California Car Accidents Questions & Answers

Q: I am being sued for a vehicle I have never owned. What do I need to do to make this go away?

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents and Civil Litigation for California on
Answered on Apr 15, 2019
William John Light's answer
Sounds like you need to hire an attorney. You have the opportunity to defend yourself and prove that you have no liability. You are blowing it by not responding to interrogatories in a timely fashion.

Q: does releasing uninsured motorist destroy right to claim under my umi policy

3 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents and Personal Injury for California on
Answered on Apr 12, 2019
Theodore Allan Greene's answer
It's difficult to understand your question. What / why are you "releasing uninsured motorist"? I would strongly urge you to get an attorney well versed in personal injury matters (assuming you were injured) because you could do something to jeopardize your case. And the insurance companies love it when someone is NOT represented and they can get away with as little as possible. It's their job to do that.... Good luck to you

Q: False statement was made and ammended, what happens next?

2 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Mar 19, 2019
Dale S. Gribow's answer
more info needed.

I personally would not want you to talk to the ins co or anyone else!!!!!

I think you should have a lawyer to talk on your behalf.

You can only get yourself in trouble for giving false info to a police officer.

your lying won't change liability if the other party is at fault.

it might affect the way the ins co deals with you as you had a responsibility to cooperate with your ins co and you were caught lying???

Q: If an unlicensed driver was driving my car with me in it and someone hits them am I at fault?

4 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Mar 18, 2019
William John Light's answer
You are derivatively liable for the negligence of the person driving with your permission. Your liability is limited to $15k/person, $30k/accident, $5k property damage.

You might also be liable for negligent entrustment of the vehicle to someone who was not qualified to drive. Your liability under this theory is limited only by the extent of the damage caused.

Q: My son was involved in an accident two weeks ago He was not at fault agreed by both parties insurance here's the problem

4 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Mar 15, 2019
Alexander Bakhache Perez's answer
yes this is a problem now that CA has allowed $5000 in PD coverage for low income drivers. need to go through your son's insurance and pay deductible if that is an option, then you will get back a pro rata of deductible.

option #2 take the case to small claims court for $45 takes 2 months, even if you win may not be able to collect more than the $5000 from other driver since they are low income, not sure, depends if they work.

that is if for options to fix the car.

in...

Q: car dealers lied to me, what can I do?

4 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents, Consumer Law and Small Claims for California on
Answered on Mar 4, 2019
Dale S. Gribow's answer
More info is needed to properly evaluate your case.

What you are doing is the same as asking a doctor to diagnose your problem over the phone when you say I have a stomach ache, can you cure me and what will it cost?

However, it is always a good idea to contact a local attorney proximate to the court to which you would appear.

In other words, I am in Palm Springs and you don’t want to hire a Palm Springs lawyer for an LA case.

Most DUI and PI lawyers will...

Q: Can I make a small claim on a used car fraud?

4 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents, Consumer Law and Small Claims for California on
Answered on Mar 3, 2019
Dale S. Gribow's answer
yes, you can make small claims complaint and you can also contact local police.

they will probably say it is civil but you would argue it is fraud.

you can also contact your legislative members for assistance if the police won't assist you........including city council, congressman, state electeds etc.

you can also complain on Yelp

Q: Can i file a fraud claim for a used car incident?

2 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents and Consumer Law for California on
Answered on Mar 3, 2019
Scott Richard Kaufman's answer
Each of these things are possible depending on just how bad the prior damage is. If it's a few thousand, you are likely in small claims for the difference in the trade in value you get compared to what you should have received. IF it's a lot more, then you may end up with a potential unwind of the fraudulent deal...

Q: arrested for vehicular manslaughter on atv but blood results for alcohol came back normal, what happens next?

3 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law, Car Accidents and Wrongful Death for California on
Answered on Feb 27, 2019
William John Light's answer
It could be over tomorrow. It could go through trial and appeals and take years. Every case is different. What happens to the driver depends on the facts of the incident, which you haven't shared.

Q: Over two years ago I was hit by a car from behind I was on a bicycle their insurance denied my claim can I still Sue

2 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents, Civil Litigation and Personal Injury for California on
Answered on Feb 26, 2019
Dale S. Gribow's answer
much more info needed.

however, there is a 2 year statute of limitations.........thus 2 yrs from the day of the accident you can still file a summons and complaint.........

you can try to get the police to reconsider the report but probably better off to have a lawyer get involved so that you don't say something that can later hurt you

Q: What happens if you dont have insurance and are at fault for an auto accident?

3 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents, Insurance Defense and Personal Injury for California on
Answered on Feb 24, 2019
Theodore Allan Greene's answer
If she was at fault like you say then you really need to find out how much damage was done to the other car and find out if anyone was hurt. That will determine her financial liability. The fact that the other party got an attorney means the other person most likely was injured. If the other party did not have insurance then it limits what they can go after your niece for. If the above is more than she can reasonably pay then she should consider filing Bankruptcy.. But wait until you have clear...

Q: If my injury is the result of a crash by another driver and I am injured, am I able to sue them to pay for my therapy?

4 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Feb 7, 2019
Manuel Alzamora Juarez's answer
Call your insurance company and inform them of your accident. If you have the police report take it to an attorney and let him help you. Best of luck.

Q: I was in a 3 car chain reaction accident. What if at fault drivers insurance is not enough to cover both vehicles? CA

4 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Jan 27, 2019
William John Light's answer
No one is getting covered "instead of" you. You get covered proportionally. If the value of the three cars is $75,000, and your car is worth $7,000, the you get 9.3% of the total property damage settlement ($7,000/$75,000 = 9.3%). If the property damage limit is $5,000, you get $465 ($5,000 x .093). You took the risk by not purchasing collision insurance. You can also refuse settlement and attempt to force the other driver to contribute personally to the settlement to increase your take....

Q: What rights does an uninsured driver have if they were severely injured in a car accident at no fault of their own?

4 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Jan 24, 2019
Gerald Barry Dorfman's answer
Assuming no exceptions apply, such as the defendant driver being drunk at the time, California law does not allow an uninsured driver to collect for "general damages". Those types of damages are generally referred to as "pain and suffering", although there is more to it than that. However, an uninsured driver can still be compensated for economic damages, such as loss of income. Such damages would also include rehabilitation costs and assistive devices and alterations. The full range of...

Q: How do I get someone's insurance and driver license after an accident after he is arrested?

5 Answers | Asked in DUI / DWI and Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Jan 19, 2019
Mr. Hudson Thomas Bair's answer
Call the police, if the driver was arrested they will have the information you need. You should have "uninsured motorist" coverage which will help you if the other driver is uninsured, there is also a restitution process that may be initiated if the other driver is found guilty of a criminal offense.

Q: What happens to your accident history when you hit a person by accident ?

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Jan 16, 2019
William John Light's answer
I don't think so. Unless the pedestrian makes an injury claim that is reported to your insurer, there is nothing to put on your record.

Q: Hello, I am contacting you today because I was in a car accident over 2 years ago.

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Dec 28, 2018
Peter N. Munsing's answer
Your lawyers can ask to transfer the case but usually Courts go with where it happened, but as both parties are California that may work.

As to you, if you have a claim I assume you have a lawyer. If you were at fault your insurance company will get you one. Either way, it's a problem that people can work out.

Q: I rear ended someone on april 1, 2019. They are suing me and the damages are over my policy limits.

6 Answers | Asked in Civil Litigation and Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Dec 27, 2018
Dale S. Gribow's answer
more info needed.

usually, when the party at fault does not have insurance and assets the injured party will present an underinsured motorist claim against their ins policy.

you are asking a tax question in a criminal forum. My gut feeling is you would not have exposure but the question should be presented to a tax lawyer in your area.

Q: What can I do if a cops wrote a hit and run under special circumstances

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law, Personal Injury and Car Accidents for California on
Answered on Dec 27, 2018
William John Light's answer
I have no idea what "special circumstances" means in relation to a hit and run, but if you can identify the car and license plate, and you were injured, you should have no problem finding an attorney to investigate your claim. Consultations are free.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.