Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Rhode Island Criminal Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Federal Crimes for Rhode Island on
Q: If someone charges a person with first degree robbery but drops charges and doesn’t show to court what happens?
Allison Abilheira
Allison Abilheira
answered on Mar 21, 2018

A person can’t charge you with first degree robbery, it would be the state or federal government to pursue these criminal charges. Therefore, the actual person who alleged the theft occurred is likely not required to go to court unless the case is scheduled for trial and they need to testify.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: In Ri is it illegal to ride with one headlight out but have both fog lights on meaning I have three lights on

I was pulled over in East Providence because apparently I had one head light out but I had both of my dog lights on so I had three working lights was that a reason to pull me over and give me a ticket or can I legally ride around like that?

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Feb 17, 2018

RI Gen L § 31-24-4 (2012)

§ 31-24-4 Head lamps on vehicles other than cycles. – Every motor vehicle other than a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle shall be equipped with at least two (2) head lamps with at least one on each side of the front of the motor vehicle, and the head lamps shall...
Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: If im charged with a misdemeanor but the plaintiff is pushing for a felony. What would happen if i pleaded nolo?

What would happen if i pleaded nolo before the misdemeanor becomes a felony but is still at the misdemeanor status?

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jan 29, 2018

Great question for the attorney representing you, who shall have all the details at their fingertips.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: How to get a lawyer for my friend who was arrested and prisoner. He is sex offender II and wrote a black Mail.

How to get a lawyer when he has not family and lost house, job ..

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jan 29, 2018

Your friend will likely be assigned an Attorney from the Public Defender's office.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Family Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Where can I find official documentation on UGTMA accounts in RI and rules around use of the money?

And consequences for not using the money for the benefit of the child.

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jan 29, 2018

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE18/18-7/INDEX.HTM

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: How you can help a child in danger by her own dad

Her dad in jail but coming out next month. for in danger in another child I found out his own daughter is in danger also for the past 10 yrs

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jan 15, 2018

Consult with an attorney familiar with domestic violence cases and explore your options.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law and Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Can a 25 year old talk to/date a 15 year old
Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jan 11, 2018

Talking is OK. Dating is a different matter.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Im a minor and I was sentenced by family court can I get out of the sentence early

I was ordered to 40 hours of community service and take a driver retraining class and probation till 19 and ordered not to get my license till 19 and I have fulfilled all of the orders and im still on probation and i turn 18 next month

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Nov 20, 2017

Talk to your attorney about applying for a provisional license.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: is it impossible to expunge my record in rhode island?

1 felony conviction and 1 misdemeanor conviction. the judge already denied my 2006 misdemeanor expungement under not eligible. my felony from 2003 isnt expungement ready until 2023. will i ever be able to clean my record for employment and housing reasons? I know i am a good person and I have been... Read more »

Allison Abilheira
Allison Abilheira
answered on Nov 10, 2017

Under the current Rhode Island expungement laws, no, you cannot expunge either of the cases. In order to expunge a felony, you must be a "first time offender" which means that you can not have another other cases that resulted in probation, a suspended sentence, etc. You must also wait... Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Sexual Harassment, Criminal Law and Personal Injury for Rhode Island on
Q: I am 17 but i was 16 at the time i got raped by a 20 year old man who was my boyfriend

i do not know if i want to persue a case yet but i want to know if i can do it when im 18 so my parents will not get involved i do have text message evidence that i did say no and i live in rhode island

Peter N. Munsing
Peter N. Munsing
answered on Nov 6, 2017

1) you were raped. It's a crime. You should really report that to the police.

2) you may file a civil suit but if the rapist has no money there isn't a civil case that can be brought that won't cost you more.

3) consult a member of the RI assn for justice to discuss...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Hi, is it possible to press criminal charges for DV against my husband whom I no longer live with, but who

repeatedly sabotaged my recovery from a traumatic brain injury that he indirectly caused? A week after the injury, he threw me on the bed and screamed in my ear twice. He fought with me the day of the injury and locked me in a car for 4 hours the following day. This type of thing happened over... Read more »

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Sep 6, 2017

Talk to the attorney you retained to assist you with your divorce. If you did not engage an attorney to assist you, you may encounter some challenges navigating the process. The possible criminal case will require a careful investigation to evaluate your evidence and testimony and any possible... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: If 2 people allege they were assaulted by each other who gets arrested

Non domestic.

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Aug 28, 2017

Whomever the police decide to arrest will get arrested. Then the lawyers and Judge will help sort it out.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: My ex posted explicit photos of me online without my consent. Can I report him for any revenge porn crimes?
Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Aug 4, 2017

Likely yes. You may want notify the site where they are hosted as well.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: What can a person be charged with for having sex in a car in a public park in Rhode Island?

I should add that I am referring to 2 consenting adults.

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Aug 4, 2017

§ 180-1 Disturbing the peace.

Every person who shall revel, commit any nuisance or mischief, quarrel or otherwise behave in an indecent or disorderly manner in any of the public buildings or places to which the public is admitted, halls, railroad stations, places of amusement, churches,...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Family Law for Rhode Island on
Q: My boyfriend and his wife split about a a week ago. No court orders. Can he go take his son if she refuses to let him.
Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jul 2, 2017

Your boyfriend should meet with, consult, and retain, an attorney. You should have minimum involvement, despite your wishes to assist him in his divorce, parenting time, and other issues that shall likely have to be resolved.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: in school a kid threw food at me hard point blank is that assault

I was sitting in the cafeteria and a kid who has been harassing me for some time now sat across from me and started throwing food from his lunch at me point blank and hard

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jun 25, 2017

Talk to the administrators. They should have procedure for dealing with this.

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Rights and Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Can i file a police report on a person who makes me want to commit suicide

I was wondering if i can file a report on a girl that bullies me and made me have suicidal thoughts.

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jun 25, 2017

A civil restraining order is something you might also consider.

1 Answer | Asked in Small Claims, Criminal Law and Employment Law for Rhode Island on
Q: At what point is this harassment?

I was told by a police officer yesterday to not speak with my roommate/co-worker and to get a restraining order on her because I had to write two police reports on her yesterday. Word got around work that I was going to get one and now she is having my other co-workers come to my desk and taunt me,... Read more »

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jun 25, 2017

For your own peace of mind, you might be looking for a new live/work situation. A restraining order will likely necessitate exceptions to allow for incidental contact at work/home and may be of little help to you.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Can you get in trouble for calling someone pretending to be a cop in RI
Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jun 25, 2017

Yes, this crime is called IMPERSONATION of a public officer

TITLE 11

Criminal Offenses

CHAPTER 11-14

False Personation

SECTION 11-14-1

§ 11-14-1 Impersonation of public officer.

Every person who shall falsely assume or pretend to be a judge,...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Do I have claim/legal recourse against state for theft of personal belongings?

A stupid act in 2011 led to an overnight in the ACI prior to court. As part of their committing procedure, all my jewelry ( retail value at the time approx. 30k) & belongings were put into an 8 x 11 mailer to which I affixed my name an address. This was put into a box to be picked up by a mail... Read more »

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford
answered on Jun 25, 2017

It's not likely you will be able to have a good chance for recourse six years after the fact.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.