Insurance Bad Faith Questions & Answers by State

Insurance Bad Faith Questions & Answers

Q: 5.“Interior”- within... exterior walls; under roofing materials; above basement floor or home’s slab

1 Answer | Asked in Contracts and Insurance Bad Faith for North Carolina on
Answered on Apr 19, 2018
Jake Andrew Snider's answer
I'd love to help you out, but unfortunately without more context you're question cannot really be answered. I assume this is part of a policy you are trying to understand? If so, these policies are even difficult for practiced attorneys! You should consider reaching out to an insurance claim lawyer in order to have them analyze this and give you their take. Best of luck.
View Details »

Q: I was hit extremely hard from the side and was cited a tic for $30, went by ambulance to ER and didn’t give statement.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets, Car Accidents, Insurance Bad Faith and Insurance Defense for Virginia on
Answered on Apr 16, 2018
Peter Munsing's answer
Don't give statments until you talk to a lawyer.Call a member of the Va Trial Lawyers Assn--they give free consults.

If you failed to yield you can be given a ticket.

Generally as she was contributorily at fault you can argue to your company she should have a proportional reduction in what she gets.

You paid cash and didn't check to see if it was covered for collision? Sorry, that's likely on you.
View Details »

Q: What's the penalty for filing a false insurance claim (for a car accident) in Florida?

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith for Florida on
Answered on Apr 12, 2018
Alex McClure's answer
This is a question more appropriately posed in the criminal law section.
View Details »

Q: Hi Can any one help in filing insurance claim from Travelers in NJ area ?Please email or call ali@nslship.com 8326701811

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith and Insurance Defense for New Jersey on
Answered on Apr 12, 2018
H. Scott Aalsberg Esq.'s answer
A lawyer cannot contact you, you must contact them. That being said a lawyer can help you in filing an insurance claim but expect to pay that lawyers hourly rate which can range from $300-$1000 per hour depending on the quality of attorney you choose.
View Details »

Q: Am I able to appeal an arbitration award? No one will answer my question from the insurance company.

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith for Florida on
Answered on Apr 6, 2018
Terrence H Thorgaard's answer
Look at your arbitration agreement or other document calling for arbitration. And then run it by an attorney.
View Details »

Q: The claim process has been going on for a while - at what point is it considered too long

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith for California on
Answered on Apr 6, 2018
William John Light's answer
Depends on the facts of the claim, the type of insurance policy, the amount of your claim, the proof you have submitted, the amount of your cooperation, whether you have an attorney, etc.
View Details »

Q: Is it legal for an employer to only give 24 hour health insurance paperwork turnaround time? We had no time to look

1 Answer | Asked in Health Care Law, Insurance Bad Faith and Insurance Defense for Washington on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Christian Lassen's answer
You can complain to the HR Department
View Details »

Q: I was double parked without my hazards on and go rear ended

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith for Illinois on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Christian Lassen's answer
If they don't, small claims court or your own insurance are options
View Details »

Q: the insurance compay says we changed it to (um) personal injury from property.and it was changed (signed) via computer.

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith for Texas on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Christian Lassen's answer
Then get a copy of the policy to check which it is.
View Details »

Q: How long is it supposed to take an auto insurer to review your claim after an accident? It has been a month.

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith for Florida on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Christian Lassen's answer
You didn't post whether your company or other driver's company
View Details »

Q: Divorce final judgement states irrevocable life policy goes to son when dad passes. Grandfather took it. Help!!

1 Answer | Asked in Estate Planning and Insurance Bad Faith on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Christian Lassen's answer
Its an uphill battle after its been paid out
View Details »

Q: Can I pursue life insurance money that was left to my sister if she says she doesn't want to deal with it?

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith for Arizona on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Christian Lassen's answer
You can ask her to collect it and give you a check
View Details »

Q: If I was to file my boyfriend as a beneficiary on my insurance plan does that make us common law married

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Litigation, Insurance Bad Faith and Family Law for Texas on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Christian Lassen's answer
That does not make you common law married, no
View Details »

Q: In Car Accident In Rental Car No Insurance

3 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents, Insurance Bad Faith and Personal Injury for California on
Answered on Mar 12, 2018
William John Light's answer
Driving without insurance in California is a violation of California Vehicle Code Section 16020–16033.

First offense: Minimum fine of $100. Additional fees and penalty assessments will result in a total fine of about $450.

Second or subsequent offenses can result in fines totaling between $900 and $2,500.

Potential impound of your vehicle.

Potential suspension of your driver's license.

Also, you may have a personal injury claim. If you are driving...
View Details »

Q: Can an Ohio insurance company raise my rates for a no fault accident? My car was struck while parked and unoccupied

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents and Insurance Bad Faith for Ohio on
Answered on Mar 5, 2018
Peter Munsing's answer
Get them to put in writing why they are doing that. Then file a complaint with the insurance commissioners office.
View Details »

Q: Who's insurance is responsible when there is an accident? The driver or the owner of the car?

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets, Car Accidents, Insurance Bad Faith and Insurance Defense for Kentucky on
Answered on Mar 2, 2018
Peter Munsing's answer
Generally as to the other vehicle, the policy covering the car is primary, driver of daughters car secondary.

Daughter needs to see if she got a notice of cancellation. If not, may be able to claim coverage--would have to speak with a member of the Ky Assn for Justice that handles bad faith claims. She also has an injury claims she needs to discuss with that person.
View Details »

Q: What will happen to my claim if the excluded driver on my policy was driving. Other car was at fault.

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents and Insurance Bad Faith for Texas on
Answered on Feb 26, 2018
Peter Munsing's answer
you file a claim for the damage to your car with the at fault driver's policy. Don't get into all the back and forth about who was and wasn't driving.

The driver has a claim for their injuries which they need to see a member of the Texas Trial Lawyers Assn for--they give free consults.
View Details »

Q: Paid insurance down $3700 then canceled. Financing want $1300 more. Broker won't refund.

1 Answer | Asked in Consumer Law and Insurance Bad Faith for Florida on
Answered on Feb 22, 2018
Andy Wayne Williamson's answer
There is not enough facts to give any real answer. You need to consult with an attorney in your area to see what can be done in this case. The first step will be for the attorney to review the paperwork you signed to determine what effect the cancellation has on the contract. Typically they must refund but they are allowed to process the same and it can often take 30 days or more for large companies to process refunds.

Good luck, hope this helps.
View Details »

Q: Which type of claim - declaratory judgement or other?

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Bad Faith and Civil Litigation for Virginia on
Answered on Feb 22, 2018
F. Paul Maloof's answer
A Declaratory Judgment Complaint would be your best avenue of approach based on your reported facts.
View Details »

Q: My old car (No collision Ins.) was badly damaged by another driver, I can document every penny I spent on that car,

2 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents and Insurance Bad Faith for Florida on
Answered on Feb 21, 2018
Terrence H Thorgaard's answer
Did you make a claim with the other driver's insurance company? Normally, they will pay no more than the "total" value of your car (what is meant by a car being totaled). So if your car's total value is paid, there would be no more due you for what you had paid in maintenance.
View Details »

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.