In Utah, a DUI charge and a car accident involving personal injury are typically treated as separate legal matters. The DUI charge primarily focuses on factors like blood alcohol content (BAC) and impairment, and the presence of an accident alone may not necessarily enhance the DUI charge itself....View More
Yes, when you get a DUI it starts an automatic driver license suspension in 45 days. You can request a hearing to try and stop it. You only have 10 days from the date of DUI to request the hearing from the DLD. You should consult an experienced DUI attorney for help. DUIs are complicated and have...View More
Our lots are owned by the people not rented. He sped up im already around the corner and pulled up to my house. Flips his lights. He asks for my info and pulled me out of my truck. Doesnt say or ask anything takes his dog and goes right in my truck. Can he do that? Im asking him hey where is your... View More
You need to contact an attorney to review and assist you in your case. You need an attorney. Do not speak to anyone about the case and consult with an attorney. Based of what you're saying there are likely many issues with the officers conduct, but until an attorney looks at all the police...View More
No, the host does not forfeit their rights, but exercising those rights would likely send the prohibited person to prison. The prohibited person has lost the right to live with someone whose rights have not been limited without inconveniencing that person with having to live AS IF they had also...View More
I was ordered to do drug and alcohol assessment, but since then my life has been turned upside down and I ended up moving out of state. I never went to the assessment and they are trying to get in touch with me. I don’t know quite what to do
I didn’t live in Utah so I never went to court. There is no warrant out for my arrest but when I called to pay my fines to get my license reinstated they told me I need to go to court. If I go to court would I be convicted or just have to pay a huge fine for not going to my court date when I was... View More
Results should be suppressed. You have won the lottery! Has to prosecutor offered a plea deal yet? Don't expect your case to be dismissed, mind you, but the state now has a much harder than ahead of them.
I’m not healed from my back surgery and can’t sleep on concrete, will he send me if I crashed my car but did not harm anybody and I also did not wreck into any other vehicles. This is also my first offense
Well, if you owe them the money for the damage you caused, it seems that they simply applied "self-help," and got the money back from you quickly through your check. I don't know that there is any legal action you can bring to recover the money, unless you truly don't owe the...View More
A family member was arrested for intoxication over the weekend. They are still on bench probation for a prior incident and no one in the family would bail them out, for good reason. Just curious if the bond being cleared by judicial sentencing/order means that they will be doing more time since it... View More
I would need more detail to answer this question. The court can issue a own recognizance release, and there may be something else holding him. I would think that since the case is new that they are still compiling paperwork. Call a good lawyer to look it up.
I had a DUI a little more than 10 months ago. Court is asking for proof of complition, although therapist wont until my insurance claim goes through. The court is thretening a bench warrant if not provided within a day or two. Is this considered contempt?
You need to hire a lawyer to help you with this. The fact that it happened so long ago might be used to your advantage. But a DUI case is too complex to handle alone. Consult with a good criminal defense attorney as soon as you can!
Your question cannot be answered with a simple yes or no. If this is your first DUI offense within the past 10 years, and if your license was suspended for 120 days (a per se suspension), then if your DUI charge is dismissed in the criminal court, then the Driver License Division should reinstate...View More
Months before moving from CA to Utah I was charged with my second DUI (got it taken care of before moving) and as you already know that my license was suspended for up to 2 years. Now it is close to being 2 years and I need to know if there is more information than what I already know about getting... View More
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.