Pete David Louden's answer There is no law against people having security cameras in their homes. Almost every place you go now has security cameras: homes, schools, parking lots, stores, government buildings, etc.
Doak Willis' answer If the child resides in Oklahoma the law states that the mother of the child has custody until the father of the child is determined by paternity testing. The mother needs to hire an attorney now to possible get the child returned to her until parentage is determined through a paternity proceeding.
Kyle Persaud's answer Contact law enforcement. Show them a copy of the custody order, tell them father is in violation of it.
You will also need to ask the Court to enforce visitation. You also should probably ask the Court to grant custody to the mother.
You have not given me enough details for me to know whether you should file your motion in Louisiana court, or in a court of another state. In general, a court that made the custody determination (in this case, the Louisiana court) would have...
Kyle Persaud's answer If you are the mother, then, yes, the grandmother was required to give you notice before she can take your son.
Yesterday I cited the U.S. Supreme Court case of Armstrong v. Manzo. There, the Court said:
"In disposing of the first issue, there is no occasion to linger long. It is clear that failure to give the petitioner notice of the pending ... proceedings violated the most rudimentary demands of due process of law. "Many controversies have raged about the cryptic and abstract...
Doak Willis' answer There is no legal method of allowing your daughter to move out on her own. However, many children that age do so and DHS is reluctant to get involved. As for you being liable for trouble she may cause, there is that possibility that you could indeed be held liable for her tortious actions.
Doak Willis' answer Yes in Oklahoma when you move a certain number of miles from the Jurisdiction where you were divorced you must give some detailed notice and there is a time limitation also before you can move. Go see an attorney to do it right.
Kyle Persaud's answer If you move a distance of more than 75 miles, you have to notify your ex at least 60 days before you move. If your ex does not file a written objection in court within 30 days of receiving the notice, you can move.
If your ex files a written objection in court, the court will hold a hearing on whether you can move. At your hearing, you can present evidence that your ex does not have a relationship with the child, and this can weigh in favor of the court allowing you to move.
Doak Willis' answer No they are not correct. The law encourages the custodial parent to allow additional time for visitation with the child or children and they cannot use that is any modification hearing in the future against you. Usually the parties share the travel expense and your facts show that you are following the intent of the law and you should not worry about the non custodial parent trying to use your past actions against you.
Doak Willis' answer You didn't ask a question. If you were wondering what you should do to get your children's custody returned to you then you would need to hire a good attorney to bring a modification of the Decree if indeed the facts surrounding your case rise to the legal threshold for a modification.
Doak Willis' answer The child's parents are responsible for the medical and dental bills for their child. If divorced, the child support guidelines are used to determine the percentages and amounts that the parents are to be responsible for when the child incurs charges.
Doak Willis' answer Unless the attorney agreed to accept service for his client you must first serve the defendant personally and not the attorney. If the attorney agreed to the service, you should file a motion for default judgment and get an order for hearing date set and file it with the motion and serve it on the attorney. If they don't show for that hearing, you will win by default.
Pete David Louden's answer If the children have been living with you and wish to stay in your home the process would be to modify your order. After reviewing your case an attorney can tell you how to get this done and your chance of success.
Doak Willis' answer Yes. If the order states he is to pay child support until she is graduated from High School or up to 19 years of age and he quit before that time you can get an order for an the back due child support plus interest until it is paid.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.