Rhode Island Juvenile Law Questions & Answers

Q: What does a TRIAL DEPOSITION IN DCYF CASE mean?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Feb 17, 2018
Neville Bedford's answer
What is DEPOSITION?

The testimony of a witness taken upon interrogatories, not in open court, but in pursuance of a commission to take testimony issued by a court, or under a general law on the subject, and reduced to writing and duly authenticated, and intended to be used upon the trial of an action in court. Butcher v. U. S., 72 Fed. 972, 19 C.C. A. 259; Indianapolis Water Co. v. American Strawboard Co. (C. C.) 65 Fed. 535.A deposition is a written declaration under oath, made upon...

Q: Can a 25 year old talk to/date a 15 year old

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law and Criminal Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Jan 11, 2018
Neville Bedford's answer
Talking is OK. Dating is a different matter.

Q: Im a minor and I was sentenced by family court can I get out of the sentence early

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Nov 20, 2017
Neville Bedford's answer
Talk to your attorney about applying for a provisional license.

Q: my 12 year old son is expressing to me that he can't take the stress and anxiety that he is feeling during time with dad

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody, Domestic Violence and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Feb 6, 2017
Neville Bedford's answer
Work with his counselor and your best to help establish healthy co-parenting support. If it becomes necessary to modify the custody situation, meet with and retain an attorney to assist you.

Q: can you move out at the age of 17 in rhode island

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Jun 5, 2016
Neville Bedford's answer
Are you thinking of marriage at such a young age ?

Q: What is the legal age to drop out of high school in Rhode Island?

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on May 28, 2016
Neville Bedford's answer
Technically, it is not legal to drop out of school at any age as the law provides for mandatory attendance - with few exceptions.

Q: I have a question about truancy court for my son who is 17. I live in Rhode Island what can I expect.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on May 7, 2016
Neville Bedford's answer
If he is scheduled to graduate this year, you may be able to negotiate favorable terms at the hearing. The best thing you could bring with you would be a practicing attorney familiar with the process and the law .

Q: In Rhode Island in public high school once you turn 18, do you have adult rights in school or school related activities.

1 Answer | Asked in Education Law and Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Mar 31, 2016
Neville Bedford's answer
It depends on what type of rights you are alluding to ...

Q: My 16 y.o.boyfriend got taken to a troubled teens center called ironwood maine against his will, can they hold him there

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Aug 24, 2015
Neville Bedford's answer
Sounds like he needs an attorney. Hopefully, he will find one - or his parents will find one for him.

Q: At what age will you be released from Juvy ?

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Mar 27, 2015
Neville Bedford's answer
When you have a problem like this, it is best to see an attorney and retain them to assist you.

Q: what age do you have to be to leave your parents house in rhode island?what the emancipation process is? court laywer?

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Nov 30, 2014
Neville Bedford's answer
Common elements of emancipation of minors are: 18 years of age and not disabled and completed high school, or married. Consult with an attorney to review your particular facts in private.

Q: Youngest a juvenile can be processed as an adult for having tobacco

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Rhode Island on
Answered on Feb 25, 2013
Neville Bedford's answer
If "processed as" an adult, they are no longer a minor ... and somehow the offense disappears. Most likely to be a civil offense with a fine.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.