I make $110,000. My spouse makes $80,000. We have 2 kids.
answered on May 20, 2023
It's probable, that you will have to pay child support since you make more then the other parent. "The Minnesota Child Support Division bases the Child Support Guidelines Calculator on the Minnesota Child support guidelines statute." You should input your data to determine your... Read more »
Can cps right a closer letter and not use everyone’s legal name in the state of Minnesota . So for instance . Human services have received a report stating that your child may have been sexually abuse by cookie. When cookies name is really Jain doe and they already know that because they have had... Read more »
answered on May 6, 2023
I believe "cps [can] right a closer letter and not use everyone’s legal name in the state of Minnesota." In some cases protecting someone's identity may be important.
I am sorry, but it's hard to determine what exactly occurred. Apparently, CPS closed a case involving... Read more »
Male Siblings—ages 15 and 12. The older kid asked the younger kid to take off their own underwear/touch each other’s genitals. When the younger sons underwear were down, the older son rubbed his penis on the younger son. There was no Penetration. The younger kid was uncomfortable, said no, and... Read more »
answered on Apr 5, 2023
It's not a good idea to post details of a possible crime on a public website. But calling a lawyer with a telephone would be a better way to start. A Minnesota therapist will be a "mandated reporter" to police, of any child abuse disclosed to them. Therefore seeking help could lead... Read more »
If yes where which official authority conduct & what documents requirements for both parties.
If yes how to apply for my daughter spouse visa ?
answered on Mar 7, 2023
It is not possible to have a legally binding marriage ceremony over the phone in California or under U.S. federal law. In order for a marriage to be legally recognized, the couple must have a physical ceremony in the presence of an authorized officiant, such as a judge, religious leader, or... Read more »
I live in Texas, my father lived and died in Minneapolis MN. I want to know if I can use the affidavit for collection of Personal Property to access his bank account, vice filing applying for an informal appointment of a Personal representative?
answered on Feb 9, 2023
The short answer is Yes. The long answer is you must comply with Minnesota Statutes § 524.3-1201. It must be 30 days since your father passed away and there cannot be an open or pending probate case having been filed.
The dad is on the birth certificate but there's never been anything that's gone to court and there is no arrangement. He also signed a piece of paper giving me more custody when I had to get medical assistance. My son is 10 now.
answered on Nov 1, 2022
If never married, and there is no adjudication of paternity, the mother has sole physical and legal custody. The father has no child support obligation and no right to parenting time, unless and until a court orders it.
answered on Jul 23, 2022
If the issues is not addressed in the decree, IRS rules govern. The parent with the child the majority of the time gets to claim the child. If both parents have equal time, the parent with higher income claims.
We have records showing they were paid by insurance co. As well as other extenuating issues. I think she should have someone helping her with this but she’s on a very limited income.
answered on Aug 7, 2022
A Minnesota attorney could advise best, but your question remains open for three weeks. One option here could be to look into whether pro bono or legal aid resources could assist here, due to your mother's financial hardship. You could also check with the Minnesota Bar Association. You could... Read more »
A guardian, his mother does not work, and really does not provide for him.
answered on Jul 14, 2022
You could bring a motion for custody as a de facto custodian, if you’ve cared for the child at least six months in the last 24 (need not be consecutive), however the statute also requires that you be the “primary” caregiver. If the child is with you on weekends and with mom during the week,... Read more »
If my kid's mother withholds her is that considered contempt of court My daughter is 11 is she allowed to choose whether she comes to my house or not
answered on Jun 22, 2022
It isn’t generally handles as a contempt issue at this point. You would bring a motion to enforce the decree. If she still withholds her, you could then seek contempt.
You can also ask that she be ordered to pay your attorney fees.
answered on May 29, 2022
It depends upon the language of the Judgment and Decree. If it says nothing, you are generally free to take them. The Decree may still require you to notify the other person and provide contact information for everywhere you’re staying.
For example. Mother had protection order from the Father. In the divorce decree they agree to a mutual transfer of the children in a public place. Before the divorce decree was final the Father was facing charges of violation of the protection order and the Judge put a DANCO on him pending... Read more »
answered on May 20, 2022
Basically, yes. Typically the DANCO would be both more specific and more recent. If there is a conflict between a family court order and a DANCO, it would be a good idea to either follow the more restrictive of the two, presumably the DANCO; or and until bring a motion before the judge in the... Read more »
Mom changed her mind last minute and is bringing her to grandmas house. Is the dad able to legally have that custody time if the mother is out of state for that week. There is no court ordered custody agreement.
answered on May 7, 2022
If there is no court-ordered custody or parenting time, dad has no legal rights to time with the child.
I have legal and sole custody of my daughter
I was never married assign the recognition of parentage a s with his mother child support has been established but yet she's making me go to someplace safe and pay to see my son she's mentally emotionally abusive my son is petrified of her puts me in jail as she lies to law every
answered on Apr 22, 2022
I am assuming that child support was formally established via a paternity order. Did the order also grant parenting time? That will control what you can and cannot do as well as how much time you have with the child.
If there is no paternity order (and child support is thus informal), you... Read more »
Parents are considering divorce. Dad wants max parenting time. Child just turned 1. Would the courts allow the child to have overnights with dad at his new place while the child is still so young?
answered on Apr 15, 2022
There is no prohibition on such overnights, so they are allowed. The question is whether they are advisable.
My ex and I broke up after he assaulted me and broke the order after being released from jail. He claims I destroyed his things and moved in with ex and got an order for protection against me. Can I move states with my kids legally? He has domestic abuse charges and drug and alcohol problems. He... Read more »
answered on Apr 15, 2022
Your info says you are in Indiana, so Minnesota law isn’t applicable.
That said, in MN, if he has court-ordered parenting time, you cannot move out of state without his agreement or court order.
If my boyfriend signs my son's birth certificate and the recognition of parentage could the other possible father of my son (who is in prison mind you) make me get a court ordered paternity test taking my boyfriends rights to my son away if the other guys test comes back that he's his... Read more »
answered on Apr 11, 2022
Yes, the other possible father could bring a paternity action. Signing the ROP is not a legal adjudication of paternity.
We were in the street I got dragged out. She hit me first and defended myself. I’m very petite and I’m sister is strong and bigger and has the upperhand. She got a bump on her head i got scratch marks on my side and knee. My hair was pulled and I had stuff in the car I couldn’t get to, the... Read more »
answered on Feb 16, 2022
You certainly have a legal right to defend yourself and your unborn child. It seems like you might have some exposure of being charged with a 5th Degree Assault. That is a misdemeanor unless you have prior assault convictions. You need an attorney. You should either hire a private attorney or... Read more »
Can't get complete question in on prior page. Per father's Will all assets went to his surviving wife. His wife passed away and she has new will where all assets go to here 4 children, all sons on father's Will were removed. In short instead of assets being split between 8, now all... Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.