's answer
Generally, insurance companies raise rates between $100 to $200 per point for three years and this is a two point offense. It stays on your record in perpetuity.

Q: Is there any points for ticket 39:3-76.2A In mew jercey?

3 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Jan 14, 2019
Stuart Nachbar's answer
This is not a point violation. This is a fine only, and ranges between 54 and 150 dollars

Q: Can my son go to jail for a violation of PTI?

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets, Criminal Law and Municipal Law for New Jersey on
Answered on Jan 10, 2019
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Yes it is possible he could go to jail, but much more information would be needed to assess what would happen in his case. I suggest you speak with the lawyer who handled his PTI CHARGE as he would know best, or setup a consultation with a new lawyer if you were not satisfied with your prior lawyer.

Q: I went to court in November 15 of 2018 for driving while suspended in Cherry Hill NJ I got the slap program for ten day

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Jan 8, 2019
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Each time you get pulled over for driving while suspended the judge will get tougher and tougher so what can you expect probably jail without slap.

Q: I am currently 17 and received a speeding ticket, my court date is after I turn 18 will it count on my GDL

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Jan 5, 2019
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Yes that is the key try to get your case adjourned until you don't have a gdl, best way is with a lawyer.

Q: Can I get a delay of traffic ticket if I have a flat tire?

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Jan 5, 2019
Leon Matchin's answer
The officer just needs probable cause which is basically suspicion that you delayed traffic to write you the ticket which is a low standard so far as the courts are concerned.

Q: If one person makes a left hand turn on to a street and someone behind them makes a left hand turn and follows them

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Jan 1, 2019
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
IN a perfect world it would be the same exact tickets, but this is not a perfect world and for example one person may have had a perfect record for the last twenty years to the cop may have given the other persona no point ticket where as the other person gets an improper turn ticket. In any event you need to worry about what you got not what the other person got if you need to get no points get yourself a good lawyer. Most of us traffic ticket lawyers offer a free in office consultation so...

Q: What can be done if i can prove that a cop issued me a fraudulent careless driving ticket ?

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets and Civil Litigation for New Jersey on
Answered on Dec 31, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
You need to go to court or call the court, plead not guilty and when you go to court ask for a trial. You can also hire a lawyer to do most of this for you, but you will still need to appear in court. FYI most people who come to my office feel that the tickets they received were an injustice, so your not alone.

Q: My mother received numerous tickets, can i, her daughter go to court for her?

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Dec 26, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Unfortunately if your ticket is in New Jersey she will need to go to court. You can go to court with her but you can't speak on her behalf. Only an attorney licensed in the state where the accident occurred can't talk on her behalf. This is a very serious offense and could lead to loss of her license for six months and at her advanced age even permanently with an MVC retest. I would suggest that you immediately hire her a good traffic ticket lawyer.

Q: So is this considered different than a ticket issued for not having registration or insurance on an out of state vehicle

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Dec 20, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
more information would be needed to properly answer your question you may want to repost your question with this additional information.

Q: Does New Jersey have a fix-it clause a police officer can use for minor violations?

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Dec 16, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Unfortunately no excuse exists for having ficticious plates on your car just like sorry officer I didn't see the speed limit sign doesn't work either when going 100 mph. Depending on the charges I would suggest that you hire a lawyer.

Q: What happens if I decide not to pay my parking ticket?

3 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Dec 11, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
That depends on what the judge wants to do. A warrant for your arrest could issue and your drivers license could be suspended as stated on most tickets. Thus don't take a chance and pay it.

Q: The information i found for my fiance is for the offense # 39:3-40. Then it says, Grade S. What does grade s mean??

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Dec 2, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Good question I never saw that before your best bet is to call the court.

Q: What's the chance I'll go to jail if I am charged with 2C : 18-2A (1) and 2C : 17-3A (1)

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Nov 24, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Everything depends on what you did and your prior criminal record. First time offender programs exist which can definitely help you avoid jail, BUT the prosecutor can deny entry in to them and Burglary one of the crimes you are charged with is a common crime to be denied entry into PTI for. Get yourself a good lawyer and you always have the best chance of avoiding jail. Most of us criminal lawyers offer a free in office consultation, I suggest you set one up ASAP.

Q: is a car considered abandoned is you park your car because of a Snow emergency

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Nov 17, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
You're not allowed to park your car on someone else's property unless you have been given permission. So yes you can definitely be charged with that offense.

Q: How is jurisdiction established when it's questioned? Can I be forced into a contract of another's making?

1 Answer | Asked in Contracts, Traffic Tickets and Constitutional Law for New Jersey on
Answered on Nov 16, 2018
Leon Matchin's answer
it's in the beginning of the new jersey court rules. you can easily look them up online.

Q: my 17 year old son has a probationary license he was pulled over and recieved 3 tickets

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Nov 14, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
The options are always the same:

1) go to court and plead guilty

2) go to court yourself and probably be found guilty

3) hire a lawyer to go with your son in court and hope that one or more of the tickets can get dismissed. Even for a lawyer having a probationary drivers is always a tough sell to a judge to get them to dismiss a ticket.

Q: My 17 year old son got 3 tickets on a probationary license

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Nov 14, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Definitely hire a lawyer for him he is looking at losing his license and points. Although a 17 year old can't get a no point ticket a lawyer can still help.

Q: I got a ticket for unsafe driving, first offense, and received points on my license...is that correct?

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Nov 11, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
1) Don't believe anything you read online, unless you also read the disclaimer on the website.

2) It generally does not have points but certain class of drivers may get points such as a person who is 16 or 17 they are not allowed to get a no point ticket so it could carry points for them.

3) Insurance points can be assessed for even no point MVC offenses

Q: I have multiple driving on suspended charges, I was approved by 2 towns for weekend jail day reporting but I missed.

2 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets for New Jersey on
Answered on Nov 9, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
Sounds like you may be stuck but you should ask your lawyer as he will be able to give you the best answer.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.