Because a DUI is a crime and not a violation, the local prosecutor (not the officer) actually files the charge with the court. The process involves the police turning their citation, reports, and other case info over to the prosecutor’s office to make their charging decision.
First things first, get a defense attorney for her. A first appearance in Oregon for a case like this is usually the arraignment. At the arraignment, an Oregon attorney would usually reserve their clients' rights by making specific statements to the judge on the record and ask for future dates...Read more »
Got dui blew .05 cited and relelase, even given a ride back to my car, and allowed to drive 2 home 2 hours later, officer stated it will probably be dropped, he did even check the DUI box on my citation. I have a court date though.
The local prosecutor reviews criminal citations issued by officers and is responsible for filing them with the court if they wish to pursue criminal charges. The officer likely said it will probably dropped based on prior instances where the prosecutor did not file a DUI case with a BAC at, near,...Read more »
I have my extremely mature and responsible 16 yr old niece watching my kids before school (she will graduate from high school with an associates degree at 18). She gives my son his Adderall which is a controlled substance (she has an exemplary record of administering ADHD meds for 2 years with... Read more »
Generally speaking the custodial parent makes the decisions about day to day care of the child and does not need the other parents consent. But I don't know what your custody/parenting time order says so that may or may not follow this general rule. You can always go to court and get a...Read more »
You certainly can receive additional charges of Recklessly Endangering in a child is in the vehicle. It generally matters on how the driving was, and how impaired the driver was. Having a child in the car can also make someone ineligible for Diversion in Oregon which makes the punishment...Read more »
No, your case is not likely dismissed. Some busy courts, like Lane County Circuit Court, run so late in getting the DUII cases on the docket, that defendants often show up and the District Attorney's Office isn't ready for the arraignment. In that situation, the case isn't on the...Read more »
The fine listed in the conviction is less than it should have been according to BAC guidelines. The court is also attempting to invoke lifetime revocation of driving privileges based on inaccurate interpretation by prosecution of previous DUI's. Is it legal for the court to go back and change... Read more »
Generally no, when the court enters the terms of the plea agreement into the system, it becomes permanent. There are always exception to the rules, an attorney can go through your specific facts to determine if an exception applies.
I had taken time off work on the 9th and somehow had it stuck in my head that the date was the ninth and that's what I had told my lawyer. When I called him today he told me I missed my date today and I have a bench warrant. What should I expect in the morning?
I am 65 years old, white, male. Got pulled over last night for failure to signal and failure to maintain lane, admitted to drinking a mini-bottle of wine with dinner 4 hours earlier, arrested after not passing field sobriety test (which I thought I did fine on), taken to station, blew 0.00. DRE... Read more »
I think it is a bad idea to represent yourself. DUIs can be more complicated than meets the eye. I believe that you have an excellent case based on what you're saying here; it's possible that the state won't even charge the case. Likely, even. However, if they DO charge the case then...Read more »
Hi i live in the state of oregon. My friend is 45 and I am 18. She was drinking before she came and picked me up and I didn't know she was until we got pulled over. They made her do some test outside the car and arrested her. They then asked me if I was drinking and I said no. They asked me... Read more »
You will not face any problems. She will have to deal with the DUI charge through the normal channels. It's a very common charge and in most cases a first time offense can be resolved without a criminal conviction. This is called "DUI Diversion" and while it is a bit of a pain in...Read more »
I turned to sharp at a light and drove over curb- medium which caused my tire to go flat. I drove for a mile or two and pulled over and parked the car. I called for help. Few minutes later a sheriff showed up and asked me if i was ok. They asked me if i was drinking and i said i did earlier in the... Read more »
You are not going to get the case dismissed, though it does sound like you have a decent case. I have represented a lot of individuals in your shoes and what makes your case stand out to me is that you blew a .05, which is very low. Was this in Portland? You should have a court date coming up quite...Read more »
Jan second said person got convicted of duii for illegal drugs. He knew his licence was suspended and so not driving, then a week ago he was told by a police officer face to face he was valid to drive, said person confirmed this three times in the week via phoning the dmv. Tonight he was pulled... Read more »
You need to speak with a DUII attorney as soon as possible. It sounds like (from your question) that you are thinking about doing this alone. You should re-think that, even if you are eligible for diversion.
Getting into diversion is not the hard part of dealing with a first time DUII...Read more »
If there was no date on the citation (or no citation at all) there will like be no court date until the court receives charges from the city or county prosecutor’s office. The court would then create the case in their system and set a first date for your son to appear.
Review your court documents carefully and consult with an attorney if you any further questions about your obligations arising out of your case. If you had an attorney to help you enter diversion I would reach out to them first.
That said, DUII Diversion Agreements with Oregon courts...Read more »
The short answer is probably not. The incident date/time is one element of the crime that must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt, but the charging document (i.e., the ticket from the officer, or an information of misdemeanor later issued by the prosecutor) usually includes the term “on or...Read more »
My husband was convicted yesterday in oregon for his 3rd dui, his previous 2 were 11 yrs ago. How can they look back 11 years? His record in california had even been purged and the court record does not exist in their files any more but based on driving record the judge said it was his third. He... Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.