Alexander Florian Steciuch's answer Either you or your spouse has to have been living in Indiana for 6 months. Your state ID is not dispositive of how long you have been living in Indiana. In addition to having had lived in Indiana for 6 months, you must have lived in the county you are filing in for at least 3 months to file for your divorce there.
William J Webster's answer Yes, Indiana is a no fault state. In Indiana, the petition for dissolution typically states there has been an irretrievably breakdown of the marriage. The Court may take a party's behavior or actions into account when determining custody and parenting time for children and/or an equitable division of the marital estate.
I hope the above answers your question. If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact our office at 317-565-1818.
Clarissa Finnell's answer In Indiana all property owned by the parties at the time of legal separation (time divorce is filed) is included in the marital estate. As long as pension and or 401(k) are vested they will be included in the marital estate. However, your husband may argue to deviate from the presumptive 50/50 division of marital assets based upon fact that some or part of his pension were brought into the marriage. There are several factors the court considers that may lead to a deviation from a 50/50...
William J Webster's answer In regard to legal fees, if there is a disparity in income, an attorney can petition the Court for your spouse to pay all or part of your legal fees. Further, if there are assets that will be sold or assets you will acquire in the divorce, some attorneys will be willing to wait till the divorce is final and assets are available for legal fees. If the above does not apply to you, then there are organizations that provide free or reduce rate legal fees. Indiana Legal Services is a great...
William J Webster's answer Unfortunately, until there is an Order from the Court or you reach an agreement as to who gets possession of certain property both of you own the property. Therefore there is not much you can do to prevent your spouse from removing property from the marital residence. I recommend taking pictures and/or making a list of all the property in the house that your husband has removed. He is not supposed to "dissipate" assets, meaning get rid of property, therefore if items come up missing or he...
William J Webster's answer Unfortunately, since you did not change your name in the Divorce Decree, you will need to Petition for a Name Change in Indiana. The Indiana Supreme Court has a "self service" section that has some online materials on how to file for a Name Change. I included the link below:
After your review, if you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact my office at 317-565-1818.
Alexander Florian Steciuch's answer No one is going to be able to give you a straight answer here. What qualifies as a marital asset is a determination that a judge may ultimately make in regards to any disputed property. You should consult with a divorce attorney in your area for representation and legal advice.
Alexander Florian Steciuch's answer No, an annulment is not available due to fighting and abuse. An annulment can only be granted if the marriage is voidable, or, to put it more simply, defective under the law.
A marriage can be annulled in Indiana if:
one spouse was underage at the time of marriage;
one spouse was convinced to marry by fraud;
one spouse was coerced to get married (married "under duress");
one spouse didn't know the other spouse was already married at the time of marriage,...
William J Webster's answer I would need to know more details about the case to give you a better answer, but I assume you have 2 cases going. The Divorce court ordered her to pay 1/2 the cost, but there is a Civil case where both of you are liable for the house issue.
Unfortunately, you are still responsible for the debt in the Civil case, so you would need to file a motion for contempt in the Divorce case to try and get payment from her to address the Civil case. If she does not have the funds, then you...
Betsy Walits' answer You need an attorney yesterday. Anyone who has substantial assets needs an attorney. He should get half minus the value of his business but it appears you aren’t calculating it properly. You really need an attorney!
William J Webster's answer Unfortunately if you did not file a Motion for College expenses with the Court prior to her turning 19, then you will not be able to force him to contribute towards college expenses.
If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me at 317-565-1818.
William J Webster's answer First, I am sorry to hear about the domestic abuse. Unless the Court terminates parental rights which is usually done in adoption cases or cases where the children are removed from the parents by the State. Therefore, unless there is an adoption, your husband will always have parental rights.
If you haven't done so already, I recommend filing for a Protective Order and including the child, so if he suddenly appears and wants to see the child you will have a protective order in...
I would need to review your Settlement Agreement / Divorce Decree to provide a better answer to your question. If the the Settlement Agreement awards her the house and she is supposed to refinance and/or execute a quitclaim deed to remove your name, then you could file a contempt and seek assistance from the Court to enforce the Divorce Decree.
If she is not able to refinance, then you could request the Court order the house to be sold.
Alexander Florian Steciuch's answer Your ex-wife could disclaim her interest in the property on her own, leaving you as the sole owner. She would still have to have a new deed drawn up showing that she transferred her interest in the property to you.
Betsy Walits' answer You need to make an argument about that. You need to get her current pay stubs and yours. If you don’t have attorneys the judge will have to calculate or you can use the online calculator.
They can take her YTD or her current salary. Make sure to identify the date new CP numbers will go into effect(usually the Friday after the Decree is signed).
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.