The Georgia code 40-1-1 states "Highway" means the entire width between the boundary lines of every way publicly maintained when any part thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular travel.
Generally speaking, in GA there are two types of DUI charges. A per se DUI is a a DUI charge in which a blood, breath or urine test is given and the test result is greater than the legal limit which is. 08.
A DUI less safe is a DUI charge in which the police officer is essentially alleging...Read more »
If the Court changed the court date because of the Coronavirus then it would generally follow that your prior court date no longer controls. I am often able to resolve many traffic ticket cases by keeping the ticket off of my client's driving record without my client...Read more »
Yes, this happens all of the time in the case of car accidents. In most of these cases, police do not witness the actual accident. They must, to the best of their ability, determine the circumstances which caused the accident using their own observations upon arrival, the testimony of the...Read more »
In most cases when you receive a traffic citation, information regarding your court date, time, and location can be found towards the bottom of your copy of the citation. If your initial court date was rescheduled, the court would have mailed notice of the rescheduled date to the address for you...Read more »
'Sorry that your post remains open. It may be a moot point by now if you already arranged a Georgia attorney to handle the matter, or if it was already heard. As a general matter, they're difficult scenarios. But there are sometimes mitigating factors - excessive speed of an oncoming car,...Read more »
I got a ticket because my registration was revoked due to lapse of insurance. I got my car insured, got my tag and registration fixed after paying all fines through the DDS. I paid my ticket before my court date and received a letter saying my license was suspended because of my ticket. I thought I... Read more »
If you plead guilty (by paying the ticket) to driving on suspended registration it triggers a 6 month suspension of your drivers license. You need to contact a Georgia traffic attorney to see if you can withdraw your guilty plea and try to negotiate a plea to a different offense.
I hit a car and notified owner of place but not vehicle. I left and got a call because someone got my tag number. I returned to the scene the next day and was givien a citation. I have to go to court so will i have to serve jail time for this? I already have 3 points on my license also. If i get... Read more »
A judge can sentence you for up to 12 months in jail and $1,000 fine for any misdemeanor charge. I would recommend contacting a local criminal defense attorney to get specific information about the court where the charge is pending.
If you go to the court date, the judge may be able to place you on probation for up to 12 months so that you can pay the fine off during that time. I would also ask the prosecutor to drop the speed by 10 m.p.h. so it doesn't carry any points on your license.
Three weeks later they are charging me $222 for something called a super speeder my question is do I have the right to pay for this additional fee after I have already paid for the ticket and why do they have the right to add on additional fees after I have already paid for my ticket
You don't need to bring your citation to court, the main thing is to not forget the date, time, and place to show up. When they call your name, you can plead not guilty. Then ask to speak with the prosecutor to see if they can change the offense to something else that would carry no points.
The answer is, it depends. Georgia law requires the driver of a vehicle, meeting any stopped school bus, stop before reaching the bus when the visual signals indicating that traffic should stop are in operation.
It may be best to consult an attorney who can assist you with the specifics of...Read more »
The short answer is no, you cannot successfully fight the ticket. Georgia law states that drivers of a vehicle approaching a stop sign shall stop at a clearly marked stop line or, if there is no stop line, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, if there is no...Read more »
He can stay in jail until there is a probation revocation hearing in front of a judge. At that time the judge will determine if the person can continue on probation or if his probation will be revoked and he is sent to prison on his original charges. Always best to hire an attorney for the best...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.