She's a newb mother she barely know about been a mon and she's scared because she has noone to help her in there or to show her few tricks for the baby not to cry. She's scared because sometimes the baby cry's and she does everything that was teached to her but he doesn't... Read more »
My ex wife has filed multiple false allegations against me since 2014, dcf cases, injunctions, and trying to modify child arrangements. Each report says something different, and none of them have gone in her favor meaning I have been lucky enough for a judge not to believe her. This time she is... Read more »
1. The first line of defense I see is for you to go back to the same court that granted your divorce and file a motion to reopen the cases and also file a motion for contempt--citing all of the reasons you gave us here.
2. The second line of defense is to hire a very experienced trial...Read more »
My ex petitioned the court for time sharing at the end of Jan/Feb 2020 (to avoid child support in my opinion) in March of 2020 my husband and I petitioned the court for TPR and Step Parent adoption (Ex hasn’t seen child in 5 years and the child is 6yrs old) In Aug 2020 our petition was granted... Read more »
If the TPR and adoption have already been granted then you need to provide that final order to the court that is addressing the timesharing issue. You should speak with a local family lawyer to make sure that it is handled properly.
The question I ask back is - when are you going to turn 18? You can hire someone to file a petition for emancipation so that you can emancipate and live on your own as a minor --- if you meet all of the requirements of the law. However, the process is not a quick one. So, if you are going to turn...Read more »
You do not mention what the current legal status is. If you were never married then you either need to file an action for paternity or if that was done in the past then a petition for modification of timesharing. Florida recognizes timesharing so one way or another you are going to share the child...Read more »
If the children have been out of Florida for less than six months, you would sue in Florida for custody. It is unclear what in-laws took them to Tennessee and are trying to adopt them; the parents of the children's other parent?
As much as I feel saddened by your current situation, having worked as a supervising lawyer for Florida Department of Children & Families--longer than I wanted to--I feel compelled to point out that DCF does NOT EVER upset any families in the manner described by you for NO reason. Hire a Family...Read more »
You need to file a response to the motion and make sure that the court has your most up-to-date contact information so that you will be noticed if there is a hearing on her motion. Just because she said it in a motion doesn't make it true, but if the court thinks there's an emergency they...Read more »
We recently took in our nephew and he has been with us for about 3 months now. His grandmother has custody and has given us permission to take him. He would like to make it more permanent but is afraid his grams will reject the idea. What should we do?
I am assuming that you are asking about Florida law. You do not say whether you moved with the child. If the child and other parent are in Florida then you need to file a Petition for Modification. In that document you can ask for time that works long distance. By the way, as long as you did not...Read more »
Currently living in Florida. My ex-wife has custody of my 17-year-old son. I have him every other weekend and for several weeks in the summer. With his mother’s permission, this summer I am taking him to Washington State to build a house. I will be getting married and moving there. Before he... Read more »
Me. I told DCF that wife me and son were at her house. Not allowed. DCF don't believe me and took my visits due to injunction. I have gps location history that will match up with days foster mom brought son to wife. This will prove wife is lieng on injunction for retaliation because DCF... Read more »
What would the charge be, failure to register a firearm? To my knowledge, Florida doesn't require registration, the boyfriend could be charged with being a felon in possession, but I don't think there is any charge she could "take".
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.