Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Idaho Domestic Violence Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody, Child Support, Divorce and Domestic Violence for Idaho on
Q: Abusive absent father who is still legally married to his first wife, is trying to get 50 50 custody...help?

Been seperated 4 years, attempts at reconciling ending in mental and physical abuse for myself, During this time our 6 year old son has solely resided with me, with no financial support from father. Father was given chance after chance to be an active father and would always end up not following... Read more »

Kevin M Rogers
Kevin M Rogers answered on Feb 5, 2020

If you and he had no previous custody order in place, then strictly speaking, he is NOTHING but a sperm donor. Simply by having his name on the birth certificate gives him NOTHING but obligations to pay child support. If he ever wanted to become the "father" of this 6 yr. old son, he would need... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Idaho on
Q: If neither my spouse or i press charges can the state? And can they enact a no contact order?

In the state of idaho

Kevin M Rogers
Kevin M Rogers answered on Mar 13, 2019

I think I understand what you're trying to explain. If you apply for a Civil Protection Order under Idaho Code 39-6304, you will have to allege that there has been sexual abuse or domestic violence against the Petitioner. This is a VERY SERIOUS allegation and will spark the interest of law... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law and Domestic Violence for Idaho on
Q: I told the cops my husband threw something into my room I remember he wasn't in the room when it happened. What do I do

I told cops my husband hit me in the head with something but when i remembered what really happened was Something fell off the shelf I remember now that my husband wasn't even downstairs where I was he went to jail and now is facing battery domestic violence charges. How do I go in and tell the... Read more »

Kevin M Rogers
Kevin M Rogers answered on Oct 10, 2018

You are obligated NOT to commit perjury and it’s not the judge your need to tell it’s the prosecutor so that she can dismiss charges against your husband.

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Idaho on
Q: What is assult and what is battery
Mr. David Thomas Pisarra
Mr. David Thomas Pisarra answered on Dec 28, 2010

Assault is putting someone in fear of being actually hit.

Battery is the actually hitting of a person.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.