We are in virginia. my partner was convicted of a violent felony as a minor (he was 17 at the time). he just turned 21 this year, so we were curious if he would need to petition the courts to have the records sealed/expunged… or if this is something the state will do automatically?
My daughter had an Instagram (made her delete it) she’s 16 and wants to become a model. Someone approached her saying they were a company, everything was pretty suspicious from what i saw. She said she was interested and filled out a form asking about measurements, phone number, address, model... Read more »
A contract with a minor is usually unenforceable and it doesn't seem like a criminal violation if they gave her the money (as opposed to her stealing the money). If she's contacted by law enforcement, reach out to a lawyer ASAP. I'm sure anyone who responds would be happy to help. Good luck.
You will need to find out whether this arrangement is permissible in Alabama. As her parents, under Virginia law, you are still responsible for her and required to support her financially. If she wishes to ask a court in Virginia for emancipation, she could do so if she meets the criteria. Then...Read more »
My parents are separated and going through a legal divorce. After my mom cheated on my dad and moved in with her boyfriend she and her boyfriend who has a criminal record have been threatening me and my little siblings. She recently sent a trespassing notice to my family saying we could not be near... Read more »
Since your sent you a no trespassing notice and you acknowledge receipt of that notice by tearing it up and throwing it at the front door of where she lives, she can now call the police, if you go on her property, and have you charged with the criminal misdemeanor of trespassing. She can also look...Read more »
I'm 16 and got my license like 3 weeks ago. Was following a cousin down a road i didnt know, speeding ~10/15 over limit and took a turn too fast and crashed. No one was hurt, car was totaled, and sherriffs said they wouldn't have written me up for it but had to call a state trooper (i... Read more »
You should have a lawyer represent you to help get it dismissed. Driving school goes both ways. Some judges get mad if you do it before and some don't want the reason as voluntary. A lawyer who goes to that particular court will know the local rules. A good lawyer will know there is a...Read more »
We have been separated for 8 months joint custody of 2 kids. Agreement says we will not interfere in the others life and live as though we were never married. Can he obtain such an agreement and can I fight it? Fiancé is a great man and loves my kids.
The agreement appears to just say that you and the ex are living as you two, specifically, are not married to one another. It's not requiring that you live unmarried, most likely, and if it is, then it's probably invalid.
If there is a custody order from the court where the...Read more »
Once they’re 18, they’re an adult and get to make their own decisions. You cannot force an adult to stay in your home if they don’t want to. But you can make an adult leave your home as long as you follow the law in doing so.
At this point, now that you are 29, you should be able to purchase a firearm as long as you weren't convicted of certain violent offenses. You can actually follow up with the State Police to ask them about the firearms form because they run all background checks for firearm purchases. here...Read more »
(I’m on juvenile probation) I need to move out of an emotionally, verbally (and previously physically) abusive household with my mother, but I am on probation, my documents all say I am low risk, I only need to be seen once a month, but I’m not entire sure what that means. I just need to get... Read more »
Assuming you are 18 years old and on adult probation, the probation officer shouldn't have to contact your mother. Provided you are not ordered to remain in your current residence, talking through this issue with the Probation Officer should result in you being able to move provided it is in...Read more »
i was unaware the boy was 16 i was told he was 18 and i have never physically met this boy in real life just sent photos on the app snapchat i was just made aware he is 16 and i am 23 he saved all photos and videos and now using them as blackmail to sleep with me
Unfortunately there are many scams that are going around where people are doing this for either money or other kinds of issues. I would keep screen shots of everything and go to the police for extortion. Cut off contact, but do not change your number - just don't reply to anything they are...Read more »
I am 15 years old i got into a altercation with my mother for assult and battery but the judge dosent know that she hit me in the head with a metal object during the altercation and my grandma had to take me to the hosptial because i had a knot... Even tho i was assulted also in that situation wat... Read more »
There are a number of factors that go into answering your question. However, most importantly sounds like you need to talk to a lawyer to adequately present your defenses to the court. If you were acting in self-defense, you may need help presenting that argument to the judge. You can ask the...Read more »
This occured in school with witnesses who confirm the incident. The school teacher said it was a accident too. The boys parents want medical bills paid. Is this a reasonable request? If I pay, am I admitting that I am liable for medical bills and possibly a civil suit for pain and suffering?
Was your son charged? If not, nothing will happen to him. If he was charged, you should reach out to an attorney for advice and a consultation regarding the charge(es). Both underage possession of alcohol and possession of marijuana are criminal misdemeanor charges.
Every court is different on how they treat 92 in a 70. Some courts give jail time, others convict and suspend the license but don't give jail, and many others will reduce with community service/driving school. Talk to an experienced traffic lawyer in the location where the offense was. Once...Read more »
A Va state trooper pulled him over for a broken tail light, then found out he was not old enought to even have a learners permit. He wrote him 4 tickets...driving without license, broken tail light, loud exhaust and no seatbelt.
How will this effect him getting his learners permit? Since... Read more »
His case will be in the juvenile and domestic relations court in the jurisdiction where he committed the offenses. The main one to be concerned with is the driving without a license because that's a misdemeanor. Many judges would continue the case to let him get his permit and consider...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.