Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Education Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Education Law for Kentucky on
Q: My son is 17 and he got caught with marijuana at school im wondering what kind of charges come with this

He got caught with a thc pen at school he is 4 months away from turning 18 can he be tried as an adult?

Timothy Denison
Timothy Denison answered on Nov 16, 2019

He cannot be tried as an adult although charges could be brought in juvenile court. If he has no record, probably a dismissal or diversion is your end result.

2 Answers | Asked in Education Law for Georgia on
Q: I am 18 years old. Can I drop out of school without my parents permission.
Priscilla T. Upshaw
Priscilla T. Upshaw answered on Nov 13, 2019

Most school districts have a minimum age requirement. Since I am not sure what school district you are a student of, I am unable to provide you with an answer. Generally speaking, a student who has reached the age of 18 can withdraw without parental permission.

I encourage you to stay in...
Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Education Law for Texas on
Q: I have legal custody of my kids in Texas, my ex's parents are holding them from me, can I go get my kids from school?

Long story short our house caught fire, I left my kids in LA while we repaired the house, never signed any custody or guardianship, things took longer than expected due to several deaths in my family, since they have had them they tell my kids bad things about me, tell my kids to lie to me,... Read more »

Rahlita D. Thornton
Rahlita D. Thornton answered on Nov 11, 2019

Your issues sound very complicated. I do not think that you should follow legal advice on the internet with your facts. You should sit down with an attorney who can properly evaluate your details and issues. You may well have rights to go to your kids school however. But, you need to make sure... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law, Municipal Law and Public Benefits for Georgia on
Q: Is is legal for a PTA to auction off spots for cars in a "parent pick up line" ?

In an elementary school the parent pick up line starts to form more than 90 min before the students are released at the end of the day. The line is very long and the PTA has auctioned off the first two spots in the front of the line for the two parents (with the highest bid) to arrive anytime... Read more »

Priscilla T. Upshaw
Priscilla T. Upshaw answered on Nov 8, 2019

I don't hear anything illegal about what you have described. As long as the school's administration approves and there are no safety or traffic laws broken, the PTA can auction off those coveted spots. On the other hand, enforcement may prove interesting!

-The Upshaw Law Firm, (770)...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law for Georgia on
Q: Does this law only influence teachers/ is there a law on lunch time allowance for students?

If a school gives you less than 30 minutes (as a student) for lunch period, is that illegal?

Priscilla T. Upshaw
Priscilla T. Upshaw answered on Nov 8, 2019

Sad to say: Yes! States have given schools great discretion and latitude, and your school can make their own lunch time rules. There's nothing illegal about that.

-The Upshaw Law Firm, (770) 240-0922 or (833)4UPSHAW.

1 Answer | Asked in Gov & Administrative Law and Education Law for Kansas on
Q: What are the implications of administrators in regards to public access?

I am taking a class in public school law.

Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Nov 6, 2019

A place to start might be to look into the Americans with Disabilities Act and related state legislation, and possibly how building codes and fire & public safety codes address these issues. Good luck

Tim Akpinar

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law, Employment Discrimination, Employment Law and Health Care Law for Arkansas on
Q: Im a school nurse being wrongfully accused & terminated. Would be better to get employment or nursing/health lawyer?

I am being wrongfully accused of something with little to no investigation into the event, the school is just believing what a parent is claiming and going off of that w/o my side of it. They consulted w/ their lawyer who determined that I was a liability so they are recommending termination.... Read more »

Greg Mansell
Greg Mansell answered on Nov 6, 2019

It would be best to get an employment lawyer that has experience in administrative hearings, board appeals, and hearings before the nurses' board.

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law, Child Support and Juvenile Law for Missouri on
Q: Im 15yr,& i left school without my parents permission for 2 hrs for my bsf funeral, i came back can they send me to BCA?

It was maybe 2 hrs but i came back to school

Lydia Seifner
Lydia Seifner answered on Nov 4, 2019

I'm not sure what BCA is supposed to be, but your parents are allowed to discipline you for leaving school without their permission if they so choose.

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law and Family Law for Florida on
Q: We have DCF placement of our grandson FL Statutes 39.407 and 743.0645. The charter school he attends insists on

Chapter751 order or he will be kicked out at Christmas break. He is 5 years old. What can we do? Please help. Thanks!

Bruce Alexander Minnick
Bruce Alexander Minnick answered on Nov 4, 2019

Call DFC and ask them for help.

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law on
Q: my college refused to accept my medical note and they failed me. Is that leagal?
Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Nov 2, 2019

It could be. The note, even if accepted, might have excused absence from class, and would have covered attendance-based factors in the course grade. But other factors could have played a role. Speak with academic advisor to explore whether anything could still be done at this point. Good luck... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law and Juvenile Law for North Carolina on
Q: What is the age for a student to dropout in Rutherford NC?
Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Nov 1, 2019

A North Carolina attorney familiar with education law, or an educational administrator could probably tell you. But your question remains open for three weeks. Don't drop out. You don't need an attorney to tell you that. Finish school and get a diploma, or things are so bad at your school, at least... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law and Sexual Harassment for California on
Q: What is the statue of limitations on reporting a school for violating the students fourth amendment law by strip search

they strip searched me down to only my underwear. they made me take my bra off. i am female.

William John Light
William John Light answered on Oct 29, 2019

6 months to file a Tort Claim, before a lawsuit is filed, for claims based on state law. Two years for claims based on federal law, and potentially extended until your 20th birthday.

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Litigation, Civil Rights, Education Law and Employment Discrimination for New York on
Q: If I find out that evidence was falsified in my hearing can I reopen my case that was dismissed.
Gary Kollin
Gary Kollin answered on Oct 28, 2019

A lot depends on the evidence, the perpetrator and the timing

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law, Personal Injury, Education Law and Securities Law on
Q: If a parent threat a teacher about taking away his license and saying bad things, what is the possible case?
Gary Kollin
Gary Kollin answered on Oct 27, 2019

Without knowing the exact words I can render an opinion.

Also when speaking to the the teacher, ask the teacher if the correct word is threat or threaten

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody, Education Law and Family Law for Arkansas on
Q: Does a noncustodial parent where no court order of custody is present have the right to request school records?
Dustin A. Duke
Dustin A. Duke answered on Oct 22, 2019

The question is a little confusing, but I am assuming that since there is no court order and you refer to a non-custodial parent, that the parents were never married. In Arkansas, the mother of a child born outside of wedlock automatically has custody of him or her. The father has to establish... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Immigration Law and Education Law on
Q: How can I apply Self-petition?

Im a Licensed Teacher and wanted to move in Florida and to continue my career there. What are the steps that i should have to follow? And Is there a possible that i can petition myself?

Hector E. Quiroga
Hector E. Quiroga answered on Oct 14, 2019

You need to find a school district that is willing to act as your sponsor.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Education Law for Oklahoma on
Q: Is it illegal in oklahoma to deliberately report a false terroristic threat to a school against another child?
Brian Boeheim
Brian Boeheim answered on Oct 12, 2019

Because it is a juvenile, the punishment is limited, and if it was just reported to the school and didn't involve police then the criminal statute below might not apply.

Title 21 O.S. 589(A)

It shall be unlawful to willfully, knowingly and without probable cause make a false report...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law for Rhode Island on
Q: Are school bus aides required on school buses for the trasporting of Kindergarten children?
Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on Oct 10, 2019

yes, see: http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE16/16-21/16-21-1.HTM

(b) For transportation provided to children enrolled in grades kindergarten through five (5), school bus monitors, other than the school bus driver, shall be required on all school-bound and home-bound routes....
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law for Rhode Island on
Q: What is the longest a Kindergarten student can ride on a bus to and from school?
Neville Bedford
Neville Bedford answered on Oct 10, 2019

Depending on the route and the traffic, the ride time will vary.

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law for Florida on
Q: If I am 20 years old and have a drivers permit can I drive without someone 21 and over with a license ?

Do I need someone 21 and older ?

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Oct 3, 2019

Yes, as I recall you do need someone 21 or older. What does your permit say?

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.