'Sorry that your post remains open. It may be a moot point by now if you already arranged a Georgia attorney to handle the matter, or if it was already heard. As a general matter, they're difficult scenarios. But there are sometimes mitigating factors - excessive speed of an oncoming car,...Read more »
It sounds like a legitimate reason for swerving out of a regular traffic lane. You could contact a Georgia attorney who handles traffic tickets (there's a section for that here) and discuss the matter with them. You posted in Car Accidents. Good luck
If you are not happy with your lawyer(s) you can fire them by notifying them in writing, such as with a letter or email. Sometimes a lawyer can help you keep more of the settlement money for yourself by asking the medical providers to share in the costs of recovery by agreeing to reduce the bills...Read more »
The short answer is yes. Even though the other car wasn't moving, so technically your weren't "following" it, anytime you hit another vehicle in the rear end you generally will be cited for following too closely.
This answer is offered for information purposes only and...Read more »
Yes. You can change attorneys. Who you choose to represent you is 100% up to you. In terms of your second question, your medical treatments should not have to be duplicated simply because you change lawyers. In other words, in this scenario one aspect of your case should not have anything to do...Read more »
Asking for a friend. If being served with papers after a MVA, the documents are not correct: the dates of the accident as listed by hospital/letter from doctor with service dates is incorrect, listing of medical procedure follow up for apparent injury unrelated to claims/manner of accident are... Read more »
I hit a car and notified owner of place but not vehicle. I left and got a call because someone got my tag number. I returned to the scene the next day and was givien a citation. I have to go to court so will i have to serve jail time for this? I already have 3 points on my license also. If i get... Read more »
A judge can sentence you for up to 12 months in jail and $1,000 fine for any misdemeanor charge. I would recommend contacting a local criminal defense attorney to get specific information about the court where the charge is pending.
The accident happened when I was 16 years old. According to the police report, I was at fault. Although the other party hit me. The attorney for state farm insurance filed a lawsuit against me once I was of age and right before the statue of limitation. The judged ruled in their favor. It has been... Read more »
It should not have any effects since your name and contact information is not made public. However, it is always best to discuss these matters and present any questions to your attorney. If you have not contacted or secured an attorney, it is best to do so as soon as possible.
I sold a car to a friend but the deal was the title would remain in my name until he paid it off. I just found out he has been driving the vehicle uninsured and he has had an at-fault wreck involving other vehicles with injuries. Can I be sued?
Just to be sure, contact a member of the Ga. Trial Lawyers Assn but no, it is too late. There's a statute of limitations for wrongful death and related claims that is long over. Even if you had a claim as a minor, that would have expired on your 18th birthday or 2-3 years after that, depending...Read more »
We're in the state of Georgia. She hit a very low pole that you could not see over the hood of her bus. I believe there might have been minor injuries but no child was kept in the hospital overnight. I'm not sure if any children were even taken to the hospital at all since it was more of... Read more »
This is a good question that involves a situation where someone was on the job when involved (and at fault) for an accident. In cases like this the employer is going to generally be responsible for the employee's negligent conduct. This is the legal principle of respondeat superior....Read more »
The passenger was discovered hanging out the back door and couldn’t move himself up. The driver assisted him to lay flat in the back seat and was charged with reckless conduct for moving the friend. Is this the intent of the law in Georgia?
Likely not. However 1) look at the time to contest the citation 2)look for an attorney in the County where it will be heard who handles citations and speak with them. Generally reckless conduct would be a motor vehicle violation,not a moving a person to assist them situation.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.