Yes, but only if there is a supervising driver present who is at least 21 years old with a valid driver's license who has been licensed at least three years. If you have anyone riding in the vehicle under 18 years old who is not an immediate family who resides in the driver's household,...Read more »
I got a moving violation 2 weeks before I’m eligible for my regular license. I have up to 2 weeks after I can get my license to pay the ticket or fight it. I don’t have good chances to fight this Delaware ticket for failing to yield. If I go to the mva and get my license and then pay the ticket... Read more »
I recently received a Red light ticket while proceeding to complete a U-turn. As I crossed the line during the yellow arrow, the light quickly turned red and I was flashed. I was already in the process and in the middle of the street. I was driving my aunt's vehicle at the time and I... Read more »
am i still able to get away with i dont want to get the points because that would be suspensions and im not able to do that is there a way for me to plead not guilty or something i have sent the ticket in for a trial yet because i dont know if i should do trial or waiver hearing
Any lawyer will tell you to request a trial, because if the officer doesn’t show, you’ll be found not guilty. If you request a waiver hearing, you are pleading guilty, and the officer is excused from appearing. You cannot argue at a waiver hearing that what you did does not meet the definition...Read more »
i havent received a ticker for over 14 months im at 7 points right now with this i think i will be at 8 and that will be a suspension i believe in maryland i am also a state inspector and will lose my job
IF you ever are cited, you can request a trial by mailing in the form at the bottom of the ticket, and plead not guilty then; or if found guilty, request a "probation before judgment" which has the effect of striking the conviction and you get no points. However, you need to be charged...Read more »
My car was recently totaled in an automotive accident. I received a speeding ticket a while back. Another car was speeding over 100MPH but the way my car looks (show car for car meets) I got singled out and pulled over. I requested a trial/hearing to contest the ticket and I received my... Read more »
Yes, you should go to court. Failing to do so can get you into quite a bit of trouble (ie. a failure to appear, etc.). Once you request the hearing, you pretty much have to go. Also, dependong on your driving record and the nature of the infraction, you may be able to get a lighter outcome (ie....Read more »
This ticket? Maybe that ticket. You can be cited for driving an unsafe vehicle. Bumpers are mandated by regulations adopted under the transportation article of the Maryland Code and must comply with numerous specifications regarding height, location and safety standards as set by federal laws and...Read more »
I live in BelAir Maryland and was pulled over for speeding. The officer wrote the ticket for a vehicle that I sold over a year and a half ago. Should I goto court for this ticket in hopes of getting it dropped or hire a lawyer or just pull up my big boy pants and pay the ticket and accept the 2... Read more »
During stop trooper wore no face mask committing a Misdemeanor. Filed an internal affairs complaint, which was investigated and sustained as true. I asked for officer to be charged, but Commander refused. I have tickets ($140) and requested a trial, which has been postponed 2 times by the State.... Read more »
What you describe may or may not constitute legal defenses to the charges against you. However, the plate and light are usually "fix it" tickets and you should have proof of correction when you go to court. If you plead "no contest" you can raise the misbehavior of the trooper...Read more »
I was in an accident with my learners permit by myself on 2/02/20 and my court date was originally in March but was pushed back more than five times before I got one on 9/30/20 and the judge reduced the fines and the penalties but I found out on 11/23/20 that my suspension would begin on 12/08... Read more »
Yes, request a hearing, otherwise you will be suspended 12 months. The Administrative Law Judge may reduce the suspension period, or you may be able to defend the suspension and avoid it entirely. It isn’t a matter of ethics. You drove on a learners permit without supervision and caused an...Read more »
I imagine you were cited under MD Traffic Code 21-604, and if so, you have a reasonably good argument in defense that it does not apply. It’s a bit ambiguous and the ambiguity has to do with the word “turn” but because there is a separate paragraph that permits, but does not require, use of a...Read more »
Points only stay active on your driving record for two years from the date of the violation. The MVA sends a notice of suspension or revocation based on point accumulation within any two-year period of 8, 12 or more points, or conviction of certain serious traffic offenses (like DUI). Unless you...Read more »
Any judge in any county might do so, if that seems to be the only way you’ll get the message and stop driving without a license. The prior two convictions and sentences didn’t send the message. A judge will have to seriously consider that you will not get the message this time either. It’s...Read more »
Was assessed a $130 fine for TA-21-201 Contributed to Accident where I turned left out of an apparent right turn only (only signage was pavement, no left turn prohibited sign). Cop said he had me on video, presumably dash cam.
Main issue other than the hefty fine is that the ticket is... Read more »
I got a traffic ticket and I was trying to look up the article and read about the ticket I got. I was also trying to find out how many points it would be, if any. Thanks in advance for the help. -Brady
I got scheduled a court date for 39:3-40 back in March for my insurance I believe. Pandemic came and they scheduled it again for June but courts weren’t open. Just paid that ticket from the courts and it was $153 plus $33 court fees. Before me paying that ticket, I got pulled over again for my... Read more »
That sounds frustrating. I doubt you will lose your license. In all likelihood, you will show up at the mandated hearing, explain what happened to the prosecutor and if you can show proof that everything is in good order (ie. license is back in good standing, registration is good,...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.