He was pulled over first but I pulled over on the other side of the parking lot to wait because I was following him to go somewhere. Our other friends were with us doing burnouts and racing at stoplights but the cop cut them all off to get to us. I want to know if I can fight it somehow?
answered on Sep 17, 2018
Yes you can, and yes you should. A ticket like this has big consequences and keeping it off your driving record should be a priority. A Traffic Lawyer would be a big plus in dealing with this situation.
-Glenn Smith Valdez
I’m 17 and I have all my stuff to get my provisional it’s actually past the date I should have got it. I got a perfect score on my driving test and this is my first time getting pulled over I was going 44 in a 35 and I had 2 other people in the car with me there’s no amount for me to pay it... Read more »
answered on Jul 16, 2018
Get your provisional and go to court. Negotiate with the officer and ask him or her tax agree to a deferred sentence. You will pay court costs but if you get the deferred sentence And don’t get any tickets for 90 days your record will remain clean.
answered on Jun 4, 2018
When a careless driving charge involves a crash, the cases are more complicated and difficult to deal with. Sometimes that complication can be used by a good attorney to help win the case. A great attorney will request all of the discovery, witness statements, video, crash reports. They will review... Read more »
answered on May 14, 2018
It depends. In very rare cases, an officer will have a Summons issued to have you appear in court for a traffic violation. However, that typically is in situations where ther is a crash. You said you were pulled over. What did the officer tell you? Perhaps he or she just gave you a warning? Think... Read more »
.. on my record. It also has a $365 fine.. is there any way I can not pay that much?
answered on May 10, 2018
Without looking at your citation it is a difficult question to answer. You should contact the court and see what they can tell you about the situation. You are on the right track wanting to keep it off your driving record. The fine is very high as well and you should try to avoid paying that if... Read more »
I accidentally hit a pedestrian in a parking lot while driving approximately 13 mph. I was simply not paying attention to the road because of fatigue. The pedestrian suffered a fractured ankle. I was charged with reckless driving under the New Mexico Statute, however I do not think that reckless... Read more »
answered on Apr 25, 2018
Careless driving does not apply in a parking lot. Reckless, however, can be committed in a parking lot. Reckless has a higher “mens rea” or intent element, meaning simply being negligent will not suffice. It also carries mandatory jail. This is a serious offense. You should consult with an... Read more »
answered on Apr 24, 2018
You license will be suspended until you meet conditions for reinstatement: until you pay the ticket. If you are caught driving while your license is suspended, you are facing mandatory jail time and an additional one year suspension of your license. You should pay your ticket promptly, before the... Read more »
Officer stated that i also had my 2 year old daughter in the rear seat
answered on Apr 12, 2018
While jail is a possibility with a careless driving charge in New Mexico - (up to 9 days and up to a $300 fine) it is very very unlikely. Quite simply, the jails in our state are overcrowded and expensive to run, the last thing most judges want to do is put the mother of a two-year old in jail. You... Read more »
I was just visiting in New Mexico I live in Dallas what can I do
answered on Feb 4, 2018
You will have to contact an attorney in New Mexico, but the make, mode and year of the car are not elements of a speeding offense. Therefore, any mistakes about such information will generally not cause dismissal of the citation.
answered on Oct 31, 2017
No set time in most jurisdictions. If you have an issue like no insurance you'd want to get that squared away without waiting for any fallout.
answered on Sep 13, 2016
Unaware of any limitations. Silver is allowed, so why not? Check with DMV if any limits on color (you may not paint your vehicle to look like a police or emergency vehicle in many jurisdictions but that's about ti).
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.