Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In

Oregon Insurance Defense Questions & Answers

3 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents, Insurance Defense and Personal Injury for Oregon on

Q: How can I remove a PIP claim from someone not written on my auto insurance policy?

My mother in law filed a PIP claim against my auto insurance, for an accident I had no involvement in from 11/16. It's is a last ditch effort by her lawyer to get money. She is not written on my policy but did live with us at the time. GEICO has left it in limbo for months and it looks like my... Read more »

Mr. Michael O. Stevens answered on Jul 11, 2019

You can't, and honestly its not a last ditch effort, its what the law is, she is covered if she lived with you. https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/742.520

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents and Insurance Defense for Oregon on

Q: Broke car now running and had a minor fender bender ( $1k dmg.) I had no insurance at the time. What to do?

Just went to get gas and pulling out of driveway bumped driver headed down the road. Bent in the fender and cracked the bumper cover. Gave my # and offered reimbursement to driver. His car was rented from Ziopcar.

Joanne Reisman answered on Jan 27, 2018

I am sure that he turned it over to his insurance or the Zipcar insurance. Someone will call you and ask you to pay the bill. Don't be suckered however. Only pay the repair bill if it includes a complete release of ALL LIABILITY for the accident and from the driver. Keep in mind that this driver... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents, Insurance Bad Faith and Insurance Defense for Oregon on

Q: Does insurance pay a total loss based on value of a car or the price paid? Do they require a bill of sale?

I purchased a unique 66 mustang from a private owner. Long story short 2 hours after the sale some older lady came out of nowhere & smashed both my cars which I paid in full (parked behind each other) to total loss status. No bill of sale was made in the process because Oregon does not require it... Read more »

Peter N. Munsing answered on Dec 12, 2017

They want proof of ownership. How you work that is up to you. However, the issue is what the value is.

Likewise on #2. Unless your policy has replacement value you don't get it in most states.

You can check with the insurance commissioner for your state as to what they can ask...
Read more »

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.