Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Louisiana Domestic Violence Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: My ex boyfriend was drugging me and abusing me doing things to me no one should ever have done to them. What can I do?

He told he did everything in the pictures that I found on his phone. The pictures are very awful. They made videos of it. I have found some of them. It makes me cry to watch them.

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Feb 11, 2021

Call the Sheriff's office to report this criminal offense.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: My fiance was arrested for a second degree battery assault charge. He is bi-polar and was in manic psychosis.

The offense was against me. We stand to lose everything if this charge sticks. He was not in his right mind during this offense. What can we do to get the charges dropped?

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Feb 3, 2021

Hire a criminal defense lawyer. Get a certified copy of his medical record showing his diagnosis. Get him on medication and regularly checked.

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Rights, Domestic Violence and Landlord - Tenant for Louisiana on
Q: Can I be kicked out at 18 if I'm still in high school in Louisiana? I'll start senior year 2 days after my birthday.

My mom tries to kick me out a lot but I refuse to leave because I'm 17. She says she legally can kick me out now but I know that legally I can leave on my own but she can't kick me out. She's also threatened to give me a criminal record but I don't drink, smoke do drugs,... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Feb 2, 2021

Yes she can kick you out at 18. Find a relative willing to let you move in.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: Will,fiance have a chance of getting bonded out soon charges of domestic violence with partner and wrongful imprisonment

If I dont show up for court against him what happens?

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Jan 30, 2021

Gwen's law will not allow him out on bond. However, some parishes are bonding detainees out do to Covid. If he is let out and doesn't show up, a warrant will issue.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: Is the district attorney supposed to consult woth the victim of a domestic violence case before reaching a plea deal
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Jan 16, 2021

The DA's Office has to make prosecution decisions on the strength of the case.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: Can I get an expungement for misdemeanor domestic battery if my conviction occurred 10 years ago before the Acts 2014
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Jan 7, 2021

You will have to pay a lawyer to research whether the law was retroactive or prospective only. Or you can do that research yourself.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Civil Rights, Domestic Violence and Health Care Law for Louisiana on
Q: Can I legally get arrested and commitment to a rehab or insane asylum for hearing voices and exhibiting odd behavior?

I was in my own home that I jointly own with my mother and one of my two sisters that lives with me called the state marshall and said I was staying up all night and hearing voices which is true,laughing and talking with them while they had me on strong mental health meds. My other sister... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Jan 1, 2021

Anyone can call the Coroner to have your committed for 72 hour examination.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law, Child Custody and Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: My girlfriend turns 18 in a few months, but she is still in high school. If she leaves on her bday, can she be arrested?

She is in an abusive home with her dad and stepmom, but her dad has a lot of money. Like a lot. She says that on her 18th birthday she is going to leave to live with her mom and her dad told her that if she left then he would have her and her mother arrested. Legally, can he do that? She is still a... Read more »

Douglas Lee Bryan
Douglas Lee Bryan answered on Nov 20, 2020

Technically, if a child leaves home at 17, she cannot be arrested. However, her father could file to have her adjudicated as a delinquent. At 18, she is a legal adult and can live wherever she wants.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: Can you file a restraining order against an 18 year old for texting your 17 year old? Even if she wants to?

They are both girls. They were 18 and 16 when they kissed but that was all they did.

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Nov 7, 2020

No you can't.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: Can i move in with a friend at 15 if my mom abuses me?

Im 15 and my mom physically and emotionally abuses me, and my boyfriends mom said i could move in with them, is this possible?

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Oct 27, 2020

No. You are. Juvenile. You do not get to decide where you live. If you have been physically abused, tell a nurse,ncounselor, doctor or nurse.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: What happens if someone is arrested again for D.A. after bonding out on a Gwens bond?

My child’s father was arrested and held until having a Gwens hearing he was recently arrested again for D.A. with strangulation. I’m just curious if he will have another bond hearing or they will just hold him with no bond.

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Oct 23, 2020

I would be surprised if he is let out on a bond again after violating the first and reoffending

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: What steps will I need to take if the father was abusive and there are police reports, messages, and pictures to prove

As well as the last incident while I was pregnant when I left and I am due in 5 months

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Oct 11, 2020

Get certified copies of the police reports, print all the photos and messages then hire a family lawyer.

1 Answer | Asked in Divorce and Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: Abusive spouse refuses to sign unless I give in to his abusive demands. I've been diagnosed with PTSD from his abuse.

I left 2 1/2 yrs ago after several years of abuse and adulrty all I can prove. I recently filed and sent them certified mail with return receipt (he lives in MO I'm in LA) he has texted me with pics showing he has papers with demands I give into his sexual and mental abuse or he refuses to... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Oct 5, 2020

Hire a lawyer!!! Print all proof of abuse or harassment.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence and Federal Crimes for Louisiana on
Q: If my bf was on probation and got charged with domestic battery but I don't want to send him to jail will he go
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Aug 26, 2020

Call the D.A.'s office and ask for a drop charge form

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody, Child Support, Domestic Violence and Family Law for Louisiana on
Q: I have a 9 year old son, and his father wants court for custody and upset that I put him in child support.

my son has been in my husband and my care for 9 years as he is 9 and will be 10 in 2 months. I decided to put the father on child supp as I feel we make an agreement the biological father can not keep when i ask for help or to get him home for school the next day. I been keeping my son home with me... Read more »

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Aug 26, 2020

It sounds like you may need a divorce and custody judgment. Hire a divonce lawyer.

If you give him visitation before you get a custody judgment, he doesn't have to return him.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: My ex boyfriend was out on bond for domestic abuse by strangulation. He is now incarcerated for Domestic abuse battery.

This domestic abuse battery charge is from beating me up. He goes to first appearance today and I am curious if he will be able to bond out? Does the Gwens law come into play on for this matter?

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Aug 22, 2020

Gwen's law will keep him in custody.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: In Louisiana, who do I talk to about recanting my statement?

My partner was arrested for domestic abuse battery - strangulation against me but he is being wrongfully indicted. I never meant for my statement to sound like he strangled me or made it difficult for me to breathe. These are serious accusations and I want them to know the truth.

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Aug 21, 2020

Sign an Affidaviy with his defense attorney. Then call the D.A.'s office and tell them you want a drop charge form.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence, Family Law, Divorce and Child Custody for Louisiana on
Q: Can a wife get the locks change of domestic Islands happened between her and her husband in Louisiana
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Jul 28, 2020

If the home is community property or rented in both names, then she can file a Protective Order and ask for exclusive use of the home and change the locks.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: my friend is in an abusive household and pregnant. can she leave if shes 17? in louisiana
Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Jul 28, 2020

No she is a minor. But if it is physically abusive, you can call 911.

2 Answers | Asked in Domestic Violence for Louisiana on
Q: Will there be a bench warrant for me missing my court date on a stay away order that an officer filled out?

On my Summons/ Stay Away Order that I recieved states that I (the victim) was ordered to appear in court but misread the date and missed it. Could I be arrested?

Ellen Cronin Badeaux
Ellen Cronin Badeaux answered on Jul 20, 2020

No you won't be arrested. But contact the District Attorney's Office.

View More Answers

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.