Yup. A person can threaten you with reporting a crime or starting a civil action to correct your behaviour - that's perfectly legal. But be my boyfriend or else ... that is blackmail. The real question is what are you going to do about it? Leave her and face criminal charges? What is worse?
Being on bond does not necessarily disqualify a person from having a lawyer appointed to represent him/her. The person may have become unable to hire a lawyer because he spent most or all of his money on the bond. Often the person on bond didn't pay for his own release, rather friends or relatives...Read more »
Can a police officer have a no contact order with him when investigating a domestic violence report and can he arrest a person and make them sign the order before he incsrcerates. And have the judge signed the order before he books the defendant?
Yes. Generally, a judge can preside over two cases, where one is criminal and the other DHS.
Some excerpts from a 2015 Arkansas Court of Appeals opinion, regarding a judge residing over a criminal and dependency-neglect case involving the same adult and child, show that the bar for...Read more »
Yes, depending on the crime. Juveniles can no longer be sentenced to life without parole in Arkansas. They can still be sent to prison. Having no criminal background helps when negotiating a plea without prison time, if you go to trial and during sentencing, if convicted
A child brought marijuana to school which lead to the cops being called wherw they found marjiuana and a gun not on him but has his prints his ex girlfriend at the time has the same charges except for the felon with possession is hust possession either way she went to court ..he didnt he missed... Read more »
This charge is a Class Y Felony. This is the highest felony in Arkansas. Up to %15,000 in fines and 10 to 40 or life in prison. Typically, though, and depending on the charges, an offer of 10 years will usually be made by the prosecutor. A good lawyer might win the case. If not, a lawyer can...Read more »
I have never been in trouble with the law before. The officer told me to just pay my fine and see afterwards if i could get it of my record. He marked it as a traffic offense but not a criminal offense. I am worried because I don't want to lose my job, license or anything. Can someone please help... Read more »
It's only a traffic offense. You will not lose your job or license. Go to court and ask the prosecutor to keep this off your record. If it is clean, you might have to pay a few bucks more on the fine but should be able to keep it off your record.
Been obtained for 5 days now and still yet haven't heard from parole/probation officer or gotten any thing on paper about why parolee is being held on the absconding or to have a hearing . No one will tell the parolee if its possible to bail out, or have a hearing, or even speak with parole... Read more »
There is not enough information to tell you everything but generally, once a parole reoffends, the PO will revoke his probation and keep him in jail. The parolee now has the new charges and then the revocation. If the new charges are not too bad, the PO will keep him in jail for a month maybe...Read more »
I have 2 traffic violations in 2 cities with failure to appears stacked on them now. The reason i didnt pay was because i was termonated from my employer now I have multiple fta's in both city and arrest warrants. I just wanna restart!!
You need to have an attorney arrange for you to appear in each Court and surrender on the warrants. You may be able to set up a time pay if you are guilty of the underlying offense and plead guilty to them.
If you get stopped by police you may be detained with those warrants outstanding.
And 14 counts of fraudulent use of credit/debut card $100 in 6 months and 2 counts of theft by receiving $2500 or more what kind of sentence is she facing and will she b ordered not to leave the state. And will her bond b high since she is from Louisiana with no ties in Arkansas all felony charges
I would not venture a guess as to your friends exposure to incarceration without more facts. However, theft by receiving greater than $2,500 value is a class D felony generally. It has a potential for imprisonment for 0-5 years and/or a $10,000 fine.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.