Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Rhode Island Criminal Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Car Accidents and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Q: I am a 17 year old with a provisional license that is being convicted of a hit and run of an unattended vehicle.

I want to know what would happen because I was never aware of hitting that vehicle. I do remember driving that street that was very loud, narrow and full of wrongly parked cars everywhere

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on Feb 17, 2020

Talk to your lawyer about making restitution and negotiating a more palatable resolution. Not remembering is likely not your best defense, especially if there is a credible witness who does. Hitting parked cars is not generally excused, even when they are "wrongly parked"

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Rights, Landlord - Tenant and Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Can I put my boyfriend on the lease for low income housing if we have a NCO? Will the landlord for low income find out?

So the police put a NCO on him because he hit me and now he has a felony. Now we are getting along and he is helping out with my kids. I got accepted into housing and want to add him on my lease so I don’t get in trouble when he’s there all the time. The landlord for low income housing needs... Read more »

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on Jan 22, 2020

You may want to go to the court to explain to the judge that you wish to have the NCO dropped to enable you to enjoy cohabitation and co-parent. If you just really need help with the kids and you are, in fact still in fear of imminent harm that supports a NCO, then you should probably seek the... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence and Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Domestic violence

So I was 8 months pregnant when my boyfriend hit me because we had just broke up. He made me so emotional because I was at the end of my pregnancy and he left me for someone else. But after he hit me I called the cops and they arrived 5 minutes later. But he was not at the scene. The police decided... Read more »

Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Jan 21, 2020

Don’t lie for him. The felony on his record is not your fault. It’s not your job to ‘get it off his record.’ You could benefit from some private legal consultation. Even if you are now on good terms, there is no real excuse for striking a woman, much less one who is 8 months pregnant.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: If a victim in a Domestic violence does not follow up with the complaint. Can the State presume with the charges.

The victim in this case does not want to proceed with the charges filed in this complaint. It is a third offense Domestic. She just wants the case to end and resolve her issues with her husband. She does not want anything done to her husband. They are charging him with 3rd offense Domestic. He has... Read more »

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on Dec 12, 2019

tHEy should 1) Retain legal counsel, 2) Stop whatever behavior has caused law enforcement to charge (and convict) tHEm of domestic violence. 3) Hire a lawyer, 4) speak only to that lawyer(Not on any open internet question board) to protect his 5th amendment rights. The victim may also want to... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Small Claims for Rhode Island on
Q: My now ex girlfriend is refusing to give me my paychecks that were set up to be direct deposited into her account.

She is saying because I owe her money, which I admit I do. However we made an aggreement of $300/month towards what I owe her. Now she wont give me any of my checks. What can I do?

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on Oct 23, 2019

Locate the signed copy of the agreement you wrote for the $300 a month repayment of the loan.

File it with your case in the small claims court, IF the total amount is less than $2500

see:...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Q: I have a friend who was 16 years old when he got a 14 year old pregnant. Can he get in trouble now that he’s an adult?

No statue of limitations and it’s been 4 years 5 months

Gary Kollin
Gary Kollin answered on Oct 9, 2019

Depends on the statute of limitations and how much time has passed

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law and Civil Rights for Rhode Island on
Q: Is it okay for my 14 yr old to be walking around at 10pm in Cranston ri
Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on Sep 16, 2019

Assuming you are the parent, and you have given your child permission to walk (to unknown destination? Friends house - ? Food Hut? Dunkin? ), then it should be OK. If you have not given your child permission and they are Walking (running away), call the police. Some parts of Cranston are more... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: I have a case that was dismissed for lack of prosecution and then out if the blue it was filed again. What can I do ?

Is there a Ruke I can file under motion to stay the first dismissal as the case was charged as a felony and it should have been civil as their was no criminal intent.

Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Sep 10, 2019

Yes, in many cases you can be charged again after the original complaint was dismissed. As long as the statute of limitations has not run, the charges can be brought again. You should hire an experienced lawyer to respond and defend you. Good luck.

2 Answers | Asked in Contracts, Landlord - Tenant, Criminal Law and Domestic Violence for Rhode Island on
Q: My bf isn’t on my lease but just wants me to write in his name? Will they contact the landlord?

My bf is being charged with B&E after a dumb argument we had in my apartment. He isn’t technically on my lease, but he does pretty much live with me. He is asking me to write in his name on the lease I do have, without telling the landlord. Is this illegal? If I do do this( will they contact my... Read more »

Gary Kollin
Gary Kollin answered on Sep 4, 2019

You wrote further detail on AVVO. You could subject yourself to possible prosecution.

The phone calls from the jail may be recorded

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Contracts, Criminal Law, Domestic Violence and Federal Crimes for Rhode Island on
Q: Can my boyfriend be charged with B&E if he is on my lease?

I had a bad argument with my boyfriend while drunk one night, which resulted in me telling him to leave and calling the police. He has been charged with B&E, however he is on my rental lease. He can not afford a lawyer at this time, so he has decided to go with a public defender. He had court... Read more »

Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Sep 3, 2019

Cooperate with the attorney. Public defenders do a terrific job, and should follow through with their own investigation. The Rhode Island public defender has its own investigators. You can also communicate to the Attorney General that you do not wish to go forward with any complaint against your... Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: In RI what does 48a dismissal filed mean?
Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Aug 6, 2019

It means that the charge lodged against the defendant has been dismissed. "48a" is a reference to the Rule of Criminal Procedure that deals with dismissal of charges. Hope this answer is helpful to you.

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law, Civil Rights, Gov & Administrative Law and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Q: The court placed a restraining order against my boyfriend and I because we're 17 and 34 but he has committed no crime
Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Aug 5, 2019

I don't see a question here. However, you are a minor, and if you are living at home, your parents are going to have a say as to who can come to their house. And while I understand that affairs of the heart can cause people to do and say many things, a judge is going to be very skeptical about a... Read more »

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Can a officer place me under arrest because my friend is recording them?
Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Jul 31, 2019

An officer can place you under arrest if he/she/they has probable cause to believe that you committed a crime, or if there is a warrant for your arrest. Whether that arrest is legally supportable depends on the specific facts of the case. What you have described does not sound like a basis for... Read more »

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Family Law for Rhode Island on
Q: My ex was emotionally abusive. I am being treated for PTSD, Depression and Anxiety. Can I sue for emotional damage?

It is 12 years later, he threatened me into selling my own house to get the equity, he broke into my house and yelled at me to sell it. He has alienated my three children from me, I sold the house, he didn't like the amount I was getting, he filed a restraining order against the sale. I couldn't... Read more »

Gary Kollin
Gary Kollin answered on Jul 24, 2019

I doubt any attorney would take this case on a contingency fee basis.

Also what is the likelihood of recovering money should you get a judgment?

Those are my observations

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: In RI, what are the possible punishments being faced for domestic felony assault and domestic disorderly conduct?
Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Jul 3, 2019

Domestic felony assault is punishable by up to 20 years if there is serious bodily injury. For assault that doesn’t qualify for serious bodily injury, the penalty is up to six years. Disorderly conduct is a misdemeanor, typically punishable by no more than one year in jail. There are many... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Someone recorded without my knowledge a conversation we were having showing it to my manager can I pursue legal action?

The man recorded through secret video me and his conversation about another employee failing to perform his duties in which i used profane language and then sent it to my boss unprompted simply to hurt my chances of raise or promotion.

Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Jun 1, 2019

Rhode Island is a one party consent state. That means if one party consents to a recording, it’s legal. So the person who recorded you has not violated your rights. There may be some other behavior on his/her part that may give rise to a claim, but more information is needed.

You have...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Q: What can I do if a search & seizure warrant was returned 22 days after it was executed? In RI should be returned in 14.
Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on May 14, 2019

Your attorney should be able to explain the impact of this http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE12/12-5/12-5-3.HTM

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Traffic Tickets for Rhode Island on
Q: On a residential road can a police officer give you a ticket for Reasonable and prudent speed?
Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Apr 15, 2019

Yes. The law requires you to keep reasonable and prudent speed all the time. Of course, whether you ultimately kept a reasonable speed is up to a judge. So while the officer can issue the citation, you can contest it.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Domestic Violence for Rhode Island on
Q: What are my rights for getting help to relocate die to my son's father attacking me in my home and as result I have been

Put on a DV safe house with my son how can I get help to get another apartment since the attack happens at old one

Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on Mar 27, 2019

Work with you advocates at the DV safe house to continue your safety plan. Work with your attorney to establish sole custody to enable you to relocate.

3 Answers | Asked in Contracts, Criminal Law, Products Liability and Small Claims for Rhode Island on
Q: hello i have lost an $2200 camera that i rented whats going to happen to me ?
Thomas Briody
Thomas Briody answered on Feb 13, 2019

If you truly lost the item, then you have most likely not committed a crime. However, you are responsible for the loss, and you will have to reimburse the person who loaned you the camera. That means you are most likely going to have to pay the value of the camera back.

View More Answers

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.