I was recently pulled over in Pennsylvania for a registration that expired in August. Upon being stopped, the officer informed me that my license is coming back as suspended. I served a 30 day license suspension from June to July 17th, however was never made aware that I have to restore my license.... Read more »
You need to speak with an experienced traffic attorney. If a judge sees that your license was suspended at the time you were pulled over then you will most likely be found guilty and lose your license for an entire year. Hiring an attorney would be a wise choice
Received a ticket for expired registration. Expired 12/2020 and I forgot to renew. The police was sitting by a stop sign and running plates. This is my first offense and I have a clean driving record. Is there anything I can do or do I just need to plead guilty and pay the fine(s)?
Frankly, if there are no points you are better off paying it. Judges tend not to favor those who already got a break, and if you were doing almost 30 over or even 20 over they will consider it a monster break.
I'm not sure how you would fight it without the judge knowing that it was...Read more »
I had to get the ticket in the mail because "their system was down" when I got pulled over. The ticket is only for 5mph over the limit although he said he got my speed at 81mph in a 65 zone and was doing me a favor. He also could have said something that my inspection was a few days out... Read more »
Small things like the color of the car won't get you off the hook. Only 5 over, is something you can fight though if the Judge gets the idea you were actually going 16 over they may sock it to you. You have to look at it from a points perspective--are you better off taking the 5 over or...Read more »
Was your correct address on your license because that is likely where it was sent. Call a lawyer as it can be checked online. If it has not been filed, there is a 30 day statute of limitations so it may be too late to file it now, if it hasn't yet been filed. Don't ignore it because if it...Read more »
A Pennsylvania attorney could advise best, but your post remains open for two weeks. In SOME (I can't speak for Pennsylvania) jurisdictions, people who are uninsured could sometimes still have remedies for money damages, but they could be precluded from including pain and suffering in their...Read more »
The officer was more than a hundred yards away and traveling towards me. I’m surprised she even noticed. She said she issued a violation but her printer was broken and I would get it in the mail. She told me how to pay it, by mail or in person but did not mention an on line payment. I then asked... Read more »
Do you not just plead guilty because you are facing three points on your license if convicted. Points can lead to higher insurance rates and also if you get another ticket in the following year you could lose your license if you go over six points. Get a lawyer who will help you either fight the...Read more »
He asked me if I was aware how far off the road I was. To my knowledge I wasn't off the road at all. I sneezed a big one though and might have left the road for a second. He took my license and registration, looked briefly at my registration and then went back to his car. Came back and ask me... Read more »
I was ticketed for “Operating Unregistered Vehicle” as it was expired by a few months and had slipped my mind. I pulled into a gas station 5 minutes after the stop and updated the registration on my phone. He also let it slide that my inspection stickers were expired (very nice guy). He said to... Read more »
You should plead not guilty and mail it back to the court, although the court is going to schedule a hearing date regardless. There is a mandatory period of 60 days in jail for that offense - there may be other options available depending on the county. You should contact an attorney in your area...Read more »
This will be a soft glow not nearly as bright as any headlamp or a flashlight even. I've read that in California they do not allow underglow (which is a type of lamp) to be red or blue. I also think if I read correctly that Pennsylvania doesn't allow lamps period, however I have read... Read more »
Don't see why not. Ask the police--they're the one's you'll deal with. (You can't take their word as gospel but I didn't find anything saying you couldn't. Note however that many glow in the dark paints do not adhere well to cars.
Depends on your points, but generally if a cop gives you a break, the judge will tend to look on you as someone who doesn't take a stroke of luck when they get it. It's your right to go to court but the cop won't be happy either. Unless you have a full defense to what you did it is...Read more »
Plead not guilty because the careless carries 3 points on your license. Points can lead to increase insurance premiums and possible suspension. Get a lawyer to go to court. Many times the citations can be downgraded or fought. Good luck!
Depends on what traffic infraction you are accused of violating----not all traffic violations results in points. Usually, it the moving violations and in some instances, violations involving your driver's license and/or insurance sometimes end up resulting in points in some jurisdictions....Read more »
Admittedly I was speeding around 25 over briefly to around 15 over to get away from vehicles intentionally preventing me from passing. I then noticed a cop weave in and out of traffic to get behind me and I waited to be pulled over. He then followed me for about a 1/2 mile to a mile without pulling... Read more »
Yes, but the officer would have to be able to identify you in court as the driver. If he was behind you the whole time he is going to have some issues. Plead not guilty and get a lawyer as 25 over is 4 points on your license. Good luck
It is a 3 point offense that could affect insurance. Also if you do get points and receive another ticket in the next year, the points add on and you could be facing potential suspension if you go over 6 points.
The office can file a ticket on information received but they will need a...Read more »
If you pay the fine and plead guilty, no you do not have to go to court, but you will receive points on your license. You only have to pay the fine which you can do by mail or online. You should consider talking to an attorney in your area however to see if you might be able to avoid the assessment...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.