The cops showed up because a buddy who wasn’t there has a crazy girlfriend, and she showed up looking for him and then called the cops and told them a lie about somebody who was really drunk and left the house. Nobody was really drunk but a few people had a couple drinks at my house.
Thank you for reaching out. The citation is a class A Misdemeanor in Arkansas. This is up to one year in the county jail and up to $2500 fine if you plead guilty or are found guilty by a Judge. The charge may stay on your record forever. You can seal this record though. Depending on which court...Read more »
Yes and another case came down Thursday confirming that again. These police officers broke the law and your friend could probably sue them. I defend these cases and sue over constitutional violations, another attorney and I just won this case:
The information below is a general statement regarding autopsy reports. There are forms on the Arkansas State Crime Lab Website that may assist you in obtaining the report. Typically, once the autopsy report is released to Law Enforcement Officials the information is public and you can use the...Read more »
Typically when the charges are dropped to a misdemeanor DHS will return the children. With that said, it will depend on what that charge actually is. If it is sexual or violent in nature DHS could still keep the kids. There is so much more you need to know about having the children returned....Read more »
I have a buddy who was going to serve a 90 day parole violation on January 9th and got caught with a gun... Will he automatically get a year denial when he goes up for parole or is it an option but not automatic??
A violation of parole does not mean that an individual will get an automatic year of incarceration. If your friend signed for 90 days on the parole violation then he will be released after the 90 days pending the outcome of the new charge and any bond they will have to make after the parole hold...Read more »
This is an A - Misdemeanor, the penalty range is up to 1 year in county jail and up to a $2,500 fine. Because they are a first offender, their are several ways to handle this type of case to try to keep it off their record and help avoid any jail time. You should consult with a criminal defense...Read more »
Yes. A lot depends on the facts of the case. Typically though, a probation offer is possible; especially with a good lawyer. It is also possible to get the Class B Felony down to a lower Felony. Need to get a lawyer right away.
Not guaranteed. Happens all the time where someone will take the fall. The DA will analyze the case and evidence. If this person is lying, they could be charged with obstruction, perjury, false statement.... lots of stuff so be very careful. Best to hire an attorney and let the attorney present...Read more »
It would be rare to have jail time on a first charge of shoplifting. I figure you are charged in Arkansas. Shoplifting is a misdemeanor but could cause you some trouble later in life depending on where you want to work and your career path.
You should sit down with a lawyer in the area...Read more »
In VERY rare circumstances and it should be avoided if possible. See Arkansas Code § 5-2-606. Use of physical force in defense of a person and § 5-2-607. Use of deadly physical force in defense of a person.
Despite your interpretation of those statutes, you should remember to err on...Read more »
The charges were resisting arrest, obstruction of government affairs, and hindering apprehension. Hindering is a felony charge. I thought I would have a public defender but I didn’t have one present on that day which was 11/13/2019.
Yes. In fact, so are the police and any other law enforcement officer. A few years ago I had a client who was on parole. The local cops stopped my guy and arrested him. The cops said they had authority based on the parole officer's authority.
We objected because my client's agreement...Read more »
I found out a month ago that my ex has reopened the child support. It retroactively went to 2014. I am $16,000 behind. Passport is suspended. I have a cruise booked for Dec 4-7. I have called several places about it. And no one seems to know the answer but tells me they think I should be good.... Read more »
Felony on husband aggravated assault. We had both been drinking n he lied on me later on a court date I was n rehab due to court order from mis court n was issued a fta felony judge n lawyer said if I didn't plea guilty id set n county for 4 months waiting on a court date my rehab was over 100... Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.