Neville Bedford's answer They will be best advised to be talking to their lawyer in private about the surrounding circumstances when the §31-27-9 was taken, by which mode, and under what authority as part of their confidential defense strategy. If the §31-27-9 resulted in evidence of a crime, they could be liable for all of the penalties enumerated for that particular crime.
31-27-9 http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE31/31-27/31-27-2.9.HTM It's only a test.
Allison Abilheira's answer You will have to go to whatever court originally handled the ticket- either the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal or the Municipal Court for the city/town who issued the ticket. Once you pay the ticket, you will then need to go to the DMV to pay the reinstatement of license fee ($151.50) to clear the suspension.
Allison Abilheira's answer Yes, you would just need to provide the court with a copy of your VA driving record, so that they can confirm that you have maintained a clean record for a total of three years between RI and VA.
Allison Abilheira's answer You do not qualify for the good driving record, as you need to have had your license for at least three years to be able to use the good driving statute. However, a judge may allow you to do community service or simply pay Court costs for your first ticket, so that it does not go on your driving record or insurance. You will need to go to court to do this. Do not pay the ticket by mail.
Allison Abilheira's answer Yes, unfortunately you did. You will need to file a motion to vacate the guilty plea. You will be given a hearing date and on that date you can explain and ask to use the good driving record.
Bernard P. Healy's answer I do not have sufficient information to answer this question fully or accurately. I think the answer is not one you will want hear. The Police can issue a citation after over a month, despite not contacting you earlier. You mentioned that this was a single car collision. Did the police arrive at the scene ? Was a report initially filed ? Was there a question regarding insurance coverage ? It is not at all unusual for the police to issue a citation several months after a collision for failure...
Allison Abilheira's answer The judge does not use the "actual/police use" speed to determine good driving eligibility, rather it goes by what the police officer actually charged you with, which in this case is 1-10 mph over.
As long as you have had your license for more than three years and have kept a clean record for the last three years, you will be able to have it dismissed under the good driving statute. You will only be responsible for paying court costs, which are $60.00.
Matthew T. Marin's answer In Rhode Island, a Lawyer can represent you at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal to enter an admission seeking dismissal under the good driving statute. If you are leaving the Country, it is in your best interest to get your affairs in order with the lawyer well before you leave.
In the alternative, you can seek a continuance on your ticket until you return to the Country. To do that, you would need to talk to the Traffic Court Prosecution Officer with the Police Department that...
Matthew T. Marin's answer In that situation I believe that it is worth the shot. While you may not be technically eligible for application of the Good Driving Statute, they Prosecutor and the Judge may give you some leeway since you are so close. As always, your best bet is with an experienced traffic court attorney by your side advocating for your.
Matthew T. Marin's answer If he is 17 years old then he will not be able to use his good driving record. A good driving record requires no moving violations within the past 3 years and he has not been licensed for a full three years at this time.
Given his age and that he was ticketed going 30 mph over the speed limit, there is a realistic possibility that the Traffic Court could seek to suspend his license. Moreover, even if he simply pays the fine he (and you) will be looking at substantially increased...
Matthew T. Marin's answer No, currently you cannot pre-pay your ticket online. You can pay the ticket by mail with a check and you can attempt to call the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal (401-275-2700) with your ticket number and pay it by phone. The State is upgrading the computer system and you may be able to pre-pay online in the future.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.