Illinois Criminal Law Questions & Answers

Q: I've been on probation for 18 months I have 2 months I got violated for not doing what my probation officer asks of me

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Domestic Violence for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 26, 2019
Juan Ooink's answer
You will likely be violated and resentenced on the charges or you will be given a chance to complete the counseling as directed by the evaluation.

Q: What can I do if I was the only one investigated in a criminal crime and they claim to have enough for a confession?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 22, 2019
Juan Ooink's answer
You need to hire an attorney and stop talking to anyone but that attorney. The sooner you hire an attorney the sooner that attorney can start working on your case.

Q: Can I obtain a copy of my Drivers License in Illinois at the DMV if I have a bench warrant in Indiana

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 21, 2019
Juan Ooink's answer
Yes, not sure how a warrant out of Indiana would prevent you from getting your license in Illinois.

Q: Hi. I would like to know if a felony burglary case from back in 1978 can be sealed/expunged in Will county, Illinois.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 21, 2019
James G. Dimeas' answer
Unfortunately, you cannot seal or expunge a felony Burglary case in Illinois.

Q: if i have a warrant can the police break my window and pull me from the car?

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 20, 2019
James G. Dimeas' answer
If there is a valid warrant for your arrest and the police know it's you, they can take all necessary steps to take you into custody.

Q: Would we end up going to jail?

3 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 19, 2019
James G. Dimeas' answer
It sounds like you are charged with a Battery. If you are charged with a Battery you are looking at a maximum punishment of up to one year in jail. Without knowing more about the case and about you and your background, all I can tell you is that since you are facing a possible jail sentence, you will need the services of a lawyer to represent you in Court.

Q: Is there precedent in Illinois for an undercover detective charging someone for obstruction of identification w/o ID?

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 18, 2019
William Wolf's answer
I am positive that your account of events is not how it's going to read in the police reports.

You're assuming that the police officer is going to agree with you about how this happened.

You need to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer ASAP.

Q: How long will my license be suspended? How can I avoid jail time and public record ?

4 Answers | Asked in Traffic Tickets and Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 17, 2019
James G. Dimeas' answer
Driving 26 to 34 over the speed limit is a Class B Misdemeanor in Illinois which carries a possible jail sentence of up to 6 months. Since it's an actual crime that carries a possible jail sentence, you will have a lawyer. If you can't afford one a Public Defender will be appointed for you.

Q: Speeding 26-34 mph above is a criminal offenses need to know what is gonna happen in court. Will I have to pay court fee

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Traffic Tickets for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 17, 2019
Brandon K. Davis' answer
Speeding 26-34 over the limit is a Class B misdemeanor. The $1,500 is an I-bond, no need to worry about that amount specifically unless you fail to show up in court - your case may last a couple of court dates - typically two (first for your attorney to work out an agreement with the State and the second to show proof that you complied with the terms of that agreement).

You are technically facing a maximum $1,500 fine and up to 6 months in jail on the offense. Additionally, if...

Q: The indiv bond says 1500$ on it. Do I have to pay it. What happens when I go t court.

3 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Traffic Tickets for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 16, 2019
Jeremy Wang's answer
The $1500 is the I-bond amount on the ticket. You do not have to pay it so long as you show up to every Court date. Speeding 26-34 mph above the speed limit is a criminal offense in Illinois. You will need an attorney.

Q: What happens if a 17 year old is caught with an ounce of marijuana

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Federal Crimes for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 13, 2019
Cheryl Powell's answer
Typically, they get a small fine.

Q: I was given the wrong court appearance date In Joliet, IL what should I do now?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 10, 2019
William Wolf's answer
A lawyer would be a help to look into what happened as well as filing a motion to vacate any judgment or warrant against you.

Q: I'm on the run trying to better my life and provide for my family. I need help asap please.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Legal Malpractice for Illinois on
Answered on Feb 5, 2019
Juan Ooink's answer
No clue what your question is. If you are looking for an attorney to assist you, you need to reach out to them. Please use the Find A Lawyer tab on this site.

Q: If I were to pick up a client for rehabilitation from one state and transport them to another state

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Jan 29, 2019
Juan Ooink's answer
You could be charged with a felony offense. You really should not be doing this.

Q: MFG/DEL CAN 2.5<10 GRAMS/SCH i pleaed down that is a felony in 2008 i did my probation and finished it can it be removed

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Jan 24, 2019
Juan Ooink's answer
It all depends on the type of probation you received and what you actually plead guilty to. You should consult with an attorney and have that attorney review the case in order to determine what can and cannot be done regarding this matter.

Q: How can I b charged with 2 felonies , the guy they were executing warrant for only got resisting arrest?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Jan 19, 2019
Juan Ooink's answer
Not really sure what you question is. You need a criminal defense attorney and you need to hire one right away. You have been charged with very serious offenses. The sooner you hire an attorney the better, so that attorney can start working on the case.

Q: I am living at my grandams my cousin also lives there .....we got into an argument and i left for the weekend and came

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Family Law for Illinois on
Answered on Jan 17, 2019
Ray Choudhry's answer
You can sue her for damage to your property.

You could try to get an order of protection against her.

Grandma can go to court to evict her.

All of this involves going to court.

Q: 17 year old Year high school girl Got jumped inside the school by three girl the 17-year-old hit one of the girls with

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Illinois on
Answered on Jan 13, 2019
David J. Winer's answer
This is a matter with the police and school officials who should make a decision decide whether any charges or school discipline is warranted in this situation

Q: judge sentence criminal to boot camp while awaiting decison he was pulled from possible boot camp approval because of a

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on
Answered on Jan 2, 2019
William Wolf's answer
Contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately. There are plenty of criminal defense lawyers that offer free consultations so you can decide which lawyer is best for you to hire.

Q: Can my friend stepmother press personal property damage charges on me? I was not the driver but the vehicle is mine.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Car Accidents for Illinois on
Answered on Dec 28, 2018
Charles Candiano's answer
I have no idea what you are asking. "Press charges" is a silly term that usually refers to someone to asking the State's Attorney to file minor criminal charges against someone. If that is what you mean, I assume you did not have insurance on the car and the stepmother wants to charge her daughter with Driving Without Insurance. You cannot be charged because you were not driving.

That said, you and your friend are BOTH liable for the damage. However, seeking criminal charges against...

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.