Romeo & Juliet only protects him if he is 3 years TO THE DAY older or less. If he is 3 years and 1 day older than she is then he can't use that defense for Sexual Assault of a Child or Indecency with a Child.
WARNING: He could be prosecuted for Sexual Performance of a Child until the girl...Read more »
I have the 17 year old best friend of my daughter currently living with me. One of her parents is incarcerated, the other on drugs. Her grandmother has guardianship of her but can no longer care for her and is willing to relinquish those rights to me. In Texas, I’ve been told that minors in... Read more »
If a 17 year old leaves home, can they be persecuted in Texas? If they are living in a non dangerous environment and the people they are living with are willing to take them in. Is there different laws for this in different towns in Texas?
You could report it to law enforcement, but they will decide whether or not to pursue the matter. However, you should be aware that you lose control of what happens when the state gets involved. Only the prosecutor can decide what punishment to seek and whether or not to drop charges. I guess I...Read more »
If the child (17) does not want those charges to be placed, does the parent have to have their child (17) agree to placing the charges? Or can the parent just place them regardless if their child (17) wants them or not?
That happens sometimes. Consider putting a recurring event on your calendar that reminds you to call them every Wednesday at 10am. If you are bad at using your calendar perhaps set an alarm on your smart phone for that purpose.
TIL SHE CALMS DOWN AND THE SHE GETS UP AND PUNCH ME IN THE FACE BECAUSE I PICK UP HER STUFF AND TELL HER SHE GOING HOME CAUSE SHE DIDN'T ASK ME TO GO ANYWHERE AND I HIT HER BACK CAN I GET IN TROUBLE AND SHE HAS A HISTORY OF FIGHTING GROWN UPS SHE CLAIMS I HIT HER FIRST BUT I DIDN'T I REACHED FOR... Read more »
Anyone can get in trouble for anything. A more important question is can you get OUT of trouble. In this situation it sounds like you may have justifications for self defense in Penal Code 9.31 and possibly also discipline of a child under PC 9.61 (if her parents wanted you to look after her.)...Read more »
It depends on what exactly you mean by "sexual advances" but the potential offenses are Sexual Assault, Indecency with a Child, and Sexual Performance by a Child. You'll need to compare what actually happened to the definitions of those crimes in the Texas Penal Code to determine which, if any,...Read more »
The parents of the girl do not want to press charges. The 16 year old boy says she was with multiple friends of his at time of conception. 16 year old says he was with her almost a month after conception
If your son has no previous record generally the State will recommend a deferred adjudication meaning if he completes probation successfully the charge will not be on his record. Juvenile records are sealed and can only be opened under limited circumstances. Probation for a juvenile is generally...Read more »
Please note that once a person turns 17 they are considered an adult in Texas. A mutual fight is typically not a crime. Nevertheless, if one person goes too far with the assault or takes out a deadly weapon during an assault that started without weapons it could rise to the level of a crime.
I have evidence and witnesses who can give information. Also mother has been in trouble with oldest daughter who was molested. Other daughter allowed to have boyfriend move in and she was 14. She also allowed her to move out. Now its her youngest daughter who is i feel is being prostituted. Please... Read more »
The felony crime of Sexual Performance By A Child applies anyone under 18 years old engaged in sexual conduct. The plain language of the law criminalizes the conduct itself, even if it does not occur as a performance. If there actually is a performance (or recording) then the parents themselves...Read more »
Your friend is not legally responsible for any damages arising from the accident you describe, but any sexual contact between a 20 year old and a 16 year old is a felony. See Texas Penal Code Section 21.11 - Indecency with a Child, Section 22.011 - Sexual Assault, and Section 43.25 - Sexual...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.