I was stopped 2 days after I purchased a vehicle the office pulled me out of the truck preformed DUI test said I failed but I was sober . Lied on report said midnight and it was noon when stop occured . His testimony should be invalid even if I had a small but detected amount of controlled... View More
If you were sober, the drug test will most likely be the single strongest piece of evidence that determines your guilt or innocence. If you had a small amount of a controlled substance, the "driving facts" will also play an important part in determining your guilt or innocence. A small...View More
The law in Wisconsin does state that if you have a previous first offense DUI that was more than 10 years ago and you now have another first offense, you are required to have the ignition interlock device installed. In practical terms, if the information sent in to the Department of Transportation...View More
The Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles will not allow an Ignition Interlock Device to be removed early. Based on your driving record and the time period imposed by the Court, the DMV will enforce and monitor the time period you are required to have the device in your vehicle and the time period...View More
It is likely, but more information is needed, but you should probably work with a competent immigration and visa attorney in case there are discretionary issues that create confusion for you. There may be more than one option.
If the questions are improperly answered, and that is not...View More
He was arrested in Wisconsin in 2012 for 7th offense OWI, (class "G" Felony). However, It is my understanding that in 2016, the penalties pertaining to this type of offense in Wisconsin became more severe, and now are designated class "F". There is an upcoming hearing but he has... View More
The applicable range of penalty for an offense is determined by the violation date, not the conviction date. The arrest record correctly shows a Class G Felony, punishable by a fine not to exceed $25,000 or Imprisonment not to exceed 10 years, or both. Section 939.50(3)(g). The initial confinement...View More
so I got my license revoked in Wisconsin because of a dui 2 years ago, I'm eligible for reinstatement starting tomorrow. I'm also moving to Illinois in 4 days, do I still have to pay reinstatement in Wisconsin, or can I just get my license in Illinois?
Section 343.38(1) of the Wisconsin Statutes requires you to comply with the reinstatement requirements, including paying a $200 reinstatement fee. The court ordered that the DMV revoke your operating privilege for 2 years, but this does not mean your privilege to drive is automatically reinstated....View More
The revocation will depend specifically on how you were charged. There are mitigating penalties if you are charged with an “underage” OWI as opposed to an “adult” OWI, for lack of better terms. You should call an attorney. Have your citation available. I do provide free consultations, if...View More
I was recently stopped on a traffic stop during the stop they ran my name and found I was driving on a revoked drivers license. I have tried countless times to get my license back from the state of Illinois after my first OWI. Now I am facing a 3rd charge and really need a lawyer that can help me... View More
You will need an attorney who can help you navigate Illinois separate from your new charges in Wisconsin. My office would be happy to provide a consultation for the Wisconsin charges. We have an attorney we can refer you to to consult in illinois that also practices in DUI matters and working with...View More
I was a MI resident and got a DUI in a neighboring WI town in 2011. My license was revoked and then I had interlocking ignition installed with a restricted license. I got my MI license fully reinstated. Now 8 years later moved to WI and they want me to put interlocking ignition on my car for... View More
There are steps you must take to satisfy the requirements Wisconsin imposed at the time of the conviction. I would need further information regarding the length of time Wisconsin ordered the Ignition Interlock Device to be installed vs how long Michigan required the device on your vehicle to...View More
I was sentanced to a month in jail for an OWI. when I reported to the jail to check myself in, they took my ID and had me fill out paperwork on my health. I turned in the paperwork n waited in the lobby for 2 hours. They never cuffed me, and were closing so I left. I checked the jail roster... View More
You have to do the jail time or use up credit if you were in jail before bailed out. Contact the jailer immediately. Do not assume you have done the time. You can face additional charges if you make a mistake or assumption here. See a lawyer if need be, NOW.
I haven’t received a BAC ticket, I took a blood test and breathe test. I was never told my results. Nothing shows up on CCAP and I haven’t received anything about a license suspension from the DMV. This was in Wisconsin and is my 2nd
You should get a 30 day notice (you could answer in 10/13 days from date of notice) re the DMV. The BAC ticket will be filed or amended to the OWI criminal complaint. Results will be on the probable cause part of the criminal complaint
The warrants are in Racine and Milwaukee. I was going to go to intake court in Milwaukee and they informed that they would hold me for the warrant in Racine and if I tried to go in for the one in Racine first that they would hold me for the one In Milwaukee. I'm trying to avoid being processed... View More
Any time a court sets a deadline, it is important to meet it. If you simply cannot due to circumstances beyond your control, you should contact the court immediately and ask for an extension. Failure to do so will have dire consequences.
I received two underage drinking tickets and a DUI (stupid mistakes all over 5 years ago.) so I'm wondering when it asked if you've been convicted of a crime more than 3 times related to alcohol on the application would I need to disclose all of this. And would this cause issues/refusal?... View More
Your question needs more detail. Was the DUI in Wisconsin? Generally, the OWI 1st is not a misdemeanor, although depending on the severity of the crime this may not be the case. Tickets are generally municipal forfeitures and not criminal convictions. If you are unsure on the results of your...View More
It is legal, but the law states alcohol can only be consumed on private, non alcohol-selling premises, with parental consent. Some examples of locations would be a private home, private office, or private property with the consent of a parent.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.