Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Texas Juvenile Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: Can a 15 year old almost 16 go to jail for lying and stealing

I adopted a my ex kid and she is lying and stealing from me I asked why and she says she doesn’t know I told her I would send her to jail and she still stealing and lying I don know what to do

Michael Hamilton Rodgers
Michael Hamilton Rodgers answered on Oct 12, 2020

Ok, this is simple. Do not call the police on a 15-yr. old child, even if she IS almost 16. Don't ever do that. I'm s criminal lawyer, and I know what I'm talking about.

Call your family doctor and get a referral to a good mental health practitioner who specializes in...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: We have a young teen living close to us,, about 13 or 14, he sexually abused his 5yr old cousin. Can he be at school

He had court this past month. The family has kept it quiet.

But the boy goes to school, rides the bus, and plays basketball.

Is this allowed?

This is in concord arkansas.

Hon. Richard W. B. Davis
Hon. Richard W. B. Davis answered on Aug 31, 2020

Unfortunately, I can only answer questions that relate to Texas law. I suggest that you consult with an Arkansas attorney.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: There is a40 year old woman who asked my 16 year old son and his 17 year old friend to spend the night? What can I do?

They have stayed at her house before as friends to her 18 year old daughter. But this time she asked them to stay, according to my son. We think she may be providing drugs to them but we have no proof.

Hon. Richard W. B. Davis
Hon. Richard W. B. Davis answered on Aug 29, 2020

You could prevent your son from staying there, unless he will not listen to you. You could also take your son to an independent lab and have him drug tested.

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody, Family Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: At what age can a child decide on their own which parent they want to live with?
Chad Zubi
Chad Zubi answered on Aug 10, 2020

They can decide on their own when they are 18, but a court is required to take a child's opinion into consideration if they are aged 12 or up, if they are under 12 then the court may or may not take their opinion into consideration. The child's opinion is not controlling and the court... Read more »

3 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: Should my son give a statement to investigator

So a month ago my 11 year old son exposed himself to a younger girl.we know it's not right CPS was called CPS closed out the case and he has been in therapy since then to try to figure out what happened it was completely unnormal for him to do this. However last week we got a call from an... Read more »

Hon. Richard W. B. Davis
Hon. Richard W. B. Davis answered on Jul 6, 2020

The investigator has threatened to take the case to the District Attorney if you do not bring your son in. It is quite likely that if you do bring your son in for an interview, the investigator will still take the case to the DA, only your son will have made the DA's case a lot easier. The... Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: Could someone please let me know if in Texas a pregnant 16 yr old and 18 yr old can get married with parental concent?

They live with the 16yr old's parents.

Hon. Richard W. B. Davis
Hon. Richard W. B. Davis answered on Jun 22, 2020

Yes, they can.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Identity Theft and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: If I got a citation for no insurance and there’s a lot of information Incorrect do I have to Go to court

They have the wrong first name and date of birth they also put a ID number in but I told him my ID was in the car ahead of us so he never got it and I don’t live in the town I was stopped in so I gave him my family members house that I was staying at for the summer so if I don’t show up to... Read more »

Kiele Linroth Pace
Kiele Linroth Pace answered on Jun 11, 2020

Incorrect information on the face of the citation does not make it invalid but could give your attorney a starting point to argue that the office was simply wrong about [insert something the prosecution must prove to win a conviction] and although we don't have direct evidence of that, we can... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law, Juvenile Law and Sexual Harassment for Texas on
Q: I'm 14 and my boyfriend is 18 with parent permission in the state of Texas can we get married ?

My mom is willing to sign any paper, but would I have to get emancipated for us to get married?

Kiele Linroth Pace
Kiele Linroth Pace answered on May 5, 2020

Check out Section 2.003 of the Texas Family Code. https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.2.htm#2.003

Marriage is legal at 18, but the human brain isn't fully developed until 25 years of age, so you would be wise to wait.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: I am 14 my boyfriend is 18 we have my parents permission, can he still get in trouble, even with parent permission
Hon. Richard W. B. Davis
Hon. Richard W. B. Davis answered on May 5, 2020

In Texas, it is considered statutory rape for a person to have sexual intercourse with someone under age 17. However, there is an exception (that is, an affirmative defense) to the statute if the person having sexual intercourse with the younger person is not more than three years older than the... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence, Juvenile Law and Criminal Law for Texas on
Q: my mom lied to cops saying i hit her ..im 17 and did not hit her. what do i do?

That day my mother tricked me saying we were going to a job cite but really we were going to a mental institution. i didnt agree to it ;unaware of my rights i left . i didnt want to sign up for anything i was not informed of. she grabbed me by the hair and punched me several times trying to stop... Read more »

Kiele Linroth Pace
Kiele Linroth Pace answered on Apr 22, 2020

This question is marked both Utah and Texas. This response assumes the incident happened in Texas. If it didn't happen in Texas then you can disregard everything else I have to say below...

You just posted an online confession to assaulting your mother by grabbing her wrist. In...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: If I’m 17 in Texas and my fiancé is 20 with my parents permission , is that illegal ?
Kiele Linroth Pace
Kiele Linroth Pace answered on Apr 22, 2020

The 20-year-old could be charged with a crime like Sexual Performance of a Child until the younger one turns 18 years old. Whether or not local law enforcement is likely to actually stoop that low is a question that can only be answered by someone in your community.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Internet Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: A friend (16) living in Texas sexts with a 60 y/o. What legal consequences could she face?

My friend is 16. She sexts with a 60 year old man. I’m trying to propose reasons why she should stop. She lives in Texas. What legal consequences could she face?

Kiele Linroth Pace
Kiele Linroth Pace answered on Apr 8, 2020

In the context of criminal law, the 60-year-old is the one who should be most concerned about potential liability in this situation.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: say im on juvenile PAROLE and i ran away from home and dont turn myself in after my 18th birthday can I be charged ?

say im on juvenile PAROLE and i VIOLATED PAROLE RULES. and I ran away im 17 and 8 months and my birthday is comin up soon and I dont turn myself in after my 18th birthday and a few months or when hit 19 can i be charged for RUNAWAY ?

Grant St Julian III
Grant St Julian III answered on Apr 8, 2020

Short answer: yes. If you committed an offense, a birthday does not change the ability of the State to file criminal charges.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: When I was 16 I missed court so they filed a warrant , I’m 18 now and I had gotten arrested and they sent me to a

Juvenile center. They released me a month later and now I’m in release orders until my next court date saying I have to stay with my friends mom (who they released me to) I was wondering if legally they can do that since I’m 18??

Grant St Julian III
Grant St Julian III answered on Apr 4, 2020

Yes, "they can do that". Turning 18 does not mean you are not subject to court orders. I suggest you speak with an attorney. Good luck.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: Can I get out?

I’m 17 and live in Texas I need to leave my house because of constant mental abuse, control, and threats of physical violence when ever my Legal guardian drinks or does not get her way. I don’t know the extant of her parental rights as my mother is dead and my father has been in and out of... Read more »

Michael Glynn Busby Jr
Michael Glynn Busby Jr answered on Mar 29, 2020

I would suggest to join military service or get married. But in Texas, you need to file a suit to emancipate yourself to be an adult.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: My Son is 14 years old and was caught video taping his 12 year old Girl Cousin in the bathroom with a phone.

Can a civil suit be filed against him and would he be placed in the sexual predator list?

Mr. Shannon Willis Locke
Mr. Shannon Willis Locke answered on Mar 28, 2020

This is very serious and you need to contact a local attorney immediately. However, this is not likely a civil matter. If the authorities get a hold of the video there are a number of crimes that can be charged. If the video portrays any genitalia the video is child pornography. Any adult who... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: just turned eighteen and ive been wanting to move out of my parent house from the get-go. what should i be aware of?

what are some crucial details that could potentially hinder my chances at getting out of the household?

Michael Glynn Busby Jr
Michael Glynn Busby Jr answered on Mar 25, 2020

In Texas you are emancipated at 18. Your parents can no longer force you to stay such that a judge or the police would require compliance with your parents decisions, but they can cancel your health and/or dental insurance, not advise you on life in general. Perhaps you should go looking for an... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Personal Injury and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: What would happen if a girl broke my hand when I provoked her? I never hit her though.

There is a girl in my school that threatened to break my hand, If she does is it assault? I didn’t hit her, I provoked her. She is 16 years old, and I am 17 years old.

Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Feb 28, 2020

You should speak with a Texas attorney to learn exactly what would happen. But you wait three weeks for a response. Until a Texas attorney could meaningfully advise you of exactly what would happen and exactly what charges could possibly result, keep in mind that as a general matter, it could be... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: if a 16 year old is running away from home and stays the night at your house but u didnt know they had ran away could

me and my parents get in trouble for letting them stay for one night in the state of texas. please reply quickly

Sharita Blacknall
Sharita Blacknall answered on Feb 22, 2020

aking in a runaway child without permission from the child’s parent or legal guarding is known as “harboring a runaway” and it’s illegal. Under Texas Penal Code 25.06, a person commits an offense if he knowingly harbors, or hides, a child and he is criminally negligent about whether the... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Federal Crimes and Juvenile Law for Texas on
Q: Can a Juvenile receive deferred prosecution for a first degree felony?

He was detained 17 days

At the adjudication hearing we were forced into signing paperwork to release our lawyer. His paperwork said “bond violation hearing.” The summons I received was to answer for a felony petition. There was no lawyer in record at the time my juvenile was sentenced

Grant St Julian III
Grant St Julian III answered on Feb 10, 2020

Yes, deferred probation is available for a juvenile, on a first degree felony. The body of your question, however, raises many more issues, and no one in this forum can adequately comment on the facts or status of a particular case. Talk with your lawyer. Good luck.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.