Why did t the police do this on the date of the "DUI"? I wasn't even given a court date. Just a impounded vehicle and this paper that says my dui charges and that I have to show up on a wed. at least 10 days from date of ticket to get thos done. No court date. They couldn't... Read more »
I was scratching a lottery ticket and I didn't think I was sleeping but the cop said he was standing there for "5 mins" I was arrested and charged with 2 DUI's. Blew 0.00 blood could not be drawn and urine sample was taken. I told the officer that my pee would not be clean but I... Read more »
You should contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Peoria often draws blood so it is curious as you post blood could not be drawn. A urine test may have issues with the results. There also may be an issue as to driving or actual physical control. You should avoid posting any...Read more »
If by unsettled DUI in Florida you mean you have an active warrant for your arrest to appear in Florida, you'll need to quash the warrant and remove the hold on your license there before Arizona will issue a license. You should contact an attorney licensed in Florida to address the Florida DUI.
The length of time both since the date of arrest and date of sentencing can both be used as factors for considering a set aside. Although it depends on the judge, even more important is usually the length of time since completing the sentence. This is also a specific factor to be considered under...Read more »
I failed due to not walking straight said officer but had foot surgery while back so hard to put full pressure on it. I plead the 5th after that and was arrested. The other officer searched my car without my permission and found a pipe what do I do
There are no guarantees as to what will increase or decrease jail time. Arguments to "aggravate" or "mitigate" a sentence can be made by the defense attorney and the prosecutor, and the judge will ultimately make the decision. If your defense attorney can successfully show...Read more »
At an Early Disposition Court session, you as a defendant will be arraigned, and a plea agreement will be offered by the County Attorney. If you accept the plea agreement, sentencing will occur that day or at an EDC session. If you do not accept the offered plea agreement, you will be allowed time...Read more »
For the purposes of a DMV hearing to determine if my BAC was 0.080 or greater, my two readings (Intoxilyzer 8000) were 0.080 (equal to) and 0.077 (less than). Is the administrative judge required to use the lower, average or higher value in that determination?
The Administrative Law Judge is not required to go with the lower or higher BAC only, as they will take both into consideration. I do not know the specifics of your case and recommend you contact me directly if you want more help at 602-900-6642.
In most MVD hearings the judge is looking...Read more »
If his previous DUI was within 7 years, he will considered a second time offender. This changes the amount of jail time (minimum of 120 days) he faces, the fines, and other sanctions. If he received the second DUI while he was required to have an interlock or he did not have a license, he will...Read more »
Your friend needs a criminal defense attorney, but none of them saw your post under DUI or Insurance Defense. Maybe in the interest of time, instead of reposting, you could just reach out to criminal defense attorneys you see on this site or through your own searches. Based on your description of...Read more »
If she was charged with a misdemeanor Extreme DUI, she is facing 30 days - 6 months in jail, up to 5 years of probation, and a substantial amount of fines/fees along with other consequences such as loss of license, SR22 insurance, etc. She needs the assistance of an experienced DUI attorney. Most...Read more »
I did not receive an "Admin Per Se/Implied Consent Affidavit" when cited (BAL 0.07) so my license was returned to me. Will my license only be suspended if found guilty of the above charge or will it be automatically suspended at some future date?
If you are found guilty of DUI impaired to the slightest degree you will get a 90 day license suspension + a 1 year interlock requirement by MVD. The suspension will happen after you are found guilty of DUI on your court case because MVD will receive an abstract from the Court saying you were...Read more »
My daughter caused an accident while driving with a BAC over .15 and had a child in the car at the time. She is being charged with 4 different counts of Aggravated DUI Felony 6. How much jail time is she looking at here?
Hello and thanks for the question. Unfortunately, it is impossible to give a precise answer without more information. To get the best answer, we will need to know about her criminal history. If she has no prior felony convictions of any kind, in any state, the minimum jail term is 10 days. If...Read more »
There was likely a medical blood draw that was used by police to determine the presence of alcohol and/or drugs. Normally a single vehicle collision on its own will not be sufficient to be allege the DUI as aggravated so more information would be needed. The best advice I can give is to consult a...Read more »
Hello. You will need to contact an attorney in the city/town/county were the conduct occurred. Attorneys can only represent people in a State where they are licensed to practice law so it is unlikely you will be able to hire a local Phoenix attorney that is also licensed in New Mexico. You may be...Read more »
As he started driving he smoked a cig and then it made it worse, he couldn’t feel anything, could barley move, he put on his hazards and pulled over. He fell out his car and realized he couldn’t walk. He called a ambulance. At the hospital they found that the coke he tried was laced with... Read more »
So basically I got into a car accident recently around 11 pm at night and the officers said I passed all field sobriety but because I told them I smoked marijuana at 7:30 am they are trying to charge me with a DUI. Now what I’m worried about is I am a marijuana smoker and I know it’s going to... Read more »
Hello. I am sorry to hear about this encounter. It is very important that you contact an attorney. Even if you passed the sobriety test and were technically not "impaired" if the Blood Calibration results yield any traces of THC or any other metabolites then the State can charge you with...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.